Moran (KS)

Gohmert

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The question is on ordering the previous

This is a 5-minute vote.

The vote was taken by electronic device, and there were—yeas 242, nays 180, not voting 9, as follows:

[Roll No. 142]

YEAS-242 Grijalya. Abercrombie Olver Gutierrez Ortiz Ackerman Adler (NJ) Hall (NY) Pallone Altmire Halvorson Pascrell Pastor (AZ) Andrews Hare Harman Arcuri Payne Hastings (FL) Baca. Perlmutter Heinrich Baird Perriello Baldwin Herseth Sandlin Peters Rean Higgins Peterson Becerra Hill Pingree (ME) Himes Berkley Polis (CO) Berman Hinojosa Pomeroy Hirono Berry Price (NC) Bishop (GA) Hodes Rahall Bishop (NY) Holden Rangel Blumenauer Holt Reyes Boccieri Honda Richardson Boren Hover Rodriguez Boswell Inslee Ross Boucher Israel Rothman (NJ) Jackson (IL) Bovd Roybal-Allard Brady (PA) Jackson-Lee Ruppersberger Braley (IA) (TX) Rush Johnson (GA) Brown, Corrine Ryan (OH) Johnson, E. B. Butterfield Salazar Kagen Kanjorski Capps Sánchez, Linda Capuano T. Cardoza Kaptur Sanchez, Loretta Carnahan Kennedy Sarbanes Carney Kildee Schakowsky Carson (IN) Kilpatrick (MI) Schauer Castor (FL) ${\rm Kilroy}$ Schiff Chandler Kind Schrader Clarke Kirkpatrick (AZ) Schwartz Clav Kissell Scott (GA) Cleaver Klein (FL) Scott (VA) Clyburn Kratovil Serrano Cohen Kucinich Connolly (VA) Langevin Shea-Porter Larsen (WA) Conyers Sherman Cooper Larson (CT) Shuler Lee (CA) Costa Sires Costello Levin Skelton Lewis (GA) Courtney Slaughter Crowlev Lipinski Smith (WA) Cuellar Loebsack Snyder Lofgren, Zoe Cummings Space Dahlkemper Lowey Speier Davis (AL) Luján Spratt Davis (CA) Lvnch Stark Maffei Davis (IL) Stupak Davis (TN) Maloney Markey (CO) Sutton DeFazio Tanner DeGette Markey (MA) Tauscher DeLauro Marshall Dicks Taylor Massa Teague Dingell Matheson Thompson (CA) Doggett Matsui McCarthy (NY) Thompson (MS) Donnelly (IN) Dovle McCollum Tierney Driehaus McDermott Tonko Edwards (MD) McGovern Edwards (TX) McIntvre Towns Tsongas Ellison McMahon Van Hollen Ellsworth Meek (FL) Engel Meeks (NY) Velázquez Visclosky Melancon Eshoo Etheridge Michaud Walz Farr Miller (NC) Wasserman Schultz Fattah Miller, George Mollohan Waters Foster Moore (KS) Watson Frank (MA) Moore (WI) Watt Moran (VA) Fudge Waxman Giffords Murphy (CT) Weiner Murphy, Patrick Gonzalez Welch Gordon (TN) Murtha Wexler Nadler (NY) Wilson (OH) Gravson Green, Al Neal (MA) Woolsey Green, Gene Oberstar

