111TH CONGRESS 1ST SESSION

S. RES. 258

Commemorating the 100th anniversary of the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse.

IN THE SENATE OF THE UNITED STATES

SEPTEMBER 10, 2009

Mr. Kohl (for himself and Mr. Feingold) submitted the following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on the Judiciary

RESOLUTION

Commemorating the 100th anniversary of the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse.

- Whereas La Crosse is located on the western border of middle-Wisconsin, on the east side of the Mississippi River;
- Whereas the first Europeans to see the site of La Crosse were French fur traders who traveled the Mississippi River in the late 17th century;
- Whereas La Crosse was incorporated as a city in 1856;
- Whereas Thomas Morris sponsored a bill in the Wisconsin State Senate that led to the creation of the current-day University of Wisconsin-La Crosse;
- Whereas the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse was founded in 1909 as the La Crosse State Normal School for the purpose of teacher preparation;

- Whereas the philosophy of Fassett A. Cotton, the university's first president, was to train the whole person;
- Whereas "mens corpusque", Latin for "mind and body", is the motto on the university seal;
- Whereas the college changed its name to Wisconsin State College-La Crosse in 1951 when the Wisconsin State teachers colleges began awarding baccalaureate degrees in liberal arts;
- Whereas the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse offers 88 undergraduate programs in 44 disciplines and 26 graduate programs;
- Whereas the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse celebrated its 50th anniversary in 1959, the same year that presidential candidate John F. Kennedy visited the campus and spoke to the student body in Graff Main Hall auditorium;
- Whereas U.S. News & World Report ranked the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse second among midwestern public universities offering bachelor's and master's degrees;
- Whereas the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse men's athletic teams adopted the nickname "Eagles" in the fall of 1989, and the women's teams adopted that nickname a year later;
- Whereas the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse athletic teams have won 59 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division III titles in 9 different sports; and
- Whereas 2009 marks the 100th anniversary of the founding of the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse: Now, therefore, be it
 - 1 Resolved, That the Senate—

1	(1) commemorates the 100th anniversary of the
2	University of Wisconsin-La Crosse; and
3	(2) commends the university for its status as a
4	leading public university that excels in academics,
5	athletics, and quality of life for students.

C