Rangel

Rivers

Roemer

Rose

Rush

Reed

#### Skaggs Skelton Richardson Solomon Spratt Stark Stearns Roukema Stenholm Roybal-Allard Stockman Stokes Studds

Torricelli

Velazquez

Visclosky

Volkmer

Towns

Vento

Ward

Waters

Watt (NC)

Sabo	Studds	Waxman
Sanders	Stupak	Williams
Sawyer	Taylor (MS)	Wilson
Scarborough	Tejeda	Wise
Schroeder	Thompson	Woolsey
Schumer	Thornton	Wynn
Scott	Thurman	Yates
Serrano	Torkildsen	Zimmer
Sisisky	Torres	

### NOT VOTING-11

Hall (OII) I ackaru	Bono de la Garza Ford Hall (OH)	Lincoln McDade Miller (CA) Packard	Slaughter Wolf Young (FL)
---------------------	--	---	---------------------------------

# □ 1620

Mr. WILSON and Mr. COSTELLO changed their vote from ''yea'' to 'nay.

Messrs. ROBERTS, TIAHRT, SCHAE-FER, GRAHAM, NEUMANN, SENSEN-BRENNER, and HANCOCK changed their vote from "nay" to "yea."

So the bill was passed.

The result of the vote was announced as above recorded.

A motion to reconsider was laid on the table

# GENERAL LEAVE

Mr. LIGHTFOOT. Mr. Speaker, I ask unanimous consent that all Members may have 5 legislative days in which to revise and extend their remarks on the further consideration of H.R. 3756, and that I may include tabular and extraneous material

The SPEAKER pro tempore (Mr. LAHOOD). Is there objection to the request of the gentleman from Iowa?

There was no objection.

## REMOVAL OF NAME OF MEMBER AS COSPONSOR OF H.R. 3505

Mr. PETERSON of Minnesota. Mr. Speaker, I ask unanimous consent that my name be removed as a cosponsor of H.R. 3505

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Is there objection to the request of the gentleman from Minnesota?

There was no objection.

#### ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SPEAKER PRO TEMPORE

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 5 of rule I, the Chair will now put the question on each motion to suspend the rules on which further proceedings were postponed on Tuesday, July 16, 1996, in the order in which that motion was entertained. Votes will be taken in the following

order:

- H.R. 3166, as amended, de novo; and
- H.R. 3161, by the yeas and nays.

The Chair will also put the question on the Speaker's approval of the Journal.

The Chair will reduce to 5 minutes the time for any electronic vote after the first such vote in this series.

CONGRESSIONAL RECORD—HOUSE

### GOVERNMENT ACCOUNTABILITY ACT OF 1996

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The unfinished business is the question de novo of suspending the rules and passing the bill, H.R. 3166, as amended.

The Clerk read the title of the bill. PARLIAMENTARY INQUIRY

Mr. CONYERS. Parliamentary in-

quiry, Mr. Speaker. The SPEAKER pro tempore. The gen-

tleman will state it.

Mr. CONYERS. Mr. Speaker, can this measure be brought to a vote when a report has not been filed, and there has been no opportunity for additional or dissenting views?

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The answer is yes.

Mr. CONYERS. Mr. Speaker, I think the Chair will find that it is customary that reports be filed with legislation brought up on the suspension calendar. Is that not correct?

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The Chair indicated yesterday that reports are not required.

The question is on the motion offered by the gentleman from Florida [Mr. MCCOLLUM] that the House suspend the rules and pass the bill, H.R. 3166, as amended.

The question was taken.

RECORDED VOTE

Mr. McCOLLUM. Mr. Speaker, I demand a recorded vote.

A recorded vote was ordered.

The vote was taken by electronic device, and there were-ayes 417, noes 6, not voting 10, as follows:

