## 110TH CONGRESS 1ST SESSION H. RES. 728

Expressing the support and sympathy of the House of Representatives and the people of the United States for the victims of the devastating flooding that occurred across many parts of Ohio in August 2007 and commending the communities, volunteer organizations, churches and emergency response agencies for their continuing work to restore the affected areas across the state.

## IN THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

October 10, 2007

Mr. JORDAN of Ohio (for himself, Mr. TIBERI, Ms. SUTTON, Mr. KUCINICH, Ms. KAPTUR, Mr. BOEHNER, Mr. LATOURETTE, Ms. PRYCE of Ohio, Mr. REGULA, Mr. RYAN of Ohio, Mr. SPACE, Mr. CHABOT, Mrs. SCHMIDT, Mr. TURNER, Mr. WILSON of Ohio, Mr. HOBSON, and Mrs. JONES of Ohio) submitted the following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on Oversight and Government Reform

## RESOLUTION

Expressing the support and sympathy of the House of Representatives and the people of the United States for the victims of the devastating flooding that occurred across many parts of Ohio in August 2007 and commending the communities, volunteer organizations, churches and emergency response agencies for their continuing work to restore the affected areas across the state.

- Whereas heavy rainstorms brought severe flooding to Ohio and the upper Midwest over the week of August 19, 2007;
- Whereas, in many parts of Ohio, this was the worst flood since 1913 with nearly 15 inches of rain in some areas;
- Whereas the record storms and flooding were responsible for up to 18 deaths across parts of the upper Midwest some of these in Ohio;
- Whereas over 500 citizens were forced to flee their homes and businesses and many hundreds of homes and businesses were damaged;
- Whereas, on August 21, 2007, Allen, Crawford, Hancock, Hardin, Paulding, Putnam, Richland, Seneca, Van Wert and Wyandot counties made initial local emergency declaration;
- Whereas, on August 22, 2007, Governor Ted Strickland issued a State disaster declaration for Allen, Crawford, Hancock, Hardin, Putnam, Richland, Seneca, Wyandot and Van Wert Counties;
- Whereas, on August 27, 2007, President George W. Bush issued a Federal disaster declaration for Allen, Crawford, Hancock, Putnam, Richland and Wyandot Counties and later added Hardin and Seneca Counties; and
- Whereas Michigan, Minnesota, Wisconsin, Illinois, Iowa and Indiana also experienced serious, storms, flooding and tornadoes: Now, therefore, be it
  - 1 *Resolved*, That the House of Representatives—
- 2 (1) expresses its support and profoundest sym-
- 3 pathy for the victims of the devastating flooding that

1	occurred across much of Ohio and the surrounding
2	region in August 2007;
3	(2) conveys its gratitude to the local, State and
4	Federal officials and emergency personnel who re-
5	sponded to this emergency and continue working to
6	restore normalcy in the affected counties;
7	(3) thanks the many volunteers, charitable or-
8	ganizations, business and individual donors, church-
9	es and religious organizations for their generosity in
10	responding to this crisis; and
11	(4) commends the people of Ohio for their in-
12	domitable spirit and for the grace and magnanimity
13	with which they have supported one another during
14	the flooding and continuing recovery.