H. Res. 383

In the House of Representatives, U.S., April 11, 2002.

- Whereas on April 1, 2002, the University of Maryland Terrapins won the National Collegiate Athletic Association men's basketball championship;
- Whereas the Maryland Terrapins compiled a school record for wins during the 2002 season with 32, their 4th straight season with 25 wins or more;
- Whereas the Maryland Terrapins went undefeated at home in the last year of play at historic Cole Field House by achieving a record of 15–0;
- Whereas the Maryland Terrapins won their 1st outright Atlantic Coast Conference regular season championship in over 22 years;
- Whereas Maryland Terrapins qualified for their 9th consecutive NCAA tournament under Coach Gary Williams and obtained a number 1 seed in the East Region this year, and advanced to their 2nd consecutive Final Four;
- Whereas in the NCAA championship game the Maryland Terrapins faced the Indiana University Hoosiers and came away victorious by a score of 64–52;
- Whereas the Maryland Terrapins had to beat perennial basketball powerhouses Kentucky, Connecticut, and Kansas

before earning the right to play in the championship game;

- Whereas the NCAA men's basketball championship was the 1st in Maryland's school history;
- Whereas the Maryland Terrapins are 1 of only 5 teams in history to have won national championships in both basketball and football;
- Whereas University of Maryland senior Juan Dixon was named the Most Outstanding Player of the tournament, First Team All-American, and Atlantic Coast Conference Player of the Year;
- Whereas University of Maryland senior Lonny Baxter was named the Most Valuable Player in regional play for the 2nd year in a row;
- Whereas the entire Maryland Terrapin team, including Earl Badu, Lonny Baxter, Steve Blake, Andre Collins, Juan Dixon, Mike Grinnon, Tahj Holden, Calvin McCall, Byron Mouton, Drew Nicholas, Ryan Randle, and Chris Wilcox, demonstrated the highest level of teamwork, skill, tenacity, and sportsmanship throughout the entire 2001– 2002 season;
- Whereas Coach Gary Williams and his coaching staff of Dave Dickerson, Jimmy Pastos, Matt Kovarik, and Director of Basketball Operations Troy Wainwright have built one of the preeminent college basketball programs in the Nation, as demonstrated by this championship win and more than a decade of achievement;
- Whereas Coach Gary Williams, a 1968 alumnus of the University of Maryland, led his alma mater to the 2002 National Championship and has compiled a tremendous track record of achievement and success in his more than

30 years in coaching, including 24 years as a head coach; and

Whereas University of Maryland Athletic Director Deborah Yow has played an instrumental role in elevating all of the University's intercollegiate athletic programs, including, the men's basketball team and the football team, which under the direction of Head Coach Ralph Friedgen compiled a 10–1 regular season record and earned an invitation to the 2002 Orange Bowl: Now, therefore, be it *Resolved*, That the House of Representatives—

(1) congratulates—

(A) the University of Maryland Terrapins for winning the 2002 National Collegiate Athletic Association Basketball Championship on April 1, 2002;

(B) all of the 65 outstanding teams who participated in the 2002 tournament; and

(C) the National Collegiate Athletic Association for its continuing excellence in providing a supportive arena for the Nation's college athletes to display their talents and sportsmanship;

(2) commends the Maryland Terrapins for their outstanding performance during the entire 2002 season and for their commitment to high standards of character, perseverance, and teamwork;

(3) recognizes the achievements of the players, coaches, and support staff who were instrumental in helping the Maryland Terrapins win the 2002 championship; and

(4) directs the Clerk of the House of Representatives to transmit an enrolled copy of this resolution to—

(A) Dr. C.D. "Dan" Mote, the President of the University of Maryland;

(B) Deborah Yow, the Athletic Director at the University of Maryland; and

(C) Gary Williams, the head coach of the University of Maryland Terrapins men's basketball team.

Attest:

Clerk.