Rangel	Skaggs	Torricelli
Reed	Skelton	Towns
Richardson	Solomon	Velazquez
Rivers	Spratt	Vento
Roemer	Stark	Visclosky
Rose	Stearns	Volkmer
Roukema	Stenholm	Ward
Roybal-Allard	Stockman	Waters
Rush	Stokes	Watt (NC)
Sabo	Studds	Waxman
Sanders	Stupak	Williams
Sawyer	Taylor (MS)	Wilson
Scarborough	Tejeda	Wise
Schroeder	Thompson	Woolsey
Schumer	Thornton	Wynn
Scott	Thurman	Yates
Serrano	Torkildsen	Zimmer
Sisisky	Torres	

#### NOT VOTING-11

Bono Lincoln Slaughter de la Garza McDade Wolf Ford Miller (CA) Young (FL) Hall (OH) Packard

#### □ 1620

Mr. WILSON and Mr. COSTELLO changed their vote from "yea" to "nay."

Messrs. ROBERTS, TIAHRT, SCHAEFER, GRAHAM, NEUMANN, SENSEN-BRENNER, and HANCOCK changed their vote from "nay" to "yea."

So the bill was passed.

The result of the vote was announced as above recorded.

A motion to reconsider was laid on the table.

#### GENERAL LEAVE

Mr. LIGHTFOOT. Mr. Speaker, I ask unanimous consent that all Members may have 5 legislative days in which to revise and extend their remarks on the further consideration of H.R. 3756, and that I may include tabular and extraneous material.

The SPEAKER pro tempore (Mr. LAHOOD). Is there objection to the request of the gentleman from Iowa?

There was no objection.

# REMOVAL OF NAME OF MEMBER AS COSPONSOR OF H.R. 3505

Mr. PETERSON of Minnesota. Mr. Speaker, I ask unanimous consent that my name be removed as a cosponsor of H R. 3505

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Is there objection to the request of the gentleman from Minnesota?

There was no objection.

# ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SPEAKER PRO TEMPORE

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 5 of rule I, the Chair will now put the question on each motion to suspend the rules on which further proceedings were postponed on Tuesday, July 16, 1996, in the order in which that motion was entertained.

Votes will be taken in the following order:

H.R. 3166, as amended, de novo; and H.R. 3161, by the yeas and nays.

The Chair will also put the question on the Speaker's approval of the Journal.

The Chair will reduce to 5 minutes the time for any electronic vote after the first such vote in this series.

## GOVERNMENT ACCOUNTABILITY ACT OF 1996

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The unfinished business is the question de novo of suspending the rules and passing the bill, H.R. 3166, as amended.

The Clerk read the title of the bill.

### PARLIAMENTARY INQUIRY

Mr. CONYERS. Parliamentary inquiry, Mr. Speaker.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The gentleman will state it.

Mr. CONYERS. Mr. Speaker, can this measure be brought to a vote when a report has not been filed, and there has been no opportunity for additional or dissenting views?

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The answer is yes.

Mr. CONYERS. Mr. Speaker, I think the Chair will find that it is customary that reports be filed with legislation brought up on the suspension calendar. Is that not correct?

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The Chair indicated yesterday that reports are not required.

The question is on the motion offered by the gentleman from Florida [Mr. McCollum] that the House suspend the rules and pass the bill, H.R. 3166, as amended.

The question was taken.

### RECORDED VOTE

Mr. McCOLLUM. Mr. Speaker, I demand a recorded vote.

A recorded vote was ordered.

The vote was taken by electronic device, and there were—ayes 417, noes 6, not voting 10, as follows:

