this community can trace its roots to the brave Pilgrims who came to the New World to secure freedom. Its first permanent settler was Stephen Smith, a soldier of the American Revolution who fought for freedom. When the town was incorporated in 1813, American independence was again under attack, and the town's name—first Smithtown, then Beaverhill Plantation—became Freedom.

Decades later, when the Civil War threatened to divide our Nation and condemn millions to continued slavery, many young men from the town enlisted in the Union Army to fight for the freedom of all. One of them, Daniel Franklin Davis, became the 37th governor of our great State of Maine.

And when the town's oldest citizen, Roy Ward, is recognized at the bicentennial celebration on July 5th, his friends and neighbors will honor his courageous Navy service during World War II in freedom's