## 109TH CONGRESS 2D SESSION S. RES. 429

Congratulating the University of Wisconsin women's hockey team for winning the 2006 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Hockey Championship.

## IN THE SENATE OF THE UNITED STATES

April 5, 2006

Mr. FEINGOLD (for himself and Mr. KOHL) submitted the following resolution; which was considered and agreed to

## RESOLUTION

- Congratulating the University of Wisconsin women's hockey team for winning the 2006 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Hockey Championship.
- Whereas on March 26, 2006, the University of Wisconsin Badgers won the women's Frozen Four in Minneapolis, Minnesota, with a victory over the 2-time defending champion University of Minnesota Golden Gophers by 3 to 0 in the championship game after having defeated St. Lawrence University by 1 to 0 in the semifinals;
- Whereas Jinelle Zaugg of Eagle River, Wisconsin, scored 2 goals, Grace Hutchison of Winnetka, Illinois, scored a goal, and Jessie Vetter of Cottage Grove, Wisconsin, had 31 saves in the championship game, and recorded the

first shut-out in the history of the women's Frozen Four championship games;

- Whereas every player on the University of Wisconsin women's hockey team (Sara Bauer, Rachel Bible, Nikki Burish, Sharon Cole, Vicki Davis, Christine Dufour, Kayla Hagen, Tia Hanson, Meghan Horras, Grace Hutchins, Cyndy Kenyon, Angie Keseley, Heidi Kletzien, Erika Lawler, Alycia Matthews, Meaghan Mikkelson, Phoebe Monteleone, Emily Morris, Mikka Nordby, Bobbi-Jo Slusar, Jessie Vetter, Kristen Witting, and Jinelle Zaugg) contributed to the success of this team;
- Whereas Sara Bauer and Bobbi-Jo Slusar were named to the All-Western Collegiate Hockey Association (known as "WCHA") First Team, Sharon Cole, Meaghan Mikkelson, and Meghan Horras were named to the All-WCHA Second Team, Bobbi-Jo Slusar was named the WCHA Defensive Player of the Year, and Sara Bauer was named the WCHA Player of the Year;
- Whereas Coach Mark Johnson, who won a National Collegiate Athletic Association National (known as "NCAA") championship as a member of the University of Wisconsin men's 1977 championship team, was a star on the 1980 United States Olympic hockey team, which produced what is known as the "Miracle on Ice", and is one of the few people who have won a national championship as both a player and coach, and was named the WCHA Coach of the Year;
- Whereas Sara Bauer and Bobbi-Jo Slusar were named first team All-Americans, and Sara Bauer won the Patty Kazmaier Award, as the Nation's top player;

- Whereas Jessie Vetter won the 2006 NCAA Tournament's Most Outstanding Player award and was joined on the All-Tournament Team by Jinelle Zaugg and Bobbi-Jo Slusar;
- Whereas the victory in the women's Frozen Four is the University of Wisconsin's first varsity women's hockey national championship, and the university's first women's team national championship since 1984; and
- Whereas this victory ended a terrific season in which the University of Wisconsin women's hockey team outscored their opponents 155–51 and had a record of 34–4–1: Now, therefore, be it
  - 1 *Resolved*, That the Senate—
- 2 (1) congratulates the University of Wisconsin
  3 women's hockey team, the coaching staff, including
  4 Head Coach Mark Johnson, Athletic Director Barry
  5 Alvarez, and Chancellor John D. Wiley on an out6 standing championship season; and
- 7 (2) respectfully requests the Clerk of the Senate
  8 to transmit an enrolled copy of this resolution to the
  9 Chancellor of the University of Wisconsin-Madison.
  - 0