alongside each other and to make the compromises necessary to build a functioning government based on an inclusive constitution.

For the record, I opposed the Iraq war resolution, but I have resisted supporting an artificial deadline for withdrawing troops. I believe we need a plan that is designed to bring our troops home and make clear to the Islamic world that we harbor no ambitions for permanent bases, Iraqi oil revenues or any military occupation. But how we withdraw is as important as when we withdraw. This means giving the Iraqis time to form a permanent government and establish the means for international support. We must exercise deep care in the way our country withdraws because leaving a failed state in Iraq will deeply endanger our country.

We were led into war as a divided nation and today we are even more divided. That's why I led a letter last month to Defense Authorization conferees with my colleagues Rep. TOM OSBORNE (R-NE), Rep. ELLEN TAUSCHER (D-CA), and Rep. JOE SCHWARZ (R-MI) urging conferees to include language passed overwhelmingly in the Senate urging President Bush to outline his strategy for withdrawal from Iraq and to provide Members of Congress with quarterly reports on the progress of American operations in Iraq. We wrote this letter because we believe that a successful withdrawal from Iraq can only be helped if Congress and the Bush Administration work to bring unity at home.

It is in our national interest to show the greatest amount of unity possible to the American people, to the international community, and to the Iraqi people, who so bravely made their way to polling stations all over Iraq yes-

Sending a message of encouragement to the Iraqi people to build stable institutions based on democratic principles is important at this critical time. it is for this fundamental reason that I vote today in support of this resolution.

The SPEAKER pro tempore (Mr. FOLEY). Pursuant to House Resolution 619, the resolution is considered read and the previous question is ordered.

The question is on the resolution.

The question was taken; and the Speaker pro tempore announced that the ayes appeared to have it.

Ms. ROS-LEHTINEN. Mr. Speaker, on that I demand the yeas and nays.

The yeas and nays were ordered.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 8 of rule XX, this 15minute vote on House Resolution 612 will be followed by 5-minute votes on motions to suspend the rules with respect to H. Res. 409; H. Res. 575; and H. Res. 534.

The vote was taken by electronic device, and there were—yeas 279, nays 109, answered "present" 34, not voting 11, as follows:

[Roll No. 648] YEAS-279

Aderholt Beauprez Blunt Boehlert Akin Berkley Alexander Berman Boehner Bachus Berry Bonilla Ba.ker Biggert Bonner Bilirakis Barrow Bono Bartlett (MD) Bishop (GA) Boozman Bishop (UT) Rass Boren Boswell Blackburn Bean

Boucher Hall Harris Boustany Bradley (NH) Hart Brady (TX) Hastings (WA) Brown (SC) Hayes Brown-Waite, Hayworth Hefley Hensarling Ginny Burgess Burton (IN) Herger Buver Herseth Calvert Higgins Camp (MI) Hinojosa Campbell (CA) Hobson Hoekstra Cannon Holden Cantor Hostettler Capito Cardoza Hulshof Carnahan HunterInglis (SC) Carter Israel Castle Issa. Chabot Jefferson Chandler Jenkins Chocola .Tindal Johnson (CT) Coble Cole (OK) Johnson (IL) Conaway Johnson, Sam Jones (NC) Cooper Keller Costa Costello Kellv Kennedy (MN) Cramer Crenshaw Kennedy (RI) Cubin Kind King (IA) Cuellar Culberson King (NY) Davis (AL) Kingston Davis (CA) Kirk Davis (FL) Kline Knollenberg Davis (KY) Davis (TN) Kolbe Davis Tom Kuhl (NY) Deal (GA) Langevin DeLay Latham Dent. LaTourette Diaz-Balart, L. Lewis (CA) Lewis (KY) Doolittle Linder Lipinski Drake LoBiondo Duncan Lucas Lungren, Daniel Edwards Emerson English (PA) Etheridge Everett Feeney Ferguson Fitzpatrick (PA) Flake Foley

Mack Manzullo Marchant Marshall Matheson McCaul (TX) McCotter McCrery McHenry Forbes McHugh Ford McIntyre Fortenberry McKeon Fossella McMorris Foxx Melancon Mica Miller (FL) Franks (AZ) Frelinghuysen Miller (MI) Gallegly Garrett (NJ) Miller, Gary Gerlach Moore (KS) Gibbons Moran (KS) Gilchrest Murphy Gillmor Musgrave Gingrey Myrick Gohmert Neugebauer Gonzalez Ney Northup Goode Goodlatte Norwood Gordon Nunes Nussle Granger Graves Ortiz Green (WI) Osborne Otter Green, Gene

