Tipton

Turner (NY)

escrowing for commercial properties, and escrowing is traditionally only for residential properties.

S. 3677 would insert the word "residential" before "improved real estate" to remove the ambiguity. Adding "residential" to "improved real estate" makes clear the application of this provision to loans secured by residences designed for the occupancy of one to four families and does not impose new escrow obligations on commercial and multifamily real estate servicers.

It recognizes the loan servicing practices of commercial and multifamily real estate borrowers as distinct from those of residential borrowers, thus exempting these loans. It also ensures consistency with other financial institution regulations.

This bill is supported by the American Bankers Association, including its members of the American Bankers Insurance Association, or ABIA. I would like to insert their letter of support for the RECORD.

Without this bill, the ABIA states that "banks will face expensive compliance and training costs to implement this unintended provision." That cost inevitably will be passed on to businesses with commercial loans. S. 3677 will correct this unintended consequence, and I urge my colleagues to support this technical corrections bill.

The bill was ordered to be read a third time, was read the third time, and passed, and a motion to reconsider was laid on the table.

RECESS

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 12(a) of rule I, the Chair declares the House in recess subject to the call of the Chair.

Accordingly (at 1 o'clock and 23 minutes p.m.), the House stood in recess.

□ 1830

AFTER RECESS

The recess having expired, the House was called to order by the Speaker protempore (Mr. DOLD) at 6 o'clock and 30 minutes p.m.

ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SPEAKER PRO TEMPORE

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 8 of rule XX, proceedings will resume on motions to suspend the rules previously postponed.

Votes will be taken in the following order:

H.R. 6726, by the yeas and nays;

The Senate amendment to H.R. 443, de novo;

The Senate amendment to H.R. 4212, de novo.

The first electronic vote will be conducted as a 15-minute vote. Remaining electronic votes will be conducted as 5-minute votes.

CONGRESSIONAL PAY FREEZE AND FISCAL RESPONSIBILITY ACT

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The unfinished business is the vote on the mo-

tion to suspend the rules and pass the bill (H.R. 6726) to prevent the 2013 pay adjustment for Members of Congress and persons holding other offices or positions in the Federal Government from being made, on which the yeas and nays were ordered.

The Clerk read the title of the bill.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The question is on the motion offered by the gentleman from California (Mr. ISSA) that the House suspend the rules and pass the bill.

The vote was taken by electronic device, and there were—yeas 287, nays 129, not voting 15, as follows:

[Roll No. 655]

YEAS-287

Duncan (TN) Lance Aderholt Ellmers Landry Langevin Akin Emerson Alexander Eshoo Lankford Latham LaTourette Altmire Farenthold Amash Fincher Fitzpatrick Amodei Latta Flake Fleischmann Andrews Lipinski LoBiondo Austria Bachmann Fleming Loebsack Bachus Flores Lofgren, Zoe Baldwin Forbes Long Barber Fortenberry Lowey Barletta Foxx Lucas Franks (AZ) Luetkemeyer Barrow Barton (TX) Frelinghuysen Luján Bass (NH) Gallegly Lummis Garamendi Lungren, Daniel Benishek Berg Gardner E. Biggert Garrett Maloney Gerlach Manzullo Bilbray Bilirakis Gibbs Marchant Bishop (NY) Gibson Marino Bishop (UT) Gingrey (GA) Massie Black Gohmert Matheson Blackburn Goodlatte McCarthy (CA) Bonner Gosar McClintock Boren Gowdy McHenry Boswell Granger Graves (GA) Boustany McIntyre Brady (TX) Braley (IA) Graves (MO) McKeon Griffin (AR) McKinley Brooks Griffith (VA) McMorris Broun (GA) Grimm Rodgers Buchanan Guinta McNerney Guthrie Meehan Bucshon Buerkle Hahn Mica. Michaud Hall Burgess Calvert Hanna Miller (FL) Camp Harper Miller (MI) Campbell Harris Miller, Gary Mulvaney Murphy (PA) Canseco Hartzler Hastings (WA) Cantor Capito Hayworth Myrick Heck Neugebauer Capps Heinrich Carnahan Noem Carney Hensarling Nugent Carter Herger Nunes Herrera Beutler Nunnelee Cassidy Chabot Higgins Olson Chaffetz Hochul Owens Palazzo Chandler Huelskamp Cicilline Huizenga (MI) Paulsen Coble Hultgren Pearce Coffman (CO) Pence Hunter Cole Hurt Peterson Conaway Israel Petri Cooper Pitts Issa Jenkins Cravaack Platts Johnson (IL) Crawford Poe (TX) Crenshaw Johnson (OH) Polis Cuellar Johnson, Sam Pompeo Culberson Jones Posev Price (GA) DeFazio Jordan DelBene Keating Quayle Denham Kellv Quigley Dent Kind Rahall DesJarlais King (IA) Rangel Deutch King (NY) Reed Diaz-Balart Kingston Rehberg Dold Kinzinger (IL) Reichert Donnelly (IN) Kissell Renacci Dreier Kline Ribble Duffv Labrador Richardson

