## H. Res. 1133

## In the House of Representatives, U. S.,

May 14, 2008.

- Whereas on March 29, 2008, the Winona State University Warriors of Winona, Minnesota, won the 2008 National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division II National Basketball Championship with a victory over Georgia's Augusta State University, with a score of 87–76 in Springfield, Massachusetts;
- Whereas Jonte Flowers was named the 2008 NCAA Division II Elite Eight Tournament's Most Outstanding Player for his performance throughout the tournament;
- Whereas Jonte Flowers also holds the NCAA Division II record for player career steals, with 414;
- Whereas the Warriors finished the 2008 season with a record of 38–1, an NCAA Division II record for most victories in a season by an NCAA men's basketball team;
- Whereas over the past 3 years, the team's overall record is an impressive 105–6;
- Whereas the senior class, which includes John Smith, Jonte Flowers, Quincy Henderson, Shane Neiss, and Brent Riese, accrued a record of 129–17 in their 4 years of play together at Winona State University;
- Whereas John Smith was named the NCAA Division II Player of the Year by four separate organizations, which in-

- clude 2 consecutive years of recognition from Basketball Times and DII Bulletin, as well as the National Association of Basketball Coaches, for his outstanding performance throughout the year;
- Whereas John Smith also holds the NCAA Division II record for consecutive starts, with 146;
- Whereas the Winona State University Warriors men's basketball team boasts two national titles from 2006 and 2008, three straight North Central Region titles from 2006, 2007, and 2008, four straight regular season championships, and three straight conference tournament championships;
- Whereas head coach Mike Leaf has been named the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Coach of the Year four times and National Coach of the Year two times; and
- Whereas in 2006 and 2007, the team broke the NCAA Division II consecutive win record by winning 57 straight games: Now, therefore, be it

## Resolved, That the House of Representatives—

- (1) congratulates the Winona State University Warriors for winning the 2008 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division II Basketball National Championship; and
- (2) recognizes Bryce Welch, Brad Meyer, Travis Whipple, Quincy Henderson, Curtrel Robinson, Ben Fischer, Brent Riese, Jonte Flowers, David Johnson, Jon Walburg, Luke Doedens, Max Hintz, Josh Korth, Matt Smith, Shane Neiss, Ryan Gargaro, John Smith,

Mike Muller, head coach Mike Leaf, and all other coaches and support staff who were instrumental in this achievement.

Attest:

Clerk.