^{106TH CONGRESS} 2D SESSION S. CON. RES. 122

Recognizing the 60th anniversary of the United States nonrecognition policy of the Soviet takeover of Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania and calling for positive steps to promote a peaceful and democratic future for the Baltic region.

IN THE SENATE OF THE UNITED STATES

JUNE 14, 2000

Mr. DURBIN (for himself, Mr. GORTON, Mr. ROBB, Mr. GRAMS, and Mr. VOINOVICH) submitted the following concurrent resolution; which was read twice and referred to the Committee on Foreign Relations

CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

- Recognizing the 60th anniversary of the United States nonrecognition policy of the Soviet takeover of Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania and calling for positive steps to promote a peaceful and democratic future for the Baltic region.
- Whereas in June 1940, the Soviet Union occupied the Baltic countries of Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania and forcibly incorporated them into the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics;
- Whereas throughout the occupation, the United States maintained that the acquisition of Baltic territory by force was not permissible under international law and refused to recognize Soviet sovereignty over these lands;

- Whereas on July 15, 1940, President Franklin D. Roosevelt issued Executive Order No. 8484, which froze Baltic assets in the United States to prevent them from falling into Soviet hands;
- Whereas on July 23, 1940, Acting Secretary of State Summer Welles issued the first public statement of United States policy of nonrecognition of the Soviet takeover of the Baltic countries, condemning that act in the strongest terms;
- Whereas the United States took steps to allow the diplomatic representatives of Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania in Washington to continue to represent their nations throughout the Soviet occupation;
- Whereas Congress on a bipartisan basis strongly and consistently supported the policy of nonrecognition of the Soviet takeover of the Baltic countries during the 50 years of occupation;
- Whereas in 1959, Congress designated the third week in July as "Captive Nations Week", and authorized the President to issue a proclamation declaring June 14 as "Baltic Freedom Day";
- Whereas in December 1975, the House of Representatives and the Senate adopted resolutions declaring that the Final Act of the Commission for Security and Cooperation in Europe, which accepted the inviolability or borders in Europe, did not alter the United States nonrecognition policy;
- Whereas during the struggle of the Baltic countries for the restoration of their independence in 1990 and 1991, Congress passed a number of resolutions that underscored its continued support for the nonrecognition policy and for Baltic self-determination;

- Whereas since then the Baltic states have successfully built democracy, ensured the rule of law, developed free market economies, and consistently pursued a course of integration into the community of free and democratic nations by seeking membership in the European Union and the North Atlantic Treaty Organization;
- Whereas the Russian Federation has extended formal recognition to Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania as independent and sovereign states; and
- Whereas the United States, the European Union, and the countries of Northern Europe have supported regional cooperation in Northern Europe among the Baltic and Nordic states and the Russian Federation in addressing common environmental, law enforcement, and public health problems, and in promoting civil society and business and trade development: Now, therefore, be it
- Resolved by the Senate (the House of Representatives
 concurring), That Congress—
- 3 (1) recognizes the 60th anniversary of the
 4 United States nonrecognition policy of the Soviet
 5 takeover of the Baltic states and the contribution
 6 that policy made in supporting the aspirations of the
 7 people of Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania to reassert
 8 their freedom and independence;
- 9 (2) commends Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania 10 for the reestablishment of their independence and 11 the role they played in the disintegration of the 12 former Soviet Union in 1990 and 1991;

(3) commends Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania
 for their success in implementing political and eco nomic reforms, which may further speed the process
 of their entry into European and Western institu tions; and

(4) supports regional cooperation in Northern 6 7 Europe among the Baltic and Nordic states and the 8 Russian Federation and calls for further cooperation in addressing common environmental, law enforce-9 ment, and public health problems, and in promoting 10 11 civil society and business and trade development, 12 and similar efforts that promote a peaceful, democratic, prosperous, and secure future for Europe, 13 14 Russia and the Nordic-Baltic region.

 \bigcirc