[Pages S552-S553]
From the Congressional Record Online through the Government Publishing Office [www.gpo.gov]


  Mrs. MURRAY (for herself and Ms. Cantwell) submitted the following 
resolution; which was considered and agreed to:

[[Page S553]]

                               S. Res. 45

       Whereas on January 7, 2011, the Eastern Washington 
     University football team (referred to in this preamble as the 
     ``Eagles'') defeated the University of Delaware Blue Hens by 
     a score of 20 to 19, to win the 2010 National Collegiate 
     Athletic Association Division 1 Football Championship 
     Subdivision title;
       Whereas the Eagles were down for most of the championship 
     game, trailing 0 to 19 until late in the third quarter;
       Whereas, it was not until 1 minute and 48 seconds remained 
     in the third quarter of the championship game that 
     quarterback Bo Levi Mitchell threw a 22-yard touchdown pass 
     to Brandon Kaufman;
       Whereas Mitchell then threw another touchdown to Nicholas 
     Edwards with 8 minutes and 16 seconds left in the fourth 
       Whereas Mitchell threw a third touchdown, again to Kaufman, 
     with 2 minutes and 47 seconds left in the game, clinching a 
     win in the Eagles' first trip to the National Collegiate 
     Athletic Association Division 1 Football Championship 
     Subdivision game;
       Whereas the Eagles began the 2010 season in the newly 
     renovated and dedicated Roos Field, named after Eastern 
     Washington University alumnus and offensive lineman Michael 
     Roos of the National Football League's Tennessee Titans;
       Whereas Roos Field is the only Division 1 college football 
     stadium to feature a red playing surface, leading Roos Field 
     to be aptly nicknamed ``The Inferno'';
       Whereas head coach Beau Baldwin was named the Coach of the 
     Year by College Sporting News;
       Whereas the 2010 Buck Buchanan Award, honoring the most 
     outstanding defensive player in the Division I Football 
     Championship Subdivision, was awarded to Eagles linebacker 
     J.C. Sherritt;
       Whereas Big Sky Conference honors were awarded to Eagles 
     running back Taiwan Jones, who was named Offensive Player of 
     the Year, and Eagles linebacker J.C. Sherritt, who was named 
     Defensive Player of the Year;
       Whereas the Eagles clinched a share of the 2010 Big Sky 
     Conference title, with a conference record of 7-1 and an 
     overall season record of 13-2, and finished the 2010 season 
     with an 11-game win streak; and
       Whereas the Eagles enjoyed widespread support from their 
     dedicated and spirited fans, as well as the entire Eastern 
     Washington University community: Now, therefore, be it
       Resolved, That the Senate--
       (1) congratulates the Eastern Washington University 
     football team for winning the National Collegiate Athletic 
     Association Division 1 Football Championship Subdivision 
       (2) recognizes the hard work and dedication of the players, 
     head coach Beau Baldwin, and the assistant coaches and 
     support personnel who all played critical roles in helping 
     the Eastern Washington University Eagles win the Subdivision 
     title; and
       (3) respectfully requests the Secretary of the Senate to 
     transmit an enrolled copy of the resolution to--
       (A) the President of Eastern Washington University, Dr. 
     Rodolfo Arevalo;
       (B) the Athletic Director of Eastern Washington University, 
     Bill Chaves; and
       (C) the Head Coach of the Eastern Washington University 
     football team, Beau Baldwin.