111TH CONGRESS 2D SESSION

H. RES. 1405

Congratulating the people of the 17 African nations that in 2010 are marking the 50th year of their national independence.

IN THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

May 27, 2010

Mr. Rush (for himself, Mr. Payne, Mr. Lewis of Georgia, Ms. Clarke, Mr. Rangel, Mr. Filner, Mr. Clay, Mrs. Christensen, Mr. Fattah, Ms. Fudge, Mr. Davis of Illinois, Ms. Corrine Brown of Florida, Ms. Watson, Mr. Johnson of Georgia, Ms. Lee of California, Mr. Cleaver, Ms. Eddie Bernice Johnson of Texas, Mr. Meek of Florida, Ms. Norton, Mr. Grijalva, Mr. Bishop of Georgia, Mr. Garamendi, Mr. Cohen, Mr. Meeks of New York, Ms. Jackson Lee of Texas, Ms. Delauro, Mr. Reyes, Mr. Ortiz, Mr. Gene Green of Texas, Mr. Sires, Mr. Salazar, Mr. Baca, Mrs. Napolitano, Mr. Towns, Mr. Rodriguez, Ms. Edwards of Maryland, Mr. Tonko, and Mr. Gonzalez) submitted the following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on Foreign Affairs

RESOLUTION

Congratulating the people of the 17 African nations that in 2010 are marking the 50th year of their national independence.

Whereas in the year 2010, 17 African nations will celebrate the 50th anniversary of their independence from France, Italy, or Great Britain;

Whereas tens of thousands of Africans died or were imprisoned during the struggle for self-determination and na-

- tional political independence following over 75 years of often brutal colonial rule;
- Whereas the Republic of Cameroon gained its independence on January 1, 1960;
- Whereas the Togolese Republic gained its independence on April 27, 1960;
- Whereas the Republic of Mali gained its independence on June 20, 1960;
- Whereas the Republic of Senegal gained its independence on June 20, 1960;
- Whereas the Republic of Madagascar gained its independence on June 26, 1960;
- Whereas the Democratic Republic of the Congo gained its independence on June 30, 1960;
- Whereas Somalia gained its independence on July 1, 1960;
- Whereas the Republic of Benin gained its independence on August 1, 1960;
- Whereas the Republic of Niger gained its independence on August 3, 1960;
- Whereas Burkina Faso gained its independence on August 5, 1960;
- Whereas the Republic of Cote d'Ivoire gained its independence on August 7, 1960;
- Whereas the Republic of Chad gained its independence on August 11, 1960;
- Whereas the Central African Republic gained its independence on August 13, 1960;
- Whereas the Republic of the Congo gained its independence on August 15, 1960;

- Whereas the Gabonese Republic gained its independence on August 17, 1960;
- Whereas the Federal Republic of Nigeria gained its independence on October 1, 1960; and

Whereas Islamic Republic of Mauritania gained its independence on November 28, 1960: Now, therefore, be it

- 1 Resolved, That the House of Representatives—
- 2 (1) congratulates the people of the 17 African 3 nations that in 2010 are marking the 50th year of 4 their national independence;
 - (2) salutes the continuing status of these people as citizens of free and sovereign countries;
 - (3) honors the lives of the ten of thousands of patriots, including innocent civilians, who died, were imprisoned, or otherwise dedicated their lives, often at great personal sacrifice, to achieving African political independence;
 - (4) commends the socioeconomic and political progress being made by these nations, while acknowledging the associated challenges that many still face; and
 - (5) renews the commitment of the United States to help the people of sub-Saharan Africa to foster democratic rule, advance civic freedom and participation, and promote market-based economic

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

- 1 growth, and to alleviate the burden of poverty and
- 2 disease that so many in the region continue to face.

 \bigcirc