Duncan (SC)

Lamborn

Rigell

Roby Roe (TN) Rogers (AL) Rogers (KY) Rogers (MI) Rohrabacher Rokita Rooney Ros-Lehtinen Roskam Ross (AR) Ross (FL) Royce Runvan Ruppersberger Ryan (OH) Terry Rvan (WI) Scalise Schilling Schmidt Schock

Schwartz Schweikert Scott (SC) Scott, Austin Sensenbrenner Sessions Shimkus Shuster Simpson Smith (NE) Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Southerland Stearns Stivers Stutzman Sullivan Thompson (PA) Thornberry Tiberi Tierney NAYS-129

Turner (OH) Upton Walberg Walden Walsh (IL) Walz (MN) Wasserman Schultz Webster West Westmoreland Whitfield Wilson (SC) Womack Woodall Yoder Young (AK) Young (FL) Young (IN)

Ackerman Fudge Pelosi Baca Gonzalez Perlmutter Bass (CA) Green, Al Green, Gene Peters Becerra Pingree (ME) Gutierrez Berkley Price (NC) Berman Hanabusa. Reves Bishop (GA) Hastings (FL) Richmond Blumenauer Himes Rothman (NJ) Bonamici Hinchey Roybal-Allard Brady (PA) Hinojosa Rush Brown (FL) Hirono Sánchez, Linda Butterfield Holden Capuano Holt Sanchez, Loretta Carson (IN) Honda Sarbanes Castor (FL) Hover Schakowsky Chu Jackson Lee Schiff Clarke (MI) (TX) Schrader Johnson (GA) Clarke (NY) Scott (VA) Johnson, E. B. Clay Scott, David Cleaver Kaptur Serrano Clyburn Kildee Sewell Kucinich Cohen Sherman Connolly (VA) Larsen (WA) Shuler Larson (CT) Convers Sires Costa Lee (CA) Slaughter Costello Levin Smith (WA) Courtney Lynch Speier CritzMarkey Thompson (CA) Crowley Matsui Cummings McDermott Thompson (MS) Tonko Curson (MI) McGovern Towns Davis (CA) Meeks Davis (IL) Miller (NC) Tsongas Van Hollen DeGette Moore Velázquez DeLauro Moran Visclosky Dicks Murphy (CT) Dingell Nadler Waters Napolitano Watt Doggett Doyle Waxman Neal Edwards Olver Welch Wilson (FL) Ellison Pallone Wittman Engel Pascrell Farr Pastor (AZ) Wolf Fattah Yarmuth Payne

NOT VOTING—15

 Bartlett
 Lewis (CA)
 Miller, George

 Bono Mack
 Lewis (GA)
 Paul

 Burton (IN)
 Mack
 Stark

 Frank (MA)
 McCarthy (NY)
 Sutton

 Grijalva
 McCollum
 Woolsey

\square 1854

Ms. CLARKE of New York, Ms. BERKLEY, Ms. WATERS, Ms. BROWN of Florida, Ms. KAPTUR, Messrs. GENE GREEN of Texas, NEAL, TOWNS, SCHIFF, MARKEY, SMITH of Washington, and AL GREEN of Texas changed their vote from "yea" to "nay."

Ms. WASSERMAN SCHULTZ and Mr. CARNAHAN changed their vote from "nay" to "yea."

So (two-thirds being in the affirmative) the rules were suspended and the bill was passed.

The result of the vote was announced as above recorded.

A motion to reconsider was laid on the table.