104TH CONGRESS 1ST SESSION

S. 848

To grant the consent of Congress to an amendment of the Historic Chattahoochee Compact between the States of Alabama and Georgia.

IN THE SENATE OF THE UNITED STATES

MAY 24 (legislative day, MAY 15), 1995

Mr. Shelby (for himself, Mr. Heflin, Mr. Coverdell, and Mr. Nunn) introduced the following bill; which was read twice and referred to the Committee on the Judiciary

A BILL

To grant the consent of Congress to an amendment of the Historic Chattahoochee Compact between the States of Alabama and Georgia.

- 1 Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representa-
- 2 tives of the United States of America in Congress assembled,
- 3 SECTION 1. CONSENT OF CONGRESS TO THE HISTORIC
- 4 CHATTAHOOCHEE COMPACT BETWEEN THE
- 5 STATES OF ALABAMA AND GEORGIA.
- 6 The consent of Congress is given to the amendment
- 7 of articles I, II, and III of the Historic Chattahoochee
- 8 Compact between the States of Alabama and Georgia,
- 9 which articles, as amended, read as follows:

1	"ARTICLE I
2	"The purpose of this compact is to promote the coop-
3	erative development of the Chattahoochee valley's full po-
4	tential for historic preservation and tourism and to estab-
5	lish a joint interstate authority to assist in these efforts.
6	"ARTICLE II
7	"This compact shall become effective immediately as
8	to the States ratifying it whenever the States of Alabama
9	and Georgia have ratified it and Congress has given con-
10	sent thereto.
11	"ARTICLE III
12	"The States which are parties to this compact (here-
13	inafter referred to as 'party States') do hereby establish
14	and create a joint agency which shall be known as the
15	Historic Chattahoochee Commission (hereinafter referred
16	to as the 'Commission'). The Commission shall consist of
17	28 members who shall be bona fide residents and qualified
18	voters of the party States and counties served by the Com-
19	mission. Election for vacant seats shall be by majority vote
20	of the voting members of the Commission board at a regu-
21	larly scheduled meeting. In Alabama, two shall be resi-
22	dents of Barbour County, two shall be residents of Russell
23	County, two shall be residents of Henry County, two shall
24	be residents of Chambers County, two shall be residents
25	of Lee County, two shall be residents of Houston County,
26	and two shall be residents of Dale County. In Georgia,

- 1 one shall be a resident of Troup County, one shall be a
- 2 resident of Harris County, one shall be a resident of
- 3 Muscogee County, one shall be a resident of Chattahoo-
- 4 chee County, one shall be a resident of Stewart County,
- 5 one shall be a resident of Randolph County, one shall be
- 6 a resident of Clay County, one shall be a resident of
- 7 Quitman County, one shall be a resident of Early County,
- 8 one shall be a resident of Seminole County, and one shall
- 9 be a resident of Decatur County. In addition, there shall
- 10 be three at-large members who shall be selected from any
- 11 three of the Georgia member counties listed above. The
- 12 Commission at its discretion may appoint as many advi-
- 13 sory members as it deems necessary from any Georgia or
- 14 Alabama County which is located in the Chattahoochee
- 15 Valley area. The contribution of each party State shall be
- 16 in equal amounts. If the party States fail to appropriate
- 17 equal amounts to the Commission during any given fiscal
- 18 year, voting membership on the Commission board shall
- 19 be determined as follows: The State making the larger ap-
- 20 propriation shall be entitled to full voting membership.
- 21 The total number of members from the other State shall
- 22 be divided into the amount of the larger appropriation and
- 23 the resulting quotient shall be divided into the amount of
- 24 the smaller appropriation. The then resulting quotient,
- 25 rounded to the next lowest whole number, shall be the

number of voting members from the State making the smaller contribution. The members of the Commission from the State making the larger contribution shall decide which of the members from the other State shall serve as 4 voting members, based upon the level of tourism, preservation, promotional activity, and general support of the Commission's activities by and in the county of residence of each of the members of the State making the smaller 8 appropriation. Such determination shall be made at the 10 next meeting of the Commission following September 30 of each year. Members of the Commission shall serve for terms of office as follows: Of the 14 Alabama members, one from each of said counties shall serve for two years and the remaining member of each county shall serve for four years. Upon the expiration of the original terms of office of Alabama members, all successor Alabama members shall be appointed for four-year terms of office, with seven vacancies in the Alabama membership occurring 19 every two years. Of the 14 Georgia members, seven shall serve four-year terms and seven two-year terms for the initial term of this compact. The terms of the individual 21 Georgia voting members shall be determined by their place in the alphabet by alternating the four- and two-year terms beginning with Chattahoochee County, four years, Clay County, two years, Decatur County, four years, etc.

- 1 Upon the expiration of the original terms of office of Geor-
- 2 gia members, all successor Georgia members shall be ap-
- 3 pointed for four-year terms of office, with seven vacancies
- 4 in the Georgia membership occurring every two years. Of
- 5 the three Georgia at-large board members, one shall serve
- 6 a four-year term and two shall serve two-year terms.
- 7 "All board members shall serve until their successors
- 8 are appointed and qualified. Vacancies shall be filled by
- 9 the voting members of the Commission. The first chair-
- 10 man of the commission created by this compact shall be
- 11 elected by the board of directors from among its voting
- 12 membership. Annually thereafter, each succeeding chair-
- 13 man shall be selected by the members of the Commission.
- 14 The chairmanship shall rotate each year among the party
- 15 States in order of their acceptance of this compact. Mem-
- 16 bers of the Commission shall serve without compensation
- 17 but shall be entitled to reimbursement for actual expenses
- 18 incurred in the performance of the duties of the
- 19 Commission.".

 \bigcirc