escrowing for commercial properties, and escrowing is traditionally only for residential properties.

S. 3677 would insert the word "residential" before "improved real estate" to remove the ambiguity. Adding "residential" to "improved real estate" makes clear the application of this provision to loans secured by residences designed for the occupancy of one to four families and does not impose new escrow obligations on commercial and multifamily real estate servicers

It recognizes the loan servicing practices of commercial and multifamily real estate borrowers as distinct from those of residential borrowers, thus exempting these loans. It also ensures consistency with other financial institution regulations.

This bill is supported by the American Bankers Association, including its members of the American Bankers Insurance Association, or ABIA. I would like to insert their letter of support for the RECORD.

Without this bill, the ABIA states that "banks will face expensive compliance and training costs to implement this unintended provision. That cost inevitably will be passed on to businesses with commercial loans. S. 3677 will correct this unintended consequence, and I urge my colleagues to support this technical corrections bill.

The bill was ordered to be read a third time, was read the third time, and passed, and a motion to reconsider was laid on the table.

RECESS

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 12(a) of rule I, the Chair declares the House in recess subject to the call of the Chair.

Accordingly (at 1 o'clock and 23 minutes p.m.), the House stood in recess.

\Box 1830

AFTER RECESS

The recess having expired, the House was called to order by the Speaker pro tempore (Mr. DOLD) at 6 o'clock and 30 minutes p.m.

ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SPEAKER PRO TEMPORE

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 8 of rule XX, proceedings will resume on motions to suspend the rules previously postponed.

Votes will be taken in the following order:

H.R. 6726, by the yeas and nays;

The Senate amendment to H.R. 443, de novo;

The Senate amendment to H.R. 4212, de novo.

The first electronic vote will be conducted as a 15-minute vote. Remaining electronic votes will be conducted as 5minute votes.

CONGRESSIONAL PAY FREEZE AND FISCAL RESPONSIBILITY ACT

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The unfinished business is the vote on the mo-

tion to suspend the rules and pass the bill (H.R. 6726) to prevent the 2013 pay adjustment for Members of Congress and persons holding other offices or positions in the Federal Government from being made, on which the yeas and nays were ordered.

The Clerk read the title of the bill.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The question is on the motion offered by the gentleman from California (Mr. ISSA) that the House suspend the rules and pass the bill.

The vote was taken by electronic device, and there were—yeas 287, nays 129, not voting 15, as follows:

[Roll No. 655]

Lance

Latta

Long

Lowey

Lucas

Luján

E.

Lummis

Malonev

Manzullo

Marchant

Matheson

McClintock

Marino

Massie

McCaul

McHenry

McIntyre

McKeon

McKinley

McMorris

McNerney

Meehan

Michaud

Myrick

Noem

Nugent

Nunnelee

Nunes

Olson

Owens

Palazzo

Paulsen

Pearce

Pence

Petri

Pitts

Platts

Polis

Posev

Quayle

Quiglev

Rahall

Rangel

Rehberg

Reichert

Renacci

Richardson

Ribble

Rigell

Reed

Poe (TX)

Pompeo

Price (GA)

Peterson

Miller (FL)

Miller (MI)

Miller, Gary

Neugebauer

Mica

Rodgers

Lipinski

LoBiondo

Loebsack

Landry

Langevin

Lankford

Latham LaTourette

Adams

Akin

Aderholt

Altmire

Amash

Amodei

Andrews

Austria

Bachus

Barber

Baldwin

Barletta

Barrow

Bass (NH)

