H. Res. 347

In the House of Representatives, U. S., May 18, 2009.

- Whereas in 1859, Union Female College, the forerunner of Averett University was established to provide educational opportunities for young women who did not have many educational opportunities;
- Whereas the name Averett College was officially adopted to honor the institution's early founders;
- Whereas in 1971, Averett became a fully accredited, coeducational, 4-year institution of higher education;
- Whereas in 1980, Averett awarded its first master's degrees;
- Whereas in 1988, Averett became the first institution of higher education in Virginia to offer an innovative, accelerated program for working adults who wished to earn advanced degrees;
- Whereas in 2001, Averett College officially became known as Averett University in recognition of its growth;
- Whereas Averett University enrolls more than 2,450 students from 25 states and 12 countries and employs more than 350 people statewide;
- Whereas Averett University offers 32 undergraduate majors and master's degree programs in business and education;

- Whereas Averett University confers nearly 800 degrees each year;
- Whereas Averett University serves students on its main campus in Danville, Virginia, and at 20 other locations around the Commonwealth;
- Whereas Averett University has 13 NCAA III athletic teams that have won various championships, including a national championship in golf; and
- Whereas Averett University has been led by 23 presidents and is currently led by Dr. Tiffany McKillip Franks: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, That Congress congratulates Averett University in Danville, Virginia, for 150 years of service and leader-

ship to the United States.

Attest:

Clerk.