American people; yet we have allowed this act to expire. A bipartisan bill has passed in the Senate; yet we in the House are denied democracy and the opportunity to have the people vote for this important legislation that will protect Americans.

I applied for FISA warrants in the Justice Department. This statute was never intended to apply to foreign terrorists in foreign countries. In fact, what we are doing is extending constitutional protections to foreign terrorists like Osama bin Laden. This Bishop (UT) turns the statute on its head; yet we have a majority leader who says Davis, David there's no urgency. The chairman of Intelligence says we'll be just fine. It reminds me of an FBI agent who warned before 9/11, frustrated about the intelligence gap, "Someday someone will die. The public will not understand why we were not more effective at throwing every resource we had at certain problems, especially since the biggest threat to us now is Osama bin Laden and he is getting the most protection.'

I urge this Congress, this House, and the Democratic leadership to pass the Senate bipartisan bill and make the Protect America Act permanent.

FISA

(Mr. GOHMERT asked and was given permission to address the House for 1 minute.)

Mr. GOHMERT. Mr. Speaker, FISA is a major issue. Great nations in history have failed and been defeated by becoming soft from within. I see dangers of doing that here.

I know that my colleagues across the aisle, the 170 or so who did not support FISA being passed into law last August, are very compassionate people. I've seen the hurt in your eyes. I've seen how it troubles your soul when you see people hurting and killed and maimed. What we're asking here is to do the intelligence and allow the intelligence community to protect us so we don't have to experience the horror of seeing Americans killed and maimed.

We're losing valuable intelligence every day that we do not pass this important, valuable bill. The proposal was made, let's just keep extending it a week at a time. You cannot do extensive intelligence on a week-to-week basis. We cannot put our country at risk. This House has other things planned today other than this critical issue that could be a nation-saving measure.

MOTION TO ADJOURN

Mr. GOHMERT. Mr. Speaker. I move that the House do now adjourn.

The SPEAKER pro tempore (Mr. CAPUANO). The question is on the motion to adjourn.

The question was taken; and the Speaker pro tempore announced that the noes appeared to have it.

Mr. GOHMERT. Mr. Speaker, I object Costa to the vote on the ground that a Costello

quorum is not present and make the point of order that a quorum is not present.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Evidently a quorum is not present.

The Sergeant at Arms will notify absent Members.

The vote was taken by electronic device, and there were—yeas 20, nays 364, not voting 44. as follows:

Calvert

Doolittle

Gohmert

Abercrombie

Ackerman

Alexander

Bachmann

Altmire

Andrews

Arcuri

Bachus

Baldwin

Barrow

Becerra

Berklev

Berman

Biggert

Bilbray

Blunt

Boehner

Bonner

Bilirakis

Bishop (GA)

Bishop (NY

Blumenauer

Bono Mack

Boozman

Boren

Boswell

Boucher

Boyd (FL)

Boyda (KS)

Brady (PA)

Brady (TX)

Braley (IA)

Broun (GA)

Brown (SC)

Buchanan

Burton (IN)

Butterfield

Camp (MI)

Campbell (CA)

Burgess

Buver

Cannon

Cantor

Capito

Capps

Capuano

Cardoza

Carney

Carter

Castle

Castor

Chabot

Clarke

Cleaver

Clyburn

Cole (OK)

Conaway

Convers

Cooper

Cohen

Clay

Chandler

Carnahan

Brown, Corrine

Berry

Barrett (SC)

Bartlett (MD)

Barton (TX)

Baird

Baca

Aderholt

Akin

Gordon

Coble

[Roll No. 111] YEAS-20 Johnson (IL) Renzi King (IA) Shuster Marchant Tancredo McCaul (TX) Whitfield (KY) Pearce Wilson (SC) Radanovich Young (AK) Reichert NAYS-364 Courtney Hastings (WA) Cramer Hayes Crenshaw Heller Crowley Hensarling Cubin Herger Cuellar Herseth Sandlin Culberson Hill Hinchey Cummings Davis (AL) Hinojosa Davis (CA) Hirono Davis (IL) Hobson Davis (KY) Hodes Davis, Tom Hoekstra Deal (GA) Holden DeFazio Holt DeGette Honda Delahunt Hoyer DeLauro Hulshof Dent Hunter Inglis (SC) Diaz-Balart, L. Diaz-Balart, M. Inslee Dicks Israel Dingell Issa Jackson (IL) Doggett Donnelly Jackson-Lee Doyle (TX) Jefferson Dreier Duncan Johnson (GA) Edwards Johnson, E. B. Ehlers Johnson Sam Jones (NC) Ellison Ellsworth Jordan Emanuel Kagen Kanjorski Emerson Engel Kaptur English (PA) Keller Kennedy Eshoo Etheridge Kildee Everett Kind Fallin King (NY) Farr Kingston Fattah Kirk Klein (FL) Feeney Ferguson Knollenberg Filner Kucinich Flake Kuhl (NY) Forbes Lamborn Fortenberry Lampson Fossella Langevin Foxx Larsen (WA) Frank (MA) Larson (CT) Franks (AZ) Latham Frelinghuysen LaTourette Gallegly Latta Garrett (NJ) Lee Gerlach Levin Lewis (CA) Giffords Gilchrest Lewis (GA) Gillibrand Lewis (KY) Gingrey Linder Gonzalez Lipinski Goode LoBiondo Goodlatte Loebsack Granger Lofgren, Zoe Graves Lowev Green, Al Lucas Green, Gene Lungren, Daniel Grijalva E. Gutierrez Lynch Hall (NY) Hall (TX) Mack Maloney (NY) Manzullo Hare Matheson Harman Hastings (FL) Matsui

