H. Res. 657

In the House of Representatives, U. S.,

October 2, 2007.

- Whereas during August 2007, severe thunderstorms were responsible for bringing as much as 18 inches of torrential rain to parts of the States of Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Ohio, and Wisconsin, resulting in devastating floods;
- Whereas these storms tragically took the lives of 14 people;
- Whereas these storms injured countless other people, damaged or destroyed thousands of homes, and devastated businesses and institutions;
- Whereas on August 21, 2007, the Governor of Minnesota declared Fillmore, Houston, Steele, Olmsted, Wabasha, and Winona Counties, Minnesota, to be in a state of disaster as a result of these storms, and subsequently Dodge County, Minnesota, received a Federal major disaster declaration as well;
- Whereas on August 19, 2007, and in the days following, the Governor of Wisconsin declared Crawford, La Crosse, Richland, Sauk, Vernon, Columbia, Dane, Grant, Green, Iowa, Jefferson, Kenosha, Racine, and Rock Counties, Wisconsin, to be in a state of disaster as a result of these storms;
- Whereas on August 22, 2007, and in the days following, the Governor of Iowa declared Appanoose, Boone, Calhoun,

- Cherokee, Davis, Humboldt, Mahaska, Palo Alto, Pocahontas, Van Buren, Wapello, Wayne, and Webster Counties, Iowa, to be in a state of disaster as a result of these storms;
- Whereas on August 22, 2007, the Governor of Ohio declared Allen, Crawford, Hancock, Hardin, Putnam, Richland, Seneca, Van Wert, and Wyandot Counties, Ohio, to be in a state of disaster as a result of these storms;
- Whereas on August 24, 2007, and in the days following, the Governor of Illinois declared Cook, DeKalb, DuPage, Grundy, Lake, LaSalle, Kane, Knox, McHenry, Warren, and Will Counties, Illinois, to be in a state of disaster as a result of these storms;
- Whereas President Bush declared 7 counties in Minnesota, 7 counties in Ohio, and 7 counties in Wisconsin to be major disaster areas as a result of these storms, and individuals and families in these areas became eligible for Federal disaster assistance;
- Whereas numerous individuals and entities have selflessly and heroically given of themselves and their resources to aid in the disaster relief efforts; and
- Whereas the catastrophic injury, death, and damage in Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Ohio, and Wisconsin would have been even worse in the absence of local relief efforts:

 Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, That the House of Representatives—

(1) expresses heartfelt sympathy for the victims of the devastating thunderstorms that caused severe flooding during August 2007 in the States of Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Ohio, and Wisconsin;

- (2) conveys gratitude to the local, State, and Federal officials and emergency personnel who responded swiftly to the crisis, including emergency management teams in each of the affected States, Michael Chertoff, Secretary of Homeland Security, and David Paulison, Administrator of the Federal Emergency Management Agency;
- (3) recognizes the generous and selfless support of citizens, local businesses, the American Red Cross, the United Way, Catholic Charities, and the Salvation Army; and
- (4) reaffirms support to helping the victims of the flooding rebuild their homes and lives.

Attest:

Clerk.