Hodes

Carney

Mr. TAYLOR. Mr. Speaker, I would like to ask unanimous consent to speak out of order.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Without objection, the gentleman from Mississippi is recognized.

There was no objection.

Mr. TAYLOR. Mr. Speaker, the rule before us. on a nearly trillion-dollar bill between spending and tax cuts, apparently does not allow for any time for the opponents of this measure. If you look at page 2, line 4, it says this resolution allows for 3 hours equally divided and controlled between the chair and the ranking minority member of the Committee on Ways and Means.

It is my understanding that both of those gentlemen are for the bill. What guarantee do those of us who oppose increasing the deficit by a trillion dollars have of being able to voice our objections if this rule passes?

If Mr. McGovern would like to answer that question. I would welcome it.

Mr. McGOVERN. My understanding is that there is an informal agreement that there will be time designated for those in opposition; at least an hour.

Mr. TAYLOR. Mr. Speaker, with that in mind, there is no guarantee for those of us who are opposed to raising the national debt by \$1 trillion.

Mr. Speaker, I yield back the balance of my time.

MOTION TO ADJOURN

Mr. TAYLOR. Mr. Speaker, I move that the House do now adjourn.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. question is on the motion to adjourn.

The question was taken; and the Speaker pro tempore announced that the noes appeared to have it.

Mr. TAYLOR. Mr. Speaker, on that I demand the yeas and navs.

The yeas and nays were ordered.

The vote was taken by electronic device, and there were—yeas 14, nays 385, answered "present" 1, not voting 33, as follows:

[Roll No. 639] YEAS-14

Bright Gohmert Pascrell Hinchev Cao Taylor Dahlkemper Hoekstra Tiahrt. Kirkpatrick (AZ) Visclosky Garrett (N.I) Lamborn

	NAYS—385	
Ackerman	Berman	Brady (PA)
Aderholt	Biggert	Brady (TX)
Adler (NJ)	Bilbray	Braley (IA)
Akin	Bilirakis	Broun (GA)
Alexander	Bishop (GA)	Brown, Corrine
Altmire	Bishop (NY)	Brown-Waite,
Andrews	Bishop (UT)	Ginny
Arcuri	Blackburn	Buchanan
Austria	Blumenauer	Burgess
Baca	Blunt	Burton (IN)
Bachmann	Boccieri	Butterfield
Bachus	Boehner	Buyer
Baldwin	Bonner	Calvert
Barrett (SC)	Bono Mack	Camp
Barrow	Boozman	Campbell
Bartlett	Boren	Cantor
Barton (TX)	Boswell	Capito
Bean	Boucher	Capps
Becerra	Boustany	Capuano
Berkley	Boyd	Carnahan

Hirono

Napolitano Carson (IN) Holden Neal (MA) Carter Holt Neugebauer Cassidy Honda Nunes Castle Hover Nve Castor (FL) Oberstar Hunter Chaffetz Inglis Obey Childers Inslee Olson Chu Israel Olver Clarke Ortiz Issa Jackson (IL) Clav Owens Cleaver Jackson Lee Pallone Clyburn (TX) Pastor (AZ) Coble Jenkins Paul Coffman (CO) Johnson (GA) Paulsen Johnson (IL) Cole Payne Johnson, E. B. Conaway Pence Connolly (VA) Johnson, Sam Perlmutter Cooper Jones Perriello Jordan (OH) Costa Peters Costello Kagen Peterson Kanjorski Courtney Petri Crenshaw Kaptur Pingree (ME) Critz Kennedy Pitts Poe (TX) Crowley Kildee Kilpatrick (MI) Cuellar Polis (CO) Culberson Kilroy Posev Price (GA) Cummings Kind Price (NC) Davis (CA) King (IA) Davis (IL) King (NY) Putnam Kingston Davis (KY) Quigley Radanovich DeFazio Kissell Klein (FL) DeGette Rahall DeLauro Kosmas Rangel Kratovil Dent Reed Deutch Kucinich Rehberg Diaz-Balart, L. Reichert Lance Langevin Diaz-Balart, M. Reyes Dicks Larsen (WA) Richardson Dingell Larson (CT) Rodriguez Diou Latham Roe (TN) Doggett LaTourette Rogers (AL) Donnelly (IN) Latta Rogers (KY) Lee (CA) Rogers (MI) Doyle Lee (NY) Rohrabacher Dreier Driehaus Levin Rooney Lewis (CA) Ros-Lehtinen Duncan Edwards (MD) Lewis (GA) Roskam Edwards (TX) Lipinski Ross Ellison LoBiondo Rothman (NJ) Roybal-Allard Emerson Loebsack Engel Lofgren, Zoe Royce Ruppersberger Eshoo Lowey Etheridge Lucas Ryan (OH) Fallin Luetkemeyer Ryan (WI) Luján Farr Fattah Lummis Salazar Filner Lungren, Daniel Sánchez Linda Fleming T. Ε. Lynch Sanchez, Loretta Forbes Fortenberry Mack Scalise Manzullo Schakowsky Foxx Schauer Frank (MA) Marshall Franks (AZ) Matheson Schiff Frelinghuysen Matsui Schmidt McCarthy (CA) Schock Fudge Gallegly McCaul Schrader Garamendi McClintock Schwartz Gerlach McCollum Scott (GA) McCotter Scott (VA) Giffords Gonzalez McDermott Sensenbrenner Goodlatte McGovern Serrano Gordon (TN) McHenry Sessions Graves (GA) McIntyre Sestak Graves (MO) McKeon Shadegg McMahon Shea-Porter Gravson Green, Al McNerney Sherman Meeks (NY) Green, Gene Shimkus Griffith Melancon Shuler Guthrie Mica Shuster Gutierrez Michaud Simpson Hall (NY) Miller (FL) Sires Hall (TX) Miller (MI) Slaughter Smith (NE) Halvorson Miller (NC) Miller, Gary Smith (NJ) Hare Harman Miller, George Smith (TX) Harper Minnick Smith (WA) Hastings (FL) Mitchell Snyder Hastings (WA) Mollohan Space Moore (KS) Heinrich Speier Spratt Heller Moore (WI) Hensarling Moran (KS) Stark Herger Moran (VA) Stearns Herseth Sandlin Murphy (CT) Stupak Higgins Murphy (NY) Stutzman Hill Murphy, Patrick Sullivan Murphy, Tim Himes Sutton Hinojosa Myrick Tanner Nadler (NY) Teague

