## H. Res. 472

## In the House of Representatives, U. S.,

October 22, 2007.

- Whereas on April 21, 2007, the Wichita State University (WSU) women's bowling team won the 2007 United States Bowling Congress (USBC) Intercollegiate Bowling National Championship Tournament in Wichita, Kansas;
- Whereas WSU, on the final day of the tournament, defeated Central Florida University 4 games to 1 in the semifinals and McKendree College (Illinois) 2 games to 0 in the finals to win the national championship;
- Whereas the WSU women's bowling team has won eight Intercollegiate Bowling National Championships (1975, 1977, 1978, 1986, 1990, 1994, 2005, and 2007) and has advanced to the national tournament a record 31 times;
- Whereas Head Coach Gordon Vadakin has coached the WSU bowling team since 1978, leading them to the Intercollegiate Bowling National Championship Tournament 29 times and has coached the team to six national titles;
- Whereas Women's Coach Mark Lewis and Assistant Women's Coach Kristal Scott directly coached the 2007 WSU women's bowling team to the national championship in Wichita, Kansas;

- Whereas both Head Coach Gordon Vadakin and Women's Coach Mark Lewis are members of the USBC Hall of Fame;
- Whereas the 2007 national championship team is comprised of the following members: Daniela Alvarado, Ashley Cox, Elysia Current, Sandra Gongora, Melissa Hurst, Samantha Linder, Emily Maier, Rocio Restrepo, Ricki Williams, and Felicia Wong; and
- Whereas WSU Juniors Elysia Current and Emily Maier were named as First Team All-Americans, and Maier was named as a member of the All-Tournament Team of the 2007 Intercollegiate Bowling National Championship Tournament: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, That the House of Representatives—

- (1) congratulates and commends the Wichita State University (WSU) women's bowling team for winning the 2007 United States Bowling Congress (USBC) Intercollegiate Bowling National Championship Tournament;
- (2) recognizes the significant achievements of the players, coaches, students, alumni, and support staff whose dedication and hard work helped the WSU women's bowling team win the national championship; and
- (3) respectfully requests the Clerk of the House of Representatives to transmit enrolled copies of this resolution to the following individuals for appropriate display—

- (A) Donald L. Beggs, President of Wichita State University;
  - (B) Gordon Vadakin, Head Coach;
  - (C) Mark Lewis, Women's Coach; and
  - (D) Kristal Scott, Assistant Women's Coach.

Attest:

Clerk.