NAYS-180

Yarmuth

Aderholt Austria Barrett (SC) Bachmann Akin Barrow Bartlett Alexander Bachus

Obev

Griffith

Barton (TX) Biggert Goodlatte Murphy, Tim Bilbray Granger Myrick Bilirakis Graves Neugebauer Bishop (UT) Guthrie Nunes Blackburn Hall (TX) Nye Blunt Harper Paul Hastings (WA) Boehner Paulsen Bonner Heller Pence Bono Mack Hensarling Petri Boozman Herger Pitts Brady (TX) Hoekstra Platts Hunter Poe (TX) Bright Broun (GA) Posey Price (GA) Inglis Brown (SC) Issa Brown-Waite, Jenkins Putnam Ginny Johnson (IL) Rehberg Buchanan Johnson, Sam Reichert Burgess Roe (TN) Jones Burton (IN) Jordan (OH) Rogers (AL) Buver King (IA) Rogers (KY) King (NY) Calvert Rogers (MI) Kingston Rohrabacher Camp Campbell Kirk Rooney Ros-Lehtinen Cantor Kline (MN) Cao Kosmas Roskam Capito Lamborn Rovce Ryan (WI) Carter Lance Cassidy Latham Scalise Schmidt LaTourette Castle Chaffetz Latta Schock Childers Lee (NY) Sensenbrenner Lewis (CA) Coble Sessions Coffman (CO) Linder Shadegg Cole LoBiondo Shimkus Conaway Lucas Shuster Crenshaw Luetkemeyer Simpson Davis (KY) Lummis Smith (NE) Deal (GA) Lungren, Daniel Smith (NJ) Dent Smith (TX) Diaz-Balart, L. Mack Stearns Diaz-Balart, M. Manzullo Sullivan Marchant Dreier Terry McCarthy (CA) Thompson (PA) Duncan Ehlers McCaul Thornberry Emerson McClintock Tiahrt Fallin McCotter Tiberi Flake McHenry Turner Fleming McHugh Upton Forbes McKeon Walden Fortenberry McMorris Wamp Rodgers Westmoreland Foxx Franks (AZ) Whitfield McNerney Frelinghuysen Mica Wilson (SC) Miller (FL) Gallegly Garrett (NJ) Wittman Miller (MI) Wolf Gerlach Minnick Young (AK) Gingrey (GA) Mitchell Young (FL)

NOT VOTING-

Boustany Hinchey Olson Culberson Miller, Gary Radanovich Napolitano Souder

ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SPEAKER PRO TEMPORE

The SPEAKER pro tempore (during the vote). There are 2 minutes remaining on this vote.

$\sqcap 1206$

Mr. McNERNEY changed his vote from "yea" to "nay."

So the previous question was ordered.

The result of the vote was announced as above recorded.

Mrs. NAPOLITANO. Madam Speaker, on Thursday, March 19, 2009, I was absent during rollcall vote No. 142 in order to attend an event with the President in my district. Had I been present, I would have voted "yea" on ordering the previous question to H. Res. 257-Which provides for consideration of motions to suspend the Rules.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The question is on the resolution.

The resolution was agreed to.

A motion to reconsider was laid on the table.

ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SPEAKER PRO TEMPORE

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 8 of rule XX, the Chair will postpone further proceedings today on motions to suspend the rules on which a recorded vote or the yeas and nays are ordered, or on which the vote is objected to under clause 6 of rule XX.

Record votes on postponed questions will be taken later.

TAXING EXECUTIVE BONUSES PAID BY COMPANIES RECEIVING TARP ASSISTANCE

Mr. RANGEL. Mr. Speaker, I move to suspend the rules and pass the bill (H.R. 1586) to impose an additional tax on bonuses received from certain TARP recipients.

The Clerk read the title of the bill. The text of the bill is as follows:

H.R. 1586

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the United States of America in Congress assembled.

SECTION 1. BONUSES RECEIVED FROM CERTAIN TARP RECIPIENTS.

- (a) IN GENERAL.—In the case of an employee or former employee of a covered TARP recipient, the tax imposed by chapter 1 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 for any taxable year shall not be less than the sum of-
- (1) the tax that would be determined under such chapter if the taxable income of the taxpayer for such taxable year were reduced (but not below zero) by the TARP bonus received by the taxpayer during such taxable year, plus
- (2) 90 percent of the TARP bonus received by the taxpayer during such taxable year.
- (b) TARP Bonus.—For purposes of this section
- (1) IN GENERAL.—The term "TARP bonus" means, with respect to any individual for any taxable year, the lesser of-
- (A) the aggregate disqualified bonus payments received from covered TARP recipients during such taxable year, or
 - (B) the excess of-
- (i) the adjusted gross income of the taxpayer for such taxable year, over
- (ii) \$250,000 (\$125,000 in the case of a married individual filing a separate return).
 - (2) DISQUALIFIED BONUS PAYMENT.
- (A) IN GENERAL.—The term "disqualified bonus payment" means any retention payment, incentive payment, or other bonus which is in addition to any amount payable to such individual for service performed by such individual at a regular hourly, daily, weekly, monthly, or similar periodic rate.
- (B) EXCEPTIONS.—Such term shall not include commissions, welfare or fringe benefits, or expense reimbursements.
- (C) WAIVER OR RETURN OF PAYMENTS.—Such term shall not include any amount if the employee irrevocably waives the employee's entitlement to such payment, or the employee returns such payment to the employer, before the close of the taxable year in which such payment is due. The preceding sentence shall not apply if the employee receives any benefit from the employer in connection with the waiver or return of such payment.
- (3) REIMBURSEMENT OF TAX TREATED AS TARP BONUS.—Any reimbursement by a covered TARP recipient of the tax imposed under subsection (a) shall be treated as a disqualified bonus payment to the taxpayer liable for such tax.