111TH CONGRESS 1ST SESSION

S. RES. 188

Congratulating the Los Angeles Lakers for winning the 2009 National Basketball Association Championship.

IN THE SENATE OF THE UNITED STATES

June 17, 2009

Mrs. Boxer (for herself and Mrs. Feinstein) submitted the following resolution; which was considered and agreed to

RESOLUTION

Congratulating the Los Angeles Lakers for winning the 2009 National Basketball Association Championship.

- Whereas, on June 14, 2009, the Los Angeles Lakers defeated the Orlando Magic in game 5 of the 2009 National Basketball Association Championship Finals;
- Whereas that triumph marks the 15th National Basketball Association Championship for the Lakers franchise and 10th for the Los Angeles Lakers;
- Whereas that triumph also marks the fourth National Basketball Association Championship victory for the Los Angeles Lakers since 1999, earning the Los Angeles Lakers more championship victories in this decade than any other team in the league;

- Whereas Los Angeles Lakers head coach Phil Jackson, who throughout his career has epitomized discipline, teaching, and excellence, has won 10 National Basketball Association Championships as a head coach, the most championships for a head coach in National Basketball Association history, surpassing the number won by the legendary Arnold "Red" Auerbach;
- Whereas the 2009 National Basketball Association Championship marks the ninth championship for Los Angeles Lakers owner Gerald Hatten Buss;
- Whereas general manager Mitch Kupchak has built a basketball team that possesses a great balance among all-stars, veterans, and young players;
- Whereas the Los Angeles Lakers won 65 games in the 2009 regular season and defeated the Utah Jazz, the Houston Rockets, the Denver Nuggets, and the Orlando Magic in the 2009 National Basketball Association playoffs; and
- Whereas each player for the Los Angeles Lakers, including Trevor Ariza, Shannon Brown, Kobe Bryant, Andrew Bynum, Jordan Farmar, Derek Fisher, Pau Gasol, Didier Ilunga-Mbenga, Adam Morrison, Lamar Odom, Josh Powell, Sasha Vujacic, Luke Walton, and Sue Yue, contributed to what was truly a team effort during the regular season and the playoffs to bring the 2009 National Basketball Association Championship to the city of Los Angeles: Now, therefore, be it
 - 1 Resolved, That the Senate—
- 2 (1) congratulates the Los Angeles Lakers for
- winning the 2009 National Basketball Association
- 4 Championship;

1	(2) recognizes the achievements of the players,
2	coaches, and staff whose hard work and dedication
3	made winning the championship possible; and
4	(3) directs the Secretary of the Senate to trans-
5	mit a copy of this resolution to—
6	(A) the 2009 Los Angeles Lakers team
7	and their head coach Phil Jackson;
8	(B) the Los Angeles Lakers owner Gerald
9	Hatten Buss; and
10	(C) the Los Angeles Lakers general man-
11	ager Mitch Kupchack.