The question was taken.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. In the opinion of the Chair, two-thirds of those present have voted in the affirmative.

Mr. UPTON. Mr. Speaker, on that I demand the yeas and nays.

The yeas and nays were ordered.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 8 of rule XX and the Chair's prior announcement, further proceedings on this motion will be postponed.

#### ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SPEAKER PRO TEMPORE

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The Chair earlier announced to the Members that there would be a moment of silence observed at this time in honor of Officers Gibson and Chestnut.

However, this moment of silence will be observed this evening in between votes, which will commence at 6:30 n.m.

# RECESS

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 12(a) of rule I, the Chair declares the House in recess until approximately 6:30 p.m. today.

Accordingly (at 3 o'clock and 47 minutes p.m.), the House stood in recess until approximately 6:30 p.m.

#### $\Box$ 1830

#### AFTER RECESS

The recess having expired, the House was called to order by the Speaker pro tempore (Mrs. EMERSON) at 6 o'clock and 30 minutes p.m.

## ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SPEAKER PRO TEMPORE

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 8 of rule XX, proceedings will resume on three of the motions to suspend the rules previously postponed. Votes will be taken in the following order:

H.J. Res. 59 by the yeas and nays; H. Con. Res. 181 by the yeas and nays; and

H. Res. 376 by the yeas and nays.

Proceedings on the other postponed questions will resume on another day. The first and third electronic votes

will be conducted as 15-minute votes. The second vote in the series will be a 5-minute vote.

## EXPRESSING SENSE OF CONGRESS WITH RESPECT TO COMMEMORA-TION OF WOMEN SUFFRAGISTS

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The pending business is the question of suspending the rules and passing the joint resolution, H. J. Res. 59, as amended.

The Clerk read the title of the joint resolution.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The question is on the motion offered by

the gentleman from California (Mr. Northup ISSA) that the House suspend the rules and pass the joint resolution, H. J. Res. 59. as amended, on which the yeas and navs are ordered.

The vote was taken by electronic device, and there were—yeas 378, nays 0, not voting 55, as follows:

Abercrombie DeGette Ackerman DeLauro DeLay Aderholt Akin Dent Alexander Allen Dicks Andrews Dingell Baca Doggett Bachus Doyle Baird Drake Baker Dreier Baldwin Duncan Barrett (SC) Edwards Barrow Ehlers Bartlett (MD) Emanuel Barton (TX) Emerson Bass Engel English (PA) Beauprez Eshoo Etheridge Berkley Berry Biggert Evans Bilirakis Everett Bishop (GA) Farr Bishop (NY) Ferguson Blackburn Filner Blumenauer Flake Blunt Boehlert Folev Forbes Boehner Bonilla Fortenberry Bonner Foxx Frank (MA) Bono Boozman Franks (AZ) Boren Frelinghuysen Boswell Garrett (NJ) Boucher Gerlach Gilchrest Boustany Boyd Gillmor Bradley (NH) Gingrev Brady (PA) Gohmert Brady (TX) Gonzalez Brown (OH) Goode Goodlatte Brown (SC) Burgess Burton (IN) Gordon Granger Butterfield Graves Calvert Green (WI) Camp Green Al Green, Gene Cantor Grijalva Capito Gutknecht Capps Capuano Hall Cardin Harman Cardoza Harris Carnahan Hart Carson Hastings (FL) Hastings (WA) Carter Hayes Case Castle Hayworth Chabot Heflev Hensarling Chandler Chocola Herger Herseth Cleaver Clyburn Higgins Coble Hinchev Conaway Hoekstra Convers Holden Costa Holt Costello Honda Cox Hooley Crenshaw Hover Crowley Hunter Cubin Hyde Inglis (SC) Cuellar Culberson Inslee Cummings Israel Davis (AL) Issa. Jackson (IL) Davis (CA) Davis (FL) Jackson-Lee Davis (IL) Davis (KY) Jefferson Davis (TN) Jindal Johnson (CT) Davis, Jo Ann Johnson (IL) Davis, Tom Deal (GA) Johnson, E. B. DeFazio Johnson, Sam

(TX)