Gutknecht

Abercrombie

Ackerman

Allen

Baca

Baldwin

Becerra

Capps

Capuano

Blumenauer

Brady (PA)

Brown (OH)

Brown, Corrine

NAYS-109

Oxlev

Cardin Doggett Clay Cleaver Doyle Evans Clvburn Farr Conyers Fattah Crowley Filner Cummings Frank (MA) Davis (IL) Green, Al Grijalva DeGette Delahunt Gutierrez DeLauro Hastings (FL) Dingell Hinchey

Wilson (SC)

Young (AK)

Young (FL)

Pearce Pence Peterson (MN) Peterson (PA) Petri Pickering Pitts Platts Pombo Pomerov Porter Price (GA) Pryce (OH) Putnam Radanovich Ramstad Regula Rehberg Reichert Renzi Reyes Reynolds Rogers (AL) Rogers (KY) Rogers (MI) Rohrabacher Ros-Lehtinen Ross Royce Ruppersberger Ryan (WI) Ryun (KS) Salazar Saxton Schmidt Schwarz (MI) Scott (GA) Sensenbrenner Sessions Shadegg Shaw Shavs Sherwood Shimkus Shuster Simmons Simpson Skelton Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Smith (WA) Snyder Sodrel Souder Spratt Stearns Sullivan Tancredo Tanner Taylor (MS) Taylor (NC) Terry Thomas Thornberry Tiahrt Tiberi Turner Udall (CO) Upton Walden (OR) Walsh Wamp Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA) Weller Westmoreland Whitfield Wicker Wilson (NM)

Honda Inslee Jackson (IL) Jackson-Lee (TX) Jones (OH) Kanjorski Kildee Kilpatrick (MI) Kucinich Larson (CT) Lee Levin Lewis (GA) Lynch Markey McCollum (MN) McDermott McGovern McKinney Meehan Meeks (NY) Menendez Millender-McDonald Andrews Baird Bishop (NY) Boyd Butterfield

Miller (NC) Schakowsky Miller, George Schwartz (PA) Mollohan Scott (VA) Moore (WI) Serrano Moran (VA) Solis Murtha. Stark Nadler Strickland Neal (MA) Stupak Oberstar $Thompson\ (MS)$ Obev Tiernev Olver Towns Pallone Udall (NM) Pascrel1 Velázquez Visclosky Pelosi Wasserman Price (NC) Schultz Rahall Waters Rangel Watson Rothman Watt Roybal-Allard Waxman Rush Ryan (OH) Weiner Sabo Wexler Sánchez Linda Woolsev Wu T. Sanders Wynn ANSWERED "PRESENT"-34 Hoyer Michaud

Johnson, E. B. Owens Kaptur Paul Lantos Sanchez, Loretta Larsen (WA) Schiff Leach Carson Sherman DeFazio Lofgren, Zoe Slaughter Emanuel Lowey Tauscher Engel Maloney Thompson (CA) Eshoo Matsui Van Hollen Harman McNulty Hooley Meek (FL)

NOT VOTING-11

Barrett (SC) Hvde Napolitano Barton (TX) Istook Payne Davis, Jo Ann LaHood Sweenev Diaz-Balart, M. McCarthy

ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SPEAKER PRO TEMPORE The SPEAKER pro tempore (Mr. FOLEY) (during the vote). There are 2 minutes remaining in this vote.

□ 1442

Mr. CLYBURN changed his vote from "yea" to "nay

Mr. BOEHLERT and Mr. FORD changed their votes from "nay" ''vea.'

Ms. EDDIE BERNICE JOHNSON of Texas and Mr. MEEK of Florida changed their votes from "nay" "present."

So the resolution was agreed to.

The result of the vote was announced as above recorded.

A motion to reconsider was laid on the table

MESSAGE FROM THE SENATE

A message from the Senate by Ms. Curtis, one of its clerks, announced that the Senate has passed with an amendment in which the concurrence of the House is requested, a bill of the House of the following title:

H.R. 4440. An act to amend the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 to provide tax benefits for the Gulf Opportunity Zone and certain areas affected by Hurricanes Wilma, and for other purposes. Rita and

PRIVILEGED REPORT ON RESOLU-TION OF INQUIRY TO THE PRESI-DENT

Ms. ROS-LEHTINEN (during consideration of H. Res. 612), from the Committee on International Relations, submitted a privileged report (Rept. No.