WILLIAMS, which nominations were received by the Senate and appeared in the Congressional Record of April 21, 2005.

IN THE COAST GUARD

The following named officers for appointment in the United States Coast Guard to the grade indicated under title 14, U.S.C., section 271:

To be rear admiral

Rear Adm. (lh) Larry L. Hereth, 0000 Rear Adm. (lh) Robert J. Papp, 0000 Rear Adm. (lh) Clifford I. Pearson, 0000 Rear Adm. (lh) James C. Van Sice, 0000

The following named individual for appointment as a permanent regular officer in the United States Coast Guard in the grade indicated under Title 14, U.S.C., section 211:

To be lieutenant commander

Kathryn C. Dunbar, 0000

$\begin{array}{c} {\tt NATIONAL\ OCEANIC\ AND\ ATMOSPHERIC}\\ {\tt ADMINISTRATION} \end{array}$

Subject to qualifications provided by law, the following permanent appointment to the grades indicated in the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.

To be lieutenant

Daniel J Price Stephen Z Kroening Jessica S Kondel Shannon M Ristau Nicole S Lambert Chadwick A Brown Nicole D Colasacco Chad M Cary Jennifer E Pralgo Sean D Cimilluca Charles J Yoos III Keith A Golden Shawn Maddock William D Whitmore Douglas E MacIntyre Sarah L Dunsford Sarah K Mrozek Joshua D Bauman

To be lieutenant (junior grade)

Michael C Davidson David E Fischman Silas M Ayers Paul A Householder Nicola Samuelson Patrick L Murphy Colin D Little Lean A Harman Jason R Mansour Michael J Stevenson Briana J Welton Abigail S Higgins Brent J Pounds Amanda L Goeller Sarah E Jackson Timothy D Salisbury Benjamin S Sniffen Mark A Blankenship Fionna J Matheson Jonathan E Taylor Andrew P Halbach Nathan S Priester William I Wells Sarah K Jones Stephen P Barry

NOMINATIONS DISCHARGED

Mr. FRIST. Mr. President, I ask unanimous consent that the Foreign Relations Committee be discharged from further consideration of the following nominations:

Victoria Nuland, PN 511, permanent representative on the Council of NATO; John Tefft, PN 523, Ambassador to Georgia; David Wilkins, PN-455, Ambassador to Canada; William Eaton, PN-503, Ambassador to Republic of Panama; James Derham, PN-480, Ambassador to Guatemala; Paul Trivelli, PN-509, Ambassador to Republic of Nicaragua; Linda Jewell, PN-522, Ambassador to Republic of Ecuador; Sean Ian McCormack, PN-351, Assistant Secretary of State; provided further that the Senate proceed to their consideration en bloc, the nominations be confirmed, that the motions to reconsider be laid upon the table, the President be immediately notified of the Senate's action and the Senate then resume legislative session.

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Without objection, it is so ordered.

The nominations considered and confirmed are as follows:

DEPARTMENT OF STATE

Victoria Nuland, of Connecticut, a Career Member of the Senior Foreign Services, Class of Minister-Counselor, to be Permanent Representative of the United States of America on the Council of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization, with the rank and status of Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary.

John F. Tefft, of Virginia, a Career Member of the Senior Foreign Service, Class of Minister-Counselor, to be Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the United States of America to Georgia.

David Horton Wilkins, of South Carolina, to be Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the United States of America to Canada.

William Alan Eaton, of Virginia, a Career Member of the Senior Foreign Service, Class of Minister-Counselor, to be Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the United States of America to the Republic of Panama.

James M. Derham, of Virginia, a Career Member of the Senior Foreign Service, Class of Minister-Counselor, to be Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the United States of America to the Republic of Guatemala.

Paul A. Trivelli, of Virginia, a Career

Paul A. Trivelli, of Virginia, a Career Member of the Senior Foreign Service, Class of Counselor, to be Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the United States of America to the Republic of Nicaragua.

Linda Jewell, of the District of Columbia, a Career Member of the Senior Foreign Service, Class of Minister-Counselor, to be Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the United States of America to the Republic of Ecuador.

Sean Ian McCormack, of the District of Columbia, to be an Assistant Secretary of State (Public Affairs).

LEGISLATIVE SESSION

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Under the previous order, the Senate will now return to legislative session.

PROVIDING FOR CONDITIONAL RECESS OR ADJOURNMENT OF BOTH HOUSES OF CONGRESS

Mr. FRIST. Mr. President, I ask unanimous consent that the Senate now proceed to consideration of H. Con. Res. 167, the adjournment resolution, which is at the desk. I further ask consent that the concurrent resolution be agreed to and the motion to reconsider be laid upon the table.

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Without objection, it is so ordered.

The concurrent resolution (H. Con. Res. 167) was agreed to, as follows:

H. CON. RES. 167

Resolved by the House of Representatives (the Senate concurring), That when the House adjourns on the legislative day of Thursday, May 26, 2005, or Friday, May 27, 2005, on a motion offered pursuant to this concurrent resolution by its Majority Leader or his designee, it stand adjourned until 2 p.m. on Tuesday, June 7, 2005, or until the time of any reassembly pursuant to section 2 of this concurrent resolution, whichever occurs first; and that when the Senate recesses or adjourns on Thursday, May 26, 2005, or Friday, May 27, 2005, on a motion offered pursuant to this concurrent resolution by its Majority Leader or his designee, it stand recessed or adjourned until noon on Monday, June 6, 2005, or Tuesday, June 7, 2005, or until such other time on either of those days as may be specified by its Majority Leader or his designee in the motion to recess or adjourn, or until the time of any reassembly pursuant to section 2 of this concurrent resolution, whichever occurs first.

SEC. 2. The Speaker of the House and the Majority Leader of the Senate, or their respective designees, acting jointly after consultation with the Minority Leader of the House and the Minority Leader of the Senate, shall notify the Members of the House and the Senate, respectively, to reassemble at such place and time as they may designate whenever, in their opinion, the public interest shall warrant it.

AUTHORIZATION TO MAKE APPOINTMENTS

Mr. FRIST. Mr. President, I ask unanimous consent that notwith-standing the upcoming recess or adjournment of the Senate, the President of the Senate, the President protempore, and the majority and minority leaders be authorized to make appointments to commissions, committees, boards, conferences, or interparliamentary conferences authorized by law and by concurrent action of the two Houses or by order of the Senate.

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Without objection, it is so ordered.

SIGNING AUTHORIZATION

Mr. FRIST. I ask unanimous consent that during the adjournment of the Senate, the majority leader, majority whip, and senior Senator from Virginia be authorized to sign duly enrolled bills or joint resolutions.

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Without objection, it is so ordered.

AUTHORITY FOR COMMITTEES TO REPORT

Mr. FRIST. I ask unanimous consent that notwithstanding the Senate's adjournment, committees be authorized to report legislative and executive matters on June 1 from 10 a.m. to 12 noon.

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Without objection, it is so ordered.