^{107TH CONGRESS} H. CON. RES. 161

CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

Honoring the 19 United States servicemen who died in the terrorist bombing of the Khobar Towers military housing compound in Dhahran, Saudi Arabia, on June 25, 1996.

107TH CONGRESS 1ST SESSION H. CON. RES. 161

CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

- Whereas June 25, 2001, marks the fifth anniversary of the tragic terrorist bombing of the Khobar Towers military housing compound in Dhahran, Saudi Arabia;
- Whereas 19 members of the United States Air Force were killed in the bombing and 250 other United States military personnel were wounded;

- Whereas the 19 airmen killed while serving their country were Captain Christopher Adams, Sergeant Daniel Cafourek, Sergeant Millard Campbell, Senior Airman Earl Cartrette, Jr., Sergeant Patrick Fennig, Captain Leland Haun, Sergeant Michael Heiser, Sergeant Kevin Johnson, Sergeant Ronald King, Sergeant Kendall Kitson, Jr., Airman First Class Christopher Lester, Airman First Class Brent Marthaler, Airman First Class Brian McVeigh, Airman First Class Peter Morgera, Sergeant Thanh Nguyen, Airman First Class Joseph Rimkus, Senior Airman Jeremy Taylor, Airman First Class Justin Wood, and Airman First Class Joshua Woody;
- Whereas the families of these brave airmen still mourn their loss;
- Whereas on September 24, 1996, the House of Representatives agreed to House Concurrent Resolution 200 of the 104th Congress honoring the victims of that terrorist bombing;
- Whereas those guilty of the attack have yet to be brought to justice; and
- Whereas terrorism remains a constant and ever-present threat around the world: Now, therefore, be it
 - 1 Resolved by the House of Representatives (the Senate
 - 2 concurring), That, on the occasion of the fifth anniversary
 - 3 of the terrorist bombing of the Khobar Towers military
 - 4 housing compound in Dhahran, Saudi Arabia, the
 - 5 Congress—

(1) recognizes the sacrifice of the 19 members
of the United States Air Force who died in that at tack; and

4 (2) calls upon every American to pause and pay5 tribute to those brave airmen.

Passed the House of Representatives June 25, 2001. Attest:

Clerk.