H. Res. 339

In the House of Representatives, U.S.,

June 30, 2005.

- Whereas on June 23, 2005, the San Antonio Spurs won the National Basketball Association's (NBA) Championship with an 81–74 victory over the Detroit Pistons;
- Whereas the Spurs' win resulted in their third NBA championship title in franchise history;
- Whereas the Spurs competed against the Pistons to win the series 4–3;
- Whereas the Detroit Pistons and their coach, Larry Brown, put up a battle worthy of a championship series;
- Whereas under the guidance of Coach Gregg Popovich, the Spurs' Tim Duncan, Manu Ginobili, Tony Parker, Robert Horry, Bruce Bowen, Nazr Mohammed, Brent Barry, Beno Udrih, Rasho Nesterovic, Glenn Robinson, Devin Brown, and Tony Massenburg played valiantly to bring the NBA trophy back home to San Antonio;
- Whereas congratulations are due as well to the Spurs' owners, Peter and Julianna Holt, and all of the other people in the Spurs' organization.
- Whereas Tim Duncan was for the third time named the finals' Most Valuable Player following the Spurs' victory;

Whereas Coach Gregg Popovich is only one of two active coaches to win three championship titles and only the fifth in league history; and

Whereas San Antonio has the best hometown crowd in the league and the Alamo City is the perfect setting for a championship celebration: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, That the House of Representatives congratulates the San Antonio Spurs and Coach Gregg Popovich for another exciting basketball season and for winning the 2005 National Basketball Association Championship.

Attest:

Clerk.