CONGRESSIONAL RECORD—HOUSE

Holden

Honda

Hoyer

Hulshof

Hunter

Hvde

Inslee

Israel

Istook

(TX)

Jindal

Kaptur

Keller

Kildee

Kind

Kirk

Kline

Kolbe

LaHood

Latham

Leach

Levin

Linder

Lowey

Lucas

Ε.

Lynch

Mack

Maloney

Markey

Matsui

McHugh

McKeon

Mica

Lipinski

Lee

Kelly

Issa

Holt

Conaway

Westmoreland Wexler Whitfield Wicker	Wilson (NM) Wilson (SC) Wolf Woolsey	Wu Wynn Young (AK) Young (FL)	
NAYS—22			
Blackburn Coble Cubin Culberson Davis, Jo Ann Emerson Flake Foxx	Goode Gutknecht Hensarling Istook Johnson, Sam Jones (NC) LaHood Manzullo	Miller (FL) Miller (MI) Myrick Otter Paul Pence	
NOT VOTING-10			
Carter Edwards Fattah Ford	Gillmor Inglis (SC) Jenkins Lewis (KY)	Smith (WA) Stark	

H1868

ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SPEAKER PRO TEMPORE The SPEAKER pro tempore (Mrs.

MILLER of Michigan) (during the vote). Members are advised there are 2 minutes remaining in this vote.

\Box 1900

PENCE Messrs. MANZULLO, LAHOOD, ISTOOK, and Mrs. EMERSON changed their vote from "yea" to "nay."

Mr. LATHAM changed his vote from "nay" to "yea."

So (two thirds having voted in favor thereof) the rules were suspended and the bill was passed.

The result of the vote was announced as above recorded.

A motion to reconsider was laid on the table.

LANDER COUNTY AND EUREKA COUNTY, NEVADA, LAND CON-VEYANCE

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The pending business is the question of suspending the rules and passing the bill, H.R. 541.

The Clerk read the title of the bill.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The question is on the motion offered by the gentleman from Tennessee (Mr. DUNCAN) that the House suspend the rules and pass the bill, H.R. 541, on which the yeas and nays are ordered.

The vote was taken by electronic device, and there were-yeas 423, nays 0, not voting 11, as follows:

[Roll No. 97]

	[1:011 1:0. 37]	
	YEAS-423	
Abercrombie	Bishop (GA)	Burgess
Ackerman	Bishop (NY)	Burton (IN)
Aderholt	Bishop (UT)	Butterfield
Akin	Blackburn	Buyer
Alexander	Blumenauer	Calvert
Allen	Blunt	Camp
Andrews	Boehlert	Cannon
Baca	Boehner	Cantor
Bachus	Bonilla	Capito
Baird	Bonner	Capps
Baker	Bono	Capuano
Baldwin	Boozman	Cardin
Barrett (SC)	Boren	Cardoza
Barrow	Boswell	Carnahan
Bartlett (MD)	Boucher	Carson
Barton (TX)	Boustany	Case
Bass	Boyd	Castle
Bean	Bradley (NH)	Chabot
Beauprez	Brady (PA)	Chandler
Becerra	Brady (TX)	Chocola
Berkley	Brown (OH)	Clay
Berman	Brown (SC)	Cleaver
Berry	Brown, Corrine	Clyburn
Biggert	Brown-Waite,	Coble
Bilirakis	Ginny	Cole (OK)

Convers Cooper Costa Costello Cox Cramer Crenshaw Crowlev Cubin Cuellar Culberson Cummings Cunningham Davis (AL) Davis (CA) Davis (FL) Davis (IL) Davis (KY Davis (TN) Davis, Jo Ann Davis. Tom Deal (GA) DeFazio DeGette Delahunt DeLauro DeLay Dent Diaz-Balart L Diaz-Balart, M. Dicks Dingell Doggett Doolittle Dovle Drake Dreier Duncan Ehlers Emanuel Emerson Engel English (PA) Eshoo Etheridge Evans Everett Farr Fattah Feeney Ferguson Filner Fitzpatrick (PA) Flake Foley Forbes Fortenberry Fossella Foxx Frank (MA) Franks (AZ) Frelinghuysen Gallegly Garrett (NJ) Gerlach Gibbons Gilchrest Gingrey Gohmert Gonzalez Goode Goodlatte Gordon Granger Graves Green (WI) Green, Al Green, Gene Grijalva Gutierrez Gutknecht Hall Harman Harris Hart Hastings (FL) Hastings (WA) Hayes Hayworth Hefley Hensarling Herger Herseth Higgins Hinchey Hinojosa Hobson Hoekstra

