107TH CONGRESS 2D SESSION H. RES. 616

Recognizing the 2002 United States Professors of the Year.

IN THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

NOVEMBER 14, 2002

Mr. ROEMER (for himself, Mr. WYNN, Mr. HONDA, and Mr. BUYER) submitted the following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on Education and the Workforce

RESOLUTION

Recognizing the 2002 United States Professors of the Year.

- Whereas the United States Professors of the Year are being recognized for their unique teaching experiences and strategies by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and the Council for Advancement and Support of Education, and will be presented these awards in the following four categories: Community College, Baccalaureate College, Master's University or College, and Research and Doctoral University;
- Whereas the first professor being honored is Alicia Juarrero for the Outstanding Community College Professor of the Year award, who is a professor of philosophy at Prince George's Community College, has taught at the Largo, Maryland, institution since 1975, has created an honors colloquium called "Minds, Brains, and Machines" at the

college, teaches a philosophy module in the National Endowment for the Humanities that uses a college-level humanities course to bring the poor out of poverty and into the full life of their communities;

- Whereas the second professor being honored is James Adams for Outstanding Baccalaureate College Professor of the Year, who has served Manchester College in North Manchester, Indiana, for 42 years, has been an exchange professor to Germany and Spain, and was instrumental in creating study-abroad programs on his campus;
- Whereas the third professor being honored is Francisco Jimenez for Outstanding Master's University and College Professor of the Year, who is the Faye Boyle Professor in the Department of Modern Languages and Literatures at Santa Clara University, is the director of the university's Ethnic Studies Program, has taught at Santa Clara University since 1973, has garnered teaching awards as well as honors for publication and special service to the campus and community, his teaching and writing having been framed by his experiences as the child of Mexican migrant farm workers, is the author of two award-winning books about his childhood, and has also created an outreach program to encourage historically under-represented students to become teachers; and
- Whereas the final professor being honored is Dennis Jacobs for Outstanding Research and Doctoral University Professor of the Year, who serves as a professor at the University of Notre Dame in South Bend, Indiana, is a professor of chemistry, was named the Carnegie Scholar in 1999 by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching, has combined chemistry and service learning by creating a course in which students and community

partners evaluate lead contamination in area homes, and is a fellow with the Center for Social Concerns focusing on methods of integrating community service into the curriculum: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, That it is the sense of the House of Rep resentatives that these four professors should be recog nized as the United States Professors of the Year on be half of the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of
Teaching and the Council for Advancement and Support
of Education.

 \bigcirc