The question was taken.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. In the opinion of the Chair, two-thirds of those present have voted in the affirm-

Mr. UPTON. Mr. Speaker, on that I demand the yeas and nays.

The yeas and nays were ordered.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 8 of rule XX and the Chair's prior announcement, further proceedings on this motion will be postponed.

### ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SPEAKER PRO TEMPORE

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The Chair earlier announced to the Members that there would be a moment of silence observed at this time in honor of Officers Gibson and Chestnut.

However, this moment of silence will be observed this evening in between votes, which will commence at 6:30 n.m.

### RECESS

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 12(a) of rule I, the Chair declares the House in recess until approximately 6:30 p.m. today.

Accordingly (at 3 o'clock and 47 minutes p.m.), the House stood in recess until approximately 6:30 p.m.

#### □ 1830

## AFTER RECESS

The recess having expired, the House was called to order by the Speaker pro tempore (Mrs. EMERSON) at 6 o'clock and 30 minutes p.m.

### ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SPEAKER PRO TEMPORE

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 8 of rule XX, proceedings will resume on three of the motions to suspend the rules previously postponed. Votes will be taken in the following

H.J. Res. 59 by the year and nays;

H. Con. Res. 181 by the year and nays;

H. Res. 376 by the year and nays.

Proceedings on the other postponed questions will resume on another day.

The first and third electronic votes will be conducted as 15-minute votes. The second vote in the series will be a 5-minute vote.

### EXPRESSING SENSE OF CONGRESS WITH RESPECT TO COMMEMORA-TION OF WOMEN SUFFRAGISTS

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The pending business is the question of suspending the rules and passing the joint resolution, H. J. Res. 59, as amended.

The Clerk read the title of the joint resolution.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The question is on the motion offered by

DeFazio

the gentleman from California (Mr. ISSA) that the House suspend the rules and pass the joint resolution, H. J. Res. 59, as amended, on which the year and navs are ordered.

The vote was taken by electronic device, and there were—yeas 378, nays 0, not voting 55, as follows:

# [Roll No. 417]

### YEAS-378

Abercrombie DeGette Jones (NC) Ackerman DeLauro Jones (OH) DeLay Aderholt Kanjorski Akin Dent Kaptur Alexander Diaz-Balart, L. Keller Allen Dicks Kelly Andrews Dingell Kennedy (MN) Ba.ca. Doggett Kennedy (RI) Bachus Doyle Kildee Baird Drake Kind King (IA) Baker Dreier Baldwin Duncan Kingston Kline Knollenberg Barrett (SC) Edwards Barrow Ehlers Bartlett (MD) Emanuel Kolbe Barton (TX) Emerson Kucinich Kuhl (NY) Bass Engel English (PA) Beauprez LaHood Eshoo Etheridge Berkley Langevin Berry Lantos Larsen (WA) Biggert Evans Bilirakis Everett Larson (CT) Bishop (GA) Latham Farr Bishop (NY) Ferguson LaTourette Blackburn Filner Leach Blumenauer Fitzpatrick (PA) Lee Flake Levin Blunt Lewis (CA) Boehlert Foley Forbes Lewis (GA) Boehner Bonilla Fortenberry Lewis (KY) Bonner Foxx Lipinski Frank (MA) Bono LoBiondo Boozman Franks (AZ) Lofgren, Zoe Boren Frelinghuysen Lowey Boswell Garrett (NJ) Lucas Boucher Gerlach Lungren, Daniel Gilchrest Boustany E. Lynch Boyd Gillmor Bradley (NH) Gingrey Mack Brady (PA) Gohmert Maloney Brady (TX) Gonzalez Manzullo Brown (OH) Goode Marchant Goodlatte Brown (SC) Markey Burgess Burton (IN) Gordon Marshall Granger Matheson Butterfield Graves Matsui Calvert Green (WI) McCarthy McCaul (TX) Camp Green Al Green, Gene McCollum (MN) Cantor Grijalva McCotter Capito Gutknecht Capps McCrerv Capuano Hall McDermott Cardin Harman McGovern Cardoza Harris McHenry Carnahan Hart McHugh Carson Hastings (FL) McIntyre Hastings (WA) Carter McKeon Hayes McKinney Case Castle Hayworth McMorris Chabot Hefley McNultv Hensarling Chandler Meehan Chocola Herger Meek (FL) Herseth Cleaver Meeks (NY) Clyburn Higgins Melancon Coble Hinchey Menendez Conaway Hoekstra Mica Convers Holden Michaud Costa Holt Millender-Costello Honda McDonald Miller (FL) Cox Hooley Crenshaw Hover Miller (NC) Crowley Miller, Gary Hunter Cubin Hyde Miller, George Inglis (SC) Cuellar Mollohan Moore (KS) Culberson Inslee Cummings Israel Moore (WI) Moran (KS) Davis (AL) Issa. Jackson (IL) Davis (CA) Moran (VA) Davis (FL) Jackson-Lee Murphy Davis (IL) (TX) Murtha Davis (KY) Jefferson Musgrave Davis (TN) Jindal Myrick Johnson (CT) Davis, Jo Ann Nadler Napolitano Johnson (IL) Davis, Tom Deal (GA) Johnson, E. B. Neugebauer