[Roll No. 417] YEAS-378 Jones (NC) Jones (OH) Kanjorski Kaptur Diaz-Balart, L. Keller Kelly Kennedy (MN) Kennedy (RI) Kildee Kind King (IA) Kingston Kline Knollenberg Kolbe Kucinich Kuhl (NY) LaHood Langevin Lantos Larsen (WA) Larson (CT) Latham LaTourette Leach Fitzpatrick (PA) Lee Levin Lewis (CA) Lewis (GA) Lewis (KY) Lipinski LoBiondo Lofgren, Zoe Lowev Lucas Lungren, Daniel E. Lynch Mack Malonev Manzullo Marchant Markey Marshall Matheson Matsui McCarthy McCaul (TX) McCollum (MN) McCotter McCrerv McDermott McGovern McHenry McHugh McIntyre McKeon McKinney McMorris McNultv Meehan Meek (FL) Meeks (NY) Melancon Menendez Mica Michaud Millender-McDonald Miller (FL) Miller (NC) Miller, Gary Miller, George Mollohan Moore (KS) Moore (WI) Moran (KS) Moran (VA) Murphy Murtha Musgrave Myrick Nadler Napolitano Neugebauer Ney

Nunes Oberstar Obey Olver Osborne Otter Owens Oxlev Pallone Pascrell Pastor Paul Payne Pearce Pence Peterson (MN) Peterson (PA) Petri Pickering Pitts Platts Poe Pombo Pomeroy Porter Price (GA) Price (NC) Putnam Ramstad Rangel Regula Rehberg Reichert Renzi Reynolds Rogers (AL) Rogers (KY) Rogers (MI) Rohrabacher Ros-Lehtinen

Norwood

Bean Becerra Berman Bishop (UT) Brown, Corrine Brown-Waite, Ginny Buyer Cannon Clav Cole (OK) Cooper Cramer Cunningham Delahunt Diaz-Balart, M. Doolittle Fattah Feeney

Tancredo Roybal-Allard Tanner Tauscher Ruppersberger Taylor (MS) Taylor (NC) Thomas Thompson (CA) Thompson (MS) Thornberry Sánchez, Linda Tiahrt Tierney Sanchez, Loretta Towns Turner Udall (CO) Schakowsky Udall (NM) Schwartz (PA) Upton Schwarz (MI) Van Hollen Velázquez Visclosky Sensenbrenner Walden (OR) Walsh Wamp Wasserman Schultz Waters Watson Watt Waxman Weiner Weller Westmoreland Wexler Whitfield Smith (WA) Wicker Wilson (NM) Wilson (SC) Wolf Woolsey Wu Wvnn Young (AK)

NOT VOTING-55

Ross

Royce

Sabo

Salazar

т.

Sanders

Saxton

Scott (GA)

Scott (VA)

Serrano

Sessions

Shadegg

Sherman

Sherwood

Shimkus

Shuster

Simmons

Simpson

Skelton

Snvder

Solis

Spratt

Stark

Stearns

Stupak

Ford

Fossella

Gallegly

Gibbons

Gutierrez

Hinojosa

Hostettler

Hobson

Hulshof

Jenkins

King (NY)

Miller (MI)

Neal (MA)

Istook

Kirk

Linder

Nussle

Ortiz

Sullivan

Slaughter

Smith (NJ)

Smith (TX)

Shaw

Ryan (OH)

Ryan (WI)

Rvun (KS)

Pelosi Prvce (OH) Radanovich Rahall Reyes Rothman Rush Schiff Shays Sodrel Souder Kilpatrick (MI) Strickland Sweeney Terry Tiberi Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA) Young (FL)

#### □ 1854

Ms. WOOLSEY and Mr. FERGUSON changed their vote from "nay" to yea."

So (two-thirds having voted in favor thereof) the rules were suspended and the joint resolution, as amended, was passed.

The result of the vote was announced as above recorded.

The title of the joint resolution was amended so as to read: "Joint Resolution Expressing the sense of Congress with respect to the women suffragists who fought for and won the right of women to vote in the United States.".

A motion to reconsider was laid on the table.

Stated for:

Mr. KIRK. Madam Speaker, on rollcall No. 417 I was unavoidably detained. Had I been present, I would have voted "yea."

Mr. SCHIFF. Madam Speaker, on rollcall No. 417 had I been present, I would have voted "yea."

# H6405