Weiner Upton Thompson (CA) Van Hollen Welch Thompson (MS) Velázquez Westmoreland Thompson (PA) Walden Wilson (OH) Thornberry Walz Wilson (SC) Tiberi Wasserman Wittman Tiernev Schultz Wolf Waters Titus Woolsey Tonko Watson Wu Yarmuth Towns Watt Tsongas Waxman Young (AK) ANSWERED "PRESENT"-1 Malonev NOT VOTING-33 McMorris Baird Foster Berry Gingrev (GA) Rodgers Brown (SC) Meek (FL) Granger Cardoza

Chandler

Cohen

Convers

Davis (AL)

Davis (TN)

Delahunt

Ellsworth

Ehlers

Grijalva Platts Kline (MN) Pomeroy Linder Sarbanes Maffei Skelton Marchant Turner Markey (CO) Wamp Whitfield Markey (MA) McCarthy (NY) Young (FL)

\square 1217

Messrs. COFFMAN of Colorado, LI-RODRIGUEZ. PINSKI HEINRICH MARSHALL, HOLT, ORTIZ, GEORGE MILLER of California, MORAN of Virginia and Ms. SHEA-PORTER changed their vote from "yea" to "nay."

Mr. LAMBORN changed his vote from "nay" to "yea."

So the motion was rejected.

The result of the vote was announced as above recorded.

PROVIDING FOR CONSIDERATION SENATE AMENDMENT TO HOUSE AMENDMENT TO SENATE AMENDMENT TO H.R. 4853, TAX RELIEF, UNEMPLOYMENT INSUR-ANCE REAUTHORIZATION, JOB CREATION ACT OF 2010

The SPEAKER pro tempore CUELLAR). The gentleman from Massachusetts has 11 minutes remaining and the gentleman from California has 9½ minutes remaining.

The Chair recognizes the gentleman from Massachusetts.

Mr. McGOVERN. Mr. Speaker, I yield 1½ minutes to the gentleman from Massachusetts (Mr. Lynch).

Mr. LYNCH. I thank the gentleman for vielding.

Mr. Speaker, just to remind Members where we are in this debate, we are about to debate and take up a measure that would, number one, preserve the tax cuts for the wealthiest 2 percent of Americans while we have a \$1.3 trillion deficit in the current year. We would also, if this bill were to pass, create a tax exemption for estates of up to \$10 million. That is for 6,600 individuals, which brings to mind, I will paraphrase Winston Churchill who said, it has been some time since so many have been asked to do so much for so few-and with no legitimate reason, I might add.

We are also talking about raiding the Social Security trust fund for the next 2 years, a total of \$111 billion, and increasing the deficit by about \$1 trillion, which will require us to exceed the national debt limit. So in April or