# [Roll No. 324]

AYES-417 Brownback Cunningham Abercrombie Ackerman Bryant (TN) Danner Allard Bryant (TX) Davis Andrews Bunn Deal Archer Bunning DeFazio Armey Burr DeL auro DeLay Bachus Burton Baesler Buyer Callahan Dellums Baker (CA) Deutsch Baker (LA) Calvert Diaz-Balart Baldacci Camp Campbell Dickey Ballenger Dicks Barcia Canady Dingell Cardin Dixon Barr Barrett (NE) Doggett Castle Dooley Barrett (WI) Chabot Bartlett Chambliss Doolittle Barton Chapman Dornan Bass Chenoweth Doyle Bateman Christensen Dreier Becerra Chrvsler Duncan Beilenson Clay Dunn Bentsen Clayton Durbin Edwards Bereuter Clement Berman Clinger Ehlers Bevill Clyburn Ehrlich Bilbray Coble Engel Coburn English Bilirakis Bishop Coleman Ensign Collins (GA) Bliley Eshoo Blumenauer Collins (IL) Evans Collins (MI) Blute Everett Boehlert Combest Ewing Boehner Condit Farr Fattah Bonilla Coolev Costello Bonior Fawell Fazio Fields (LA) Bono Borski Cox Coyne Boucher Cramei Fields (TX) Brewster Crane Filner Flake Browder Crapo Brown (CA) Cremeans Flanagan Foglietta Foley Brown (FL) Cubin Brown (OH) Cummings

Fox Frank (MA) Franks (CT) Franks (NJ) Frelinghuysen Frisa Frost Funderburk Furse Gallegly Ganske Geidenson Gekas Gephardt Geren Gibbons Gilchrest Gillmor Gilman Gonzalez Goodlatte Goodling Gordon Goss Graham Green (TX) Greene (UT) Greenwood Gunderson Gutierrez Gutknecht Hall (TX) Hamilton Hancock Hansen Harman Hastert Hastings (FL) Hastings (WA) Haves Havworth Heflev Hefner Heineman Herger Hilleary Hilliard Hinchey Hobson Hoekstra Hoke Holden Horn Hostettler Houghton Hoyer Hunter Hutchinson Hvde Inglis Istook Jackson (IL) Jackson-Lee (TX) Jacobs Jefferson Johnson (CT) Johnson (SD) Johnson, E. B. Johnson, Sam Johnston Jones Kanjorski Kaptur Kasich Kelly Kennedy (MA) Kennedy (RI) Kennelly Kildee Kim King Kingston Kleczka Klink Klug Knollenberg Kolbe LaFalce LaHood Lantos Largent Latham LaTourette

July 17, 1996

Laughlin

Lewis (CA)

Lewis (GA)

Lewis (KY)

Lightfoot

Linder

Lipinski

Livingston

LoBiondo

Lofgren

Longley

Lowey

Lucas

Luther

Malonev

Manzullo

Markey

Martinez

Martini

Mascara

McCarthy

McCollum

McDermott

McCrery

McHale

McHugh

McInnis

McKeon

McNulty

Meehan

Menendez

Millender-

Miller (FL)

McDonald

Metcalf

Mevers

Mica

Minge

Moakley

Molinari

Mollohan

Moorhead

Moran

Morella

Murtha

Myrick

Nadler

Nethercutt

Neumann

Norwood

Oberstar

Nussle

Obey

Olver

Ortiz

Orton

Owens

Oxlev

Pallone

Parker

Pastor

Paxon

Pelosi

Petri

Pickett

Pombo

Porter

Pomeroy

Portman

Poshard

Pryce

Quinn

Rahall

Rangel

Regula

Riggs

Rivers

Richardson

Reed

Ramstad

Radanovich

Payne (NJ)

Payne (VA)

Neal

Ney

Montgomery

Mink

Meek

McKinney

Matsui

Manton

Lazio

Leach

Levin

Forbes

Fowler

Roberts Roemer Rogers Rohrabacher Ros-Lehtinen Rose Roth Roukema Roybal-Allard Royce Rush Sabo Salmon Sanders Sanford Sawyer Saxton Scarborough Schaefer Schiff Schroeder Schumer Scott Seastrand Sensenbrenner Serrano Shadegg Shaw Shays Shuster Sisisky Skaggs Skeen Skelton Smith (MI) Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Smith (WA) Solomon Souder Spence Spratt Stark Stearns Stenholm Stockman Stokes Studds Stump Stupak Talent Tanner Tate Tauzin Taylor (MS) Taylor (NC) Tejeda Thomas Thompson Thornberry Thornton Thurman Tiahrt Torkildser Torres Torricelli Towns Traficant Upton Velazquez Vento Visclosky Volkmer Vucanovich Walker Walsh Peterson (FL) Wamp Peterson (MN) Ward Watt (NC) Watts (OK) Waxman Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA) Weller White Whitfield Wicker Williams Wilson Wise Woolsey Wynn Yates Zeliff Zimmer