### [Roll No. 324]

AYES-417 Brownback Cunningham Abercrombie Bryant (TN) Danner Allard Bryant (TX) Davis Andrews Bunn Deal Archer Bunning DeFazio Armey Burr Del.auro DeLay Bachus Burton Buyer Callahan Dellums Baker (CA) Deutsch Baker (LA) Calvert Diaz-Balart Dickey Baldacci Camp Campbell Ballenger Dicks Barcia Canady Dingell Dixon Barr Cardin Barrett (NE) Doggett Castle Dooley Barrett (WI) Chabot Bartlett Chambliss Doolittle Barton Chapman Dornan Bass Chenoweth Doyle Bateman Christensen Dreier Becerra Chrysler Duncan Beilenson Clay Dunn Bentsen Clayton Durbin Edwards Bereuter Clement Berman Clinger Ehlers Bevill Clyburn Ehrlich Bilbray Coble Engel Coburn English Bilirakis Bishop Coleman Ensign Collins (GA) Bliley Eshoo Blumenauer Collins (IL) Evans Blute Collins (MI) Everett Boehlert Combest Ewing Boehner Condit Farr Fattah Bonilla Cooley Costello Bonior Fawell Fazio Fields (LA) Bono Borski Cox Coyne Boucher Cramer Fields (TX) Brewster Crane Filner Flake Browder Crapo

Cremeans

Cummings

Cubin

Flanagan

Foglietta Foley

Brown (CA)

Brown (FL)

Brown (OH)

Franks (CT) Franks (NJ) Frelinghuysen Frisa Frost Funderburk Furse Gallegly Ganske Geidenson Gekas Gephardt Geren Gibbons Gilchrest Gillmor Gilman Gonzalez Goodlatte Goodling Gordon Goss Graham Green (TX) Greenwood Gunderson Gutierrez Gutknecht Hall (TX) Hamilton Hancock Hansen Harman Hastert Hastings (FL) Hastings (WA) Hayes Havworth Hefley Hefner Heineman Herger Hilleary Hilliard Hinchey Hobson Hoekstra Hoke Holden Horn Hostettler Houghton Hoyer Hunter Hutchinson Hyde Inglis Istook Jackson (IL) Jackson-Lee (TX) Jacobs Jefferson Johnson (CT) Johnson (SD) Johnson, E. B. Johnson, Sam Johnston Jones Kanjorski Kaptur Kasich Kelly Kennedy (MA) Kennedy (RI) Kennelly Kildee Kim King Kingston Kleczka Klink Klug Knollenberg Kolbe LaFalce LaHood Lantos Largent Latham LaTourette

Forbes Fowler

Frank (MA)

Fox

Laughlin Roberts Lazio Roemer Leach Rogers Rohrabacher Levin Lewis (CA) Ros-Lehtinen Lewis (GA) Rose Lewis (KY) Roth Lightfoot Roukema Linder Roybal-Allard Lipinski Royce Livingston Rush LoBiondo Sabo Lofgren Salmon Longley Sanders Lowey Sanford Lucas Sawver Luther Saxton Malonev Scarborough Manton Schaefer Manzullo Schiff Markey Schroeder Martinez Schumer Martini Scott Mascara Seastrand Matsui Sensenbrenner McCarthy Serrano McCollum Shadegg McCrery Shaw McDermott Shays McHale Shuster McHugh Sisisky McInnis Skaggs McKeon Skeen McKinney Skelton McNulty Smith (MI) Meehan Smith (NJ) Meek Smith (TX) Menendez Smith (WA) Metcalf Solomon Mevers Souder Mica Spence Millender-Spratt McDonald Stark Miller (FL) Stearns Minge Stenholm Mink Stockman Moakley Stokes Molinari Studds Mollohan Stump Montgomery Stupak Moorhead Talent Moran Tanner Morella Tate Murtha Tauzin Myrick Taylor (MS) Nadler Taylor (NC) Neal Tejeda Nethercutt Thomas Neumann Thompson Ney Thornberry Norwood Thornton Nussle Thurman Oberstar Tiahrt Obey Torkildsen Olver Torres Ortiz Torricelli Orton Towns Owens Traficant Oxlev Upton Pallone Velazquez Parker Vento Pastor Visclosky Paxon Payne (NJ) Volkmer Vucanovich Payne (VA) Walker Pelosi Walsh Peterson (FL) Wamp Peterson (MN) Ward Petri Watt (NC) Pickett Watts (OK) Pombo Pomeroy Waxman Weldon (FL) Porter Weldon (PA) Portman Weller Poshard White Pryce Whitfield Quinn Radanovich Wicker Williams Rahall Ramstad Wilson Rangel Wise Woolsey Reed Regula Wynn Richardson Yates Riggs Zeliff Rivers Zimmer