# CONGRESSIONAL RECORD—HOUSE

Petri

So (two-thirds having voted in favor thereof) the rules were suspended and the concurrent resolution was agreed to.

The result of the vote was announced as above recorded.

A motion to reconsider was laid on the table.

### HOUR OF MEETING ON THURSDAY. DECEMBER 6, 2001

Mr. ARMEY. Mr. Speaker. I move that when the House adjourns today it adjourns to meet at 9 a.m. tomorrow.

The SPEAKER pro tempore (Mr. OTTER). The question is on the motion offered by the gentleman from Texas (Mr. ARMEY).

The question was taken; and the Speaker pro tempore announced that the ayes appeared to have it.

### RECORDED VOTE

Mr. BROWN of Ohio. Mr. Speaker, I demand a recorded vote.

A recorded vote was ordered.

The vote was taken by electronic device, and there were-ayes 322, noes 82, not voting 29, as follows:

[Roll No. 475] YEAS-322

Aderholt Akin Allen Armey Baca Bachus Baird Baker Baldacci Baldwin Ballenger Barcia Barr Barrett Bartlett Barton Bass Bentsen Bereuter Berman Biggert Bilirakis Blagojevich Blunt Boehlert Boehner Bonilla Bono Boozman Borski Boswell Bovd Brady (TX) Brown (FL) Brown (SC) Bryant Burr Burton Buyer Callahan Calvert Camp Cannon Cantor Capito Cardin Carson (IN) Castle Chabot Chambliss Coble Combest Convers Cooksey Costello Cox Coyne Cramer

Crane Grucci Crenshaw Gutknecht Culberson Hall (OH) Hall (TX) Cummings Cunningham Hansen Davis (CA) Hart Davis (FL) Davis (IL) Davis, Jo Ann Havworth Deal Hefley Delahunt Herger DeLay Hilleary DeMint Hinojosa Deutsch Hobson Diaz-Balart Hoekstra Dicks Holden Doggett Hoolev Doolittle Horn Houghton Doyle Dreier Hover Hulshof Dunn Edwards Hunter Ehlers Hvde Ehrlich Inslee Emerson Isakson Engel Issa Istook English Eshoo Etheridge Jackson (IL) Jackson-Lee Everett (TX) Farr Jefferson Ferguson Jenkins Flake John Johnson (CT) Fletcher Johnson (IL) Folev Jones (NC) Forbes Ford Kanjorski Fossella Keller Frank Kelly Kennedy (RI) Frelinghuysen Frost Kerns Gallegly Kildee Kind (WI) Ganske Gekas King (NY) Gibbons Kirk Kleczka Gilchrest Gillmor Knollenberg Kolbe Kucinich Gonzalez Goode Goodlatte LaFalce Gordon LaHood Goss Lampson Graham Langevin Granger Largent Larson (CT) Graves Green (TX) Latham Green (WI) LaTourette Greenwood Leach

Levin Lewis (CA) Lewis (KY) LoBiondo Lofgren Lowey Lucas (KY) Lucas (OK) Luther Maloney (NY) Manzullo Mascara Matheson Matsui McCarthy (MO) McCarthy (NY) McCollum McCrery McDermott McHugh McInnis McIntyre McKeon McNulty Mica Miller, Dan Miller, Gary Miller, Jeff Mollohan Moran (VA) Morella Mvrick Nadler Nea1 Nethercutt Northup Norwood Nussle Ortiz Osborne Ose Otter Owens Oxley Pastor Paul Pence Hastings (FL) Peterson (MN) Hastings (WA) Peterson (PA) Abercrombie Ackerman Andrews Becerra Berklev Berry Bishop Blumenauer Bonior Brady (PA) Brown (OH) Capps Capuano Carson (OK) Clay Clayton Clement Clyburn Condit Crowlev DeGette DeLauro Evans Fattah Filner Gephardt Gilman Harman Boucher Collins Cubin Davis, Tom DeFazio Dingell Dooley Duncan Gutierrez Hayes

Lee

Pickering Platts Pombo Pomeroy Portman Price (NC) Pryce (OH) Putnam Radanovich Rahall Ramstad Rangel Regula Rehberg Reynolds Riley Rodriguez Roemer Rogers (KY) Rogers (MI) Rohrabacher Ros-Lehtinen Ross Royce Rush Rvan (WI) Ryun (KS) Sanders Saxton Schaffer Schrock Scott Sensenbrenner Serrano Sessions Shadegg Shaw Shavs Sherwood Shimkus Shows Shuster Simmons Simpson Skeen Skelton Smith (MI) Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) NAYS-82 Hill Hilliard Hinchey Hoeffel Holt Honda Israel Johnson E B Jones (OH) Kaptur Kennedy (MN) Kilpatrick Lantos Larsen (WA) Lewis (GA) Lipinski Lvnch McGovern McKinney Meeks (NY) Menendez Millender-McDonald Miller, George Mink Moore Moran (KS) Napolitano NOT VOTING-Hostettler Johnson, Sam Kingston

Terry Thomas Thune Tiahrt Tiberi Tierney Toomey Towns Upton Vitter Walden Walsh Wamp Weiner Weller Wexler Wicker Wilson Wolf Woolsev Wu Oberstar Olver Pallone Payne Pelosi Phelps Rivers Sandlin Sawver Schiff Stupak Waters Waxman Wynn -29 Obey Pascrell Pitts Quinn Malonev (CT) Reyes Roukema Sabo Sanchez Young (AK)

# $\Box$ 1611

Mr. MEEKS of New York changed his vote from "aye" to "no".

So the motion was agreed to.

Linder

Markev

Meehan

Murtha

Ney

Meek (FL)

Souder Spratt Stark Stearns Stenholm Stump Sununu Sweenev Tancredo Tanner Tauscher Tauzin Taylor (MS) Taylor (NC) Thompson (CA) Thornberry Thurman Traficant Turner Udall (CO) Watkins (OK) Watts (OK) Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA) Whitfield

Snyder

Solis

Young (FL) Rothman Roybal-Allard Schakowsky Sherman Slaughter Smith (WA) Strickland Thompson (MS) Udall (NM) Velazquez Visclosky Watson (CA) Watt (NC)

A motion to reconsider was laid on the table. SPECIAL ORDERS

as above recorded.

The SPEAKER pro tempore (Mr. PENCE). Under the Speaker's announced policy of January 3, 2001, and under a previous order of the House, the following Members will be recognized for 5 minutes each.

The result of the vote was announced

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Under a previous order of the House, the gentleman from Michigan (Mr. BONIOR) is recognized for 5 minutes.

(Mr. BONIOR addressed the House. His remarks will appear hereafter in the Extensions of Remarks.)

#### □ 1615

# AMIGOS TOGETHER FOR KIDS

The SPEAKER pro tempore (Mr. PENCE). Under a previous order of the House, the gentlewoman from Florida (Ms. ROS-LEHTINEN) is recognized for 5 minutes.

Ms. ROS-LEHTINEN. Mr. Speaker, one of the most special aspects of our everyday lives is to be blessed with true friends. Amigos Together for Kids is an organization that has been in existence since 1991, and under the direction of Jorge Plasencia serves the needs of south Florida's forgotten children, those who are abused, neglected and abandoned.

Now celebrating its 10th anniversary, Amigos has many friends who have committed their energies toward the success of its programs, including Roxana Fernandez, Mirta Fuentes, Paul Hanson, Victoria Rodriguez, Daniel Rodriguez-Cuesta and Jorge Rouco, to name just a few.

The Amigos programs include Amigos Doctors for Kids, Children Helping Children, The Birthday Club, The Holi-day Toy Drive, The Back-to-School Drive, and a new and ambitious program to serve adolescents in our area in south Florida.

Congratulations, Amigos Together for Kids. You are definitely fulfilling your mission of making south Florida's less fortunate young people feel truly loved. We really appreciate your dedication to our community's future, our children.

# OPPOSE FAST TRACK LEGISLATION

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Under a previous order of the House, the gentleman from Massachusetts (Mr. LYNCH) is recognized for 5 minutes.

Mr. LYNCH. Mr. Speaker, I rise again in opposition to the so-called Fast Track legislation that will be debated in this House over the next 2 days. I do so for several reasons.

Firstly, because Fast Track contradicts the clear requirement of the