109TH CONGRESS 1ST SESSION

H. CON. RES. 188

Honoring the members of the United States Air Force who were killed in the June 25, 1996, terrorist bombing of the Khobar Towers United States military housing compound near Dhahran, Saudi Arabia.

IN THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

June 23, 2005

Mr. Miller of Florida (for himself, Mr. Sessions, Mr. Foley, Mr. Murphy, Mr. Saxton, Mr. Bishop of New York, Mr. Burton of Indiana, Ms. Watson, Mr. Wilson of South Carolina, Mr. Bartlett of Maryland, Mr. Bilirakis, Mr. Shimkus, Mr. Taylor of Mississippi, Mr. Simmons, Mr. Oberstar, Mr. Schwarz of Michigan, Mr. Shaw, Mr. King of New York, Ms. Ginny Brown-Waite of Florida, Ms. Wasserman Schultz, Mr. Israel, Mr. Jones of North Carolina, Mr. Herger, Ms. Harris, Mr. Hayes, Mr. Boozman, Mr. Brown of South Carolina, Mr. McCaul of Texas, Mr. Wamp, Mr. Hayworth, Mr. Turner, Mr. Radanovich, Ms. Corrine Brown of Florida, Ms. Kilpatrick of Michigan, Mr. Snyder, Mr. Young of Alaska, Mr. Akin, Mr. Green of Wisconsin, Mr. Tiahrt, Ms. Bordallo, Mr. Buyer, Mr. Fossella, Mr. Sullivan, Mr. Crenshaw, Mr. Rahall, Mr. Ortiz, and Mr. Davis of Tennessee) submitted the following concurrent resolution; which was referred to the Committee on Armed Services

CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

Honoring the members of the United States Air Force who were killed in the June 25, 1996, terrorist bombing of the Khobar Towers United States military housing compound near Dhahran, Saudi Arabia.

Whereas June 25, 2005, marks the ninth anniversary of the terrorist bombing of the Khobar Towers United States

- military housing compound in Dhahran, Saudi Arabia, on June 25, 1996;
- Whereas 19 members of the United States Air Force were killed in the bombing and 300 other Americans were injured;
- Whereas the 19 airmen killed while serving their country were Captain Christopher Adams, Staff Sergeant Daniel Cafourek, Sergeant Millard Campbell, Senior Airman Earl Cartrette, Jr., Technical Sergeant Patrick Fennig, Captain Leland Haun, Master Sergeant Michael Heiser, Staff Sergeant Kevin Johnson, Staff Sergeant Ronald King, Master Sergeant Kendall Kitson, Jr., Airman First Class Christopher B. Lester, Airman First Class Brent Marthaler, Airman First Class Brian McVeigh, Airman First Class Peter Morgera, Technical Sergeant Thanh Nguyen, Airman First Class Joseph Rimkus, Senior Airman Jeremy Taylor, Airman First Class Justin Wood, and Airman First Class Joshua Woody;
- Whereas the families of these brave airmen still mourn their loss;
- Whereas three months after that terrorist bombing, on September 24, 1996, the House of Representatives agreed to House Concurrent Resolution 200 of the 104th Congress, honoring the victims of that terrorist bombing, and on the fifth anniversary of that bombing, on June 25, 2001, the House of Representatives agreed to House Concurrent Resolution 161 of the 107th Congress, concurred in by the Senate on July 12, 2002, further honoring the victims of that bombing;
- Whereas those guilty of the attack have yet to be brought to justice; and

Whereas terrorism remains a constant and ever-present threat around the world: Now, therefore, be it

- 1 Resolved by the House of Representatives (the Senate
- 2 concurring), That on the occasion of the ninth anniversary
- 3 of the terrorist bombing of the Khobar Towers United
- 4 States military housing compound near Dhahran, Saudi
- 5 Arabia, the Congress—
- 6 (1) recognizes the service and sacrifice of the
- 7 19 members of the United States Air Force who
- 8 died in that attack;
- 9 (2) calls upon every American to pause and pay 10 tribute to those brave airmen;
- 11 (3) extends its continued sympathies to the 12 families of those who died; and
- 13 (4) assures the members of the Armed Forces 14 serving anywhere in the world that their well-being 15 and interests will at all times be given the highest

16 priority.