McCollum (MN) McCotter McCrery McDermott McGovern McHenry McHugh McIntvre McKeon McMorris Rodgers McNerney McNulty Meeks (NY) Melancon Mica Michaud Miller (FL) Miller (MI) Miller (NC) Miller, Gary Miller George Mollohan Moore (KS) Moore (WI) Moran (KS) Moran (VA) Murphy (CT) Murphy, Patrick Murphy, Tim Murtha Musgrave Nadler Napolitano Neugebauer Nunes Olver Ortiz Pallone Pascrell Pastor Paul Payne Perlmutter Peterson (MN) Petri Pickering Allen Bean

McCarthy (CA)

McCarthy (NY)

Pitts

Platts

Pomerov

Price (GA)

Price (NC)

Putnam

Ramstad

Regula

Rehberg

Reynolds

Richardson

Rodriguez

Rogers (AL)

Rogers (KY)

Rogers (MI)

Roskam

Rothman

Ryan (OH)

Rvan (WI)

Salazar

Sali

Т.

Sarbanes

Schakowsky

Saxton

Schmidt

Schwartz

Scott (GA)

Scott (VA)

Serrano

Sessions

Shadegg

Sherman

Shimkus

Simpson

Skelton

Markey

Marshall

Mitchell

Mvrick

Meek (FL)

Neal (MA)

Oberstar

Obev

Poe

Rahall

Rangel

Pence

Shuler

Sires

Shea-Porter

Shavs

Sestak

Sensenbrenner

Rovbal-Allard

Ruppersberger

Sánchez, Linda

Ross

Reyes

Porter

Slaughter Smith (NE) Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Snvder Solis Space Spratt Stearns Stupak Sullivan Sutton Tanner Tauscher Taylor Terry Thompson (CA) Thornberry Tiahrt Tiberi Tiernev Towns Tsongas Turner Udall (NM) Upton Van Hollen

Velázquez Visclosky Sanchez, Loretta Walberg Walden (OR) Walsh (NY) Walz (MN) Wamp Wasserman Schultz Waters Watson Watt Waxman Welch (VT) Weller Westmoreland Wilson (NM) Wilson (OH) Wittman (VA) Wolf Wu Yarmuth

NOT VOTING-

Blackburn Boustany Brown-Waite, Ginny Davis, Lincoln Drake Higgins Hooley Jones (OH) Kilpatrick Kline (MN) LaHood Mahoney (FL)

-44 Ros-Lehtinen Rovce Rush Schiff Smith (WA) Souder Stark Thompson (MS) Udall (CO) Weiner Weldon (FL)

Wexler

Woolsev

Young (FL)

Wvnn

Rohrabacher \Box 1257

Peterson (PA)

Pryce (OH)

Messrs. ROSKAM, BROUN of Georgia, Mrs. EMERSON, Messrs. ISSA, MATHESON, JORDAN of CARTER Ohio, MCHUGH, NUNES, MELANCON, SULLIVAN, ROGERS of Kentucky, SMITH of Texas, RUP-KINGSTON. PERSBERGER, GINGREY, WAMP. Florida, HASTINGS of AKIN. SHIMKUS, BARTLETT of Maryland, BURTON of Indiana, Ms. ESHOO, Messrs. FLAKE and TOM DAVIS of Virginia changed their vote from "yea" to "nay.

Mr. MARCHANT changed his vote from "nay" to "yea."

So the motion to adjourn was reiected.

The result of the vote was announced as above recorded.

Stated against:

Mrs. MYRICK. Madam Speaker, I was unable to participate in the following vote. If I had been present, I would have voted as follows: Rollcall vote 111, on motion to adjourn, I would have voted "nay."

H1453