Salazar Van Hollen Slaughter Sánchez, Linda Smith (WA) Velázquez Т. Snyder Visclosky Sanchez, Loretta Space Walz Sarbanes Speier Wasserman Schakowsky Spratt Schultz Schauer Stark Waters Schiff Stupak Watson Schrader Sutton Watt Schwartz Tanner Waxman Tauscher Scott (GA) Weiner Scott (VA) Teague Welch Thompson (CA) Serrano Wexler Thompson (MS) Sestak Wilson (OH) Shea-Porter Tierney Woolsey Titus Sherman Shimkus Tonko Wu Yarmuth Sires Towns Skelton Tsongas

NAYS-184 Gallegly Moran (KS) Aderholt Garrett (NJ) Akin Murphy (NY) Murphy, Tim Alexander Gingrey (GA) Austria Gohmert Myrick Bachmann Goodlatte Neugebauer Bachus Granger Nunes Barrett (SC) Graves Nye Bartlett Guthrie Olson Barton (TX) Hall (TX) Paul Biggert Harper Paulsen Hastings (WA) Bilbray Pence Heller Hensarling Bilirakis Perriello Bishop (UT) Petri Blackburn Herger Pitts Blunt Hill Platts Hoekstra Boehner Poe (TX) Bonner Hunter Posey Price (GA) Bono Mack Inglis Boozman Issa Boustany Jenkins Putnam Radanovich Johnson (IL) Johnson, Sam Brady (TX) Rehberg Bright Roe (TN) Broun (GA) Jones Jordan (OH) Rogers (AL) Brown (SC) Brown-Waite, Rogers (KY) King (IA) Ginny King (NY) Rogers (MI) Buchanan Kingston Rohrabacher Burgess Kirk Roonev Burton (IN) Kirkpatrick (AZ) Ros-Lehtinen Buver Kline (MN) Roskam Calvert Lamborn Rovce Camp Lance Ryan (WI) Campbell Latham Scalise LaTourette Cantor Schmidt Cao Latta Schock Lee (NY) Capito Sensenbrenner Lewis (CA) Carter Sessions Cassidy Linder Shadegg LoBiondo Castle Shuler Chaffetz Lucas Shuster Childers Luetkemever Simpson Lummis Coble Smith (NE) Lungren, Daniel Coffman (CO) Smith (NJ) Cole \mathbf{E} Smith (TX) Conaway Mack Souder Crenshaw Manzullo Stearns Culberson Marchant Taylor McCarthy (CA) Davis (KY) Terry Deal (GA) McCaul Thompson (PA) McClintock Dent Thornberry Diaz-Balart, L. McCotter Tiberi Diaz-Balart, M. McHenry Turner Dreier McHugh Upton Duncan McKeon Walden Ehlers McMorris Wamp Emerson Rodgers Westmoreland Fallin Melancon Fleming Mica Whitfield Wilson (SC) Miller (FL) Forbes Fortenberry Wittman Miller (MI) Miller, Gary Wolf Foxx Franks (AZ) Young (AK) Minnick Frelinghuysen Mitchell Young (FL)

NOT VOTING-11

 $\begin{array}{lll} Flake & Kosmas & Reichert \\ Gerlach & Lewis (GA) & Sullivan \\ Hastings (FL) & Miller, George & Tiahrt \\ Kennedy & Polis (CO) & \end{array}$

ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SPEAKER PRO TEMPORE
The SPEAKER pro tempore (during the vote). There are 2 minutes remaining in this vote.

□ 1750

So the resolution was agreed to.

The result of the vote was announced as above recorded.

A motion to reconsider was laid on the table.

RECESS

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 12(a) of rule I, the Chair declares the House in recess subject to the call of the Chair.

Accordingly (at 5 o'clock and 50 minutes p.m.), the House stood in recess subject to the call of the Chair.

\square 2100

AFTER RECESS

The recess having expired, the House was called to order by the Speaker protempore (Ms. KOSMAS) at 9 p.m.

RESIGNATION AS MEMBER AND APPOINTMENT OF MEMBER TO PERMANENT SELECT COMMITTEE ON INTELLIGENCE

The SPEAKER pro tempore laid before the House the following resignation as a member of the Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence:

CONGRESS OF THE UNITED STATES, HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES, Washington, DC, June 23, 2009.

Hon. NANCY PELOSI,

Speaker of the House, House of Representatives, U.S. Capitol, Washington, DC.

DEAR SPEAKER PELOSI: This letter serves as my intent to resign from the House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence, effective today.

Sincerely.

JOHN KLINE, Member of Congress.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Without objection, the resignation is accepted.

There was no objection.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 11 of rule X, clause 11 of rule I, and the order of the House of January 6, 2009, the Chair announces the Speaker's appointment of the following Member of the House to the Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence to fill the existing vacancy thereon:

Mr. KING, New York

APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO CANADA-UNITED STATES INTER-PARLIAMENTARY GROUP

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to 22 U.S.C. 276d, clause 10 of rule I, and the order of the House of January 6, 2009, the Chair announces the Speaker's appointment of the following Members of the House to the Canada-United States Interparliamentary Group:

Mr. OBERSTAR, Minnesota, Chairman Mr. MEEKS, New York, Vice Chair-

Ms. SLAUGHTER, New York

Mr. STUPAK, Michigan

Ms. KILPATRICK, Michigan

Mr. Hodes, New Hampshire

Mr. WELCH, Vermont

Mr. Manzullo, Illinois Mr. Stearns, Florida Mr. Brown, South Carolina Mrs. Miller. Michigan

APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO BRITISH-AMERICAN INTER-PARLIAMENTARY GROUP

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to 22 U.S.C. 276d, clause 10 of rule I, and the order of the House of January 6, 2009, the Chair announces the Speaker's appointment of the following Members of the House to the British-American Interparliamentary Group:

Mr. CHANDLER, Kentucky, Chairman Mr. SIRES, New Jersey, Vice Chairman

Mr. CLYBURN, South Carolina

Mr. ETHERIDGE, North Carolina

Mrs. Davis, California

Mr. BISHOP, New York

Mr. MILLER, North Carolina

Mr. Petri, Wisconsin

Mr. BOOZMAN, Arkansas Mr. Crenshaw, Florida

Mr. CRENSHAW, Florida

Mr. Aderholt, Alabama

Mr. LATTA, Ohio

GENERAL LEAVE

Mr. DICKS. Madam Speaker, I ask unanimous consent that all Members have 5 legislative days in which to revise and extend their remarks and include extraneous material on H.R. 2996, and that I may include tabular material on the same.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Is there objection to the request of the gentleman from Washington?

There was no objection.

DEPARTMENT OF THE INTERIOR, ENVIRONMENT, AND RELATED AGENCIES APPROPRIATIONS ACT. 2010

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to House Resolution 578 and rule XVIII, the Chair declares the House in the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union for the consideration of the bill, H.R. 2996.

\square 2105

IN THE COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE

Accordingly, the House resolved itself into the Committee of the Whole House on the State of the Union for the consideration of the bill (H.R. 2996) making appropriations for the Department of the Interior, environment, and related agencies for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2010, and for other purposes, with Mr. CONNOLLY of Virginia in the chair.

The Clerk read the title of the bill.

The CHAIR. Pursuant to the rule, the bill is considered read the first time.

The gentleman from Washington (Mr. DICKS) and the gentleman from Idaho (Mr. SIMPSON) each will control 30 minutes.

The Chair recognizes the gentleman from Washington.