Benishek

Biggert

Bilbray

Black

Bonner

Boswell

Brooks

Buchanan

Bucshon

Buerkle

Burgess

Calvert

Campbell

Canseco

Cantor

Capito

Capps

Carney

Cassidv

Chabot

Chaffetz

Chandler

Cicilline

Conaway

Cravaack

Crawford

Crenshaw

Culberson

Cuellar

DeFazio

DelBene

Denham

Deutch

Dent

Dold

Dreier

Duffy

Cooper

Coble

Cole

Carter

Carnahan

Camp

Boustany

Boren

Bilirakis

Berg

YEAS-287 Duncan (TN) Ellmers Emerson Alexander Eshoo Farenthold Fincher Fitzpatrick Flake Fleischmann Bachmann Fleming Flores Forbes Fortenberry Foxx Franks (AZ) Barton (TX) Frelinghuysen Gallegly Garamendi Gardner Garrett Gerlach Gibbs Bishop (NY) Gibson Bishop (UT) Gingrey (GA) Gohmert Blackburn Goodlatte Gosar Gowdy Granger Graves (GA) Brady (TX) Braley (IA) Graves (MO) Griffin (AR) Griffith (VA) Broun (GA) Grimm Guinta Guthrie Hahn Hall Hanna Harper Harris Hartzler Hastings (WA) Hayworth Heck Heinrich Hensarling Herger Herrera Beutler Higgins Hochul Huelskamp Huizenga (MI) Hultgren Coffman (CO) Hunter Hurt Israel Issa Jenkins Johnson (IL) Johnson (OH) Johnson, Sam Jones Jordan Keating Kellv Kind DesJarlais King (IA) King (NY) Diaz-Balart Kingston Kinzinger (IL) Donnelly (IN) Kissell Kline Labrador Duncan (SC) Lamborn

Rvan (WI) Scalise Schilling Schmidt Schock Ackerman Baca Bass (CA) Becerra Berkley Berman Bonamici Lofgren, Zoe Capuano Luetkemeyer Chu Lungren, Daniel Clay Cleaver Clyburn Cohen Convers Costa Costello McCarthy (CA) Courtney Critz Crowley Davis (IL) DeGette DeLauro Dicks Dingell Doggett Doyle Edwards Ellison Engel Mulvaney Murphy (PA) Farr Fattah

Roby Roe (TN) Schweikert Scott (SC) Rogers (AL) Scott, Austin Rogers (KY) Sensenbrenner Rogers (MI) Sessions Rohrabacher Shimkus Rokita Shuster Rooney Simpson Ros-Lehtinen Smith (NE) Roskam Smith (NJ) Ross (AR) Smith (TX) Ross (FL) Southerland Royce Stearns Runvan Stivers Ruppersberger Stutzman Ryan (OH) Sullivan Terry Thompson (PA) Thornberry Tiberi Tierney NAYS-129 Fudge

Schwartz

Gonzalez

Green, Al Green, Gene

Gutierrez

Hanabusa

Himes

Hinchev

Hinojosa

Hirono

Holden

Holt

Honda

Hover

(TX)

Kaptur

Kucinich

Lee (CA)

Levin

Lynch

Markey

Matsui

Meeks

Moore

Moran

Nadler

Neal

Olver

Pallone

Payne

Mack

Pascrell

Pastor (AZ)

Lewis (CA)

Lewis (GA)

McCollum

McDermott

McGovern

Miller (NC)

Murphy (CT)

Napolitano

Larsen (WA)

Larson (CT)

Kildee

Jackson Lee

Johnson (GA)

Johnson, E. B.

Hastings (FL)

Rivera

Bishop (GA) Blumenauer Brady (PA) Brown (FL) Butterfield Carson (IN) Castor (FL) Clarke (MI) Clarke (NY) Connolly (VA) Cummings Curson (MI) Davis (CA)

Bartlett Bono Mack Burton (IN) Frank (MA) Grijalva

NOT VOTING-_15 Miller, George Paul Stark McCarthy (NY) Sutton Woolsey

□ 1854

CLARKE of New York, Ms. Ms BERKLEY, Ms. WATERS, Ms. BROWN of Florida, Ms. KAPTUR, Messrs. GENE GREEN of Texas, NEAL. TOWNS, SCHIFF, MARKEY, SMITH of Washington, and AL GREEN of Texas "yea" changed their vote from to "nay."

Ms. WASSERMAN SCHULTZ and Mr. CARNAHAN changed their vote from "nay" to "yea."

So (two-thirds being in the affirmative) the rules were suspended and the bill was passed.

The result of the vote was announced as above recorded.

A motion to reconsider was laid on the table.

H7529

Tipton

Turner (NY)

Turner (OH)

Upton Walberg Walden Walsh (IL) Walz (MN) Wasserman Schultz Webster West Westmoreland Whitfield Wilson (SC) Womack Woodall Yoder Young (AK) Young (FL) Young (IN) Pelosi Perlmutter Peters Pingree (ME) Price (NC) Reves Richmond Rothman (NJ) Roybal-Allard Rush Sánchez, Linda т. Sanchez, Loretta Sarbanes Schakowsky Schiff Schrader Scott (VA) Scott, David Serrano Sewell Sherman Shuler Sires Slaughter Smith (WA) Speier Thompson (CA) Thompson (MS) Tonko Towns Tsongas Van Hollen Velázquez Visclosky Waters Watt Waxman Welch Wilson (FL) Wittman Wolf Yarmuth