Hooley Hostettler Murphy Murtha Musgrave Myrick Nadler Neal (MA) Ney Northup Jackson (IL) Jackson-Lee Norwood Nunes Jefferson Nussle Oberstar Johnson (CT) Obey Johnson (IL) Olver Johnson, E. B. Ortiz Johnson, Sam Osborne Jones (NC) Otter Jones (OH) Owens Kanjorski Oxley Pallone Pascrell Pastor Kennedy (MN) Paul Kennedy (RI) Pavne Pearce Kilpatrick (MI) Pelosi Pence King (IA) King (NY) Kingston Petri Pickering Pitts Knollenberg Platts Poe Kucinich Pombo Kuhl (NY) Pomeroy Porter Langevin Portman Lantos Larsen (WA) Price (GA) Price (NC) Larson (CT) Putnam LaTourette Rahall Ramstad Rangel Lewis (CA) Regula Lewis (GA) Rehberg Reichert Renzi LoBiondo Reves Lofgren, Zoe Reynolds Lungren, Daniel Ross Rothman Manzullo Marchant Rovce Marshall Rush Ryan (OH) Matheson Ryan (WI) McCarthy Ryun (KS) McCaul (TX) Sabo McCollum (MN) Salazar McCotter McCrery Т. McDermott McGovern Sanders McHenry Saxton McIntvre Schiff McKinney McMorris McNulty Meehan Meek (FL) Serrano Meeks (NY) Sessions Melancon Shadegg Menendez Shaw Shays Michaud Sherman Millender-Sherwood McDonald Shimkus Miller (FL) Shuster Miller (MI) Simmons Miller (NC) Simpson Miller, Gary Skelton Mollohan Slaughter

Moore (KS) Smith (NJ) Moore (WI) Moran (KS) Moran (VA) Napolitano Neugebauer Carter Edwards Ford Gillmor Peterson (MN) Peterson (PA) Pryce (OH) Radanovich Rogers (AL) Rogers (KY) Rogers (MI) Rohrabacher Ros-Lehtinen Roybal-Allard Ruppersberger Sánchez, Linda Sanchez, Loretta Schakowsky Schwartz (PA) Schwarz (MI) Scott (GA) Scott (VA) Sensenbrenner

Smith (TX) Snyder Sodrel Solis Souder Spratt Stearns Strickland Stupak Sullivan Sweeney Tancredo Tanner Tauscher Taylor (MS) Taylor (NC) Terry Thomas

April 12, 2005

Watson Thompson (CA) Thompson (MS) Watt Tiahrt Waxman Tiberi Weiner Weldon (FL) Tierney Towns Weldon (PA) Turner Weller Udall (CO) Westmoreland Udall (NM) Wexler Whitfield Upton Van Hollen Wicker Wilson (NM) Velázquez Wilson (SC) Visclosky Walden (OR) Wolf Walsh Woolsev Wamp Wu Wasserman Wynn Schultz Young (AK) Waters Young (FL) NOT VOTING--11 Smith (WA)

Inglis (SC) Jenkins Stark Lewis (KY) Thornberry

Miller, George ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SPEAKER PRO TEMPORE

The SPEAKER pro tempore (Mr. KLINE) (during the vote). Members are advised 2 minutes remain in this vote.

\Box 1917

So (two-thirds having voted in favor thereof) the rules were suspended and the bill was passed.

The result of the vote was announced as above recorded.

A motion to reconsider was laid on the table.

PERSONAL EXPLANATION

Mr. CARTER. Mr. Speaker, on April 12, 2005, during voting on H.R. 135, the Twenty-First Century Water Commission Act and H.R. 541, the Lander County and Eureka County, Nevada land convevance. I was unavoidably detained due to matters in my Congressional District. If I had been present, I would have voted yea on both votes.

REPORT ON RESOLUTION PRO-VIDING FOR CONSIDERATION OF H.R. 8, DEATH TAX REPEAL PER-MANENCY ACT OF 2005

Mr. HASTINGS of Washington, from the Committee on Rules, submitted a privileged report (Rept. No. 109-35) on the resolution (H. Res. 202) providing for consideration of the bill (H.R. 8) to make the repeal of the estate tax permanent, which was referred to the House Calendar and ordered to be printed.

PAYING TRIBUTE AND HONORING THE MEMORY OF TRAVIS BRUCE

(Mr. GUTKNECHT asked and was given permission to address the House for 1 minute and to revise and extend his remarks.)

Mr. GUTKNECHT. Mr. Speaker, I rise to pay tribute and to honor the memory of Travis Bruce.

Mr. Speaker, it is perhaps ironic that, as the family of Specialist Travis Bruce was learning the tragic news, I was at the military hospital in Landstuhl, Germany.

We all ask ourselves the questions that have haunted leaders from Washington to Grant to this very day: Are