Northup Norwood Nunes Oberstar Obey Olver Osborne Otter Owens Oxlev Pallone Pascrell Pastor Paul Payne Pearce Pence Peterson (MN) Peterson (PA) Petri Pickering Pitts Platts Poe Pombo Pomeroy Porter Price (GA) Price (NC) Putnam Ramstad Rangel Regula Rehberg Reichert Renzi Reynolds Rogers (AL) Rogers (KY) Rogers (MI) Rohrabacher Ros-Lehtinen

Ross Roybal-Allard Royce Ruppersberger Ryan (OH) Ryan (WI) Ryun (KS) Sabo Salazar Sánchez, Linda T. Sanchez, Loretta Sanders Saxton Schakowsky Schwartz (PA) Schwarz (MI) Scott (GA) Scott (VA) Sensenbrenner Serrano Sessions Shadegg Shaw Sherman Sherwood Shimkus Shuster Simmons Simpson Skelton Slaughter Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Smith (WA) Snyder Solis Spratt Stark Stearns Stunak Sullivan

Tancredo Tanner Tauscher Taylor (MS) Taylor (NC) Thomas Thompson (CA) Thompson (MS) Thornberry Tiahrt Tierney Towns Turner Udall (CO) Udall (NM) Upton Van Hollen Velázquez Visclosky Walden (OR) Walsh Wamp Wasserman Schultz Waters Watson Watt Waxman Weiner Weller Westmoreland Wexler Whitfield Wicker Wilson (NM) Wilson (SC) Wolf Woolsey Wu Wvnn Young (AK)

### NOT VOTING-55

Rean Ford Pelosi Fossella Prvce (OH) Becerra Berman Gallegly Radanovich Bishop (UT) Gibbons Rahall Brown, Corrine Gutierrez Reyes Brown-Waite, Hinojosa Rothman Ginny Hobson Rush Buyer Hostettler Schiff Cannon Hulshof Shays Clav Istook Sodrel Cole (OK) Jenkins Souder Cooper Kilpatrick (MI) Strickland Cramer King (NY) Sweeney Cunningham Kirk Terry Linder Delahunt Tiberi Diaz-Balart, M. Miller (MI) Neal (MA) Weldon (FL) Doolittle Fattah Nussle Weldon (PA) Feeney Young (FL) Ortiz

### □ 1854

Ms. WOOLSEY and Mr. FERGUSON changed their vote from "nay" to yea."

So (two-thirds having voted in favor thereof) the rules were suspended and the joint resolution, as amended, was passed.

The result of the vote was announced as above recorded.

The title of the joint resolution was amended so as to read: "Joint Resolution Expressing the sense of Congress with respect to the women suffragists who fought for and won the right of women to vote in the United States.".

A motion to reconsider was laid on the table.

### Stated for:

Ney

Johnson, Sam

Mr. KIRK. Madam Speaker, on rollcall No. 417 I was unavoidably detained. Had I been present, I would have voted "yea."

Mr. SCHIFF. Madam Speaker, on rollcall No. 417 had I been present, I would have voted "yea."