^{108TH CONGRESS} ^{2D SESSION} S. RES. 376

Congratulating the Syracuse University Orange men's lacrosse team on winning the 2004 NCAA Division I men's lacrosse National Championship.

IN THE SENATE OF THE UNITED STATES

JUNE 14, 2004

Mrs. CLINTON (for herself and Mr. SCHUMER) submitted the following resolution; which was considered and agreed to

RESOLUTION

- Congratulating the Syracuse University Orange men's lacrosse team on winning the 2004 NCAA Division I men's lacrosse National Championship.
- Whereas on Monday, May 31, 2004, the Syracuse University Orange men's lacrosse team won the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I men's lacrosse National Championship in Baltimore, Maryland;
- Whereas this title represents the ninth National Championship for the Syracuse University men's lacrosse program, and the third NCAA Division I title for the men's lacrosse team in the past 5 years;
- Whereas on May 31, 2004, the Orange men's lacrosse team defeated the Midshipmen of the United States Naval Academy by a score of 14 to 13;

- Whereas the Orange were led by Michael Powell, a senior from Carthage, New York, who was voted Most Outstanding Competitor in the 2004 NCAA Division I men's lacrosse tournament;
- Whereas Michael Powell completed his remarkable career as the leading scorer in the history of the Syracuse University men's lacrosse program by scoring the final and winning goal of the National Championship;
- Whereas the Orange were supported in their title run by outstanding efforts from the entire team, including seniors Dan DiPietro, Nick Donatelli, Kevin Dougherty, Sean Lindsay, Brian Nee, and Alex Zink;
- Whereas the Orange men's lacrosse head coach John Desko, a former All-American Defenseman and a member of the Orange lacrosse community since 1976, has led the Orange men's lacrosse team to 3 NCAA Division I titles since 1999;
- Whereas the outstanding Orange men's lacrosse assistant coaches Roy Simmons III, Kevin Donahue, and Ryan Powell complement the strong leadership of head coach John Desko and deserve enormous credit for continuing the tradition of excellence in lacrosse at Syracuse University; and
- Whereas the students, alumni, and staff of Syracuse University and the fans of Syracuse lacrosse should be congratulated for their longstanding commitment to and pride in the Orange men's lacrosse team: Now, therefore, be it
 - 1 *Resolved*, That the Senate—
- 2 (1) congratulates the Syracuse University Or3 ange men's lacrosse team for winning the 2004
 •SRES 376 ATS

NCAA Division I men's lacrosse National Champion ship;

3 (2) recognizes the achievements of all of the
4 team's players, coaches, and support staff, and in5 vites them to the United States Capitol Building to
6 be honored; and

7 (3) directs the Secretary of the Senate to make
8 available an enrolled copy of this resolution to Syra9 cuse University for appropriate display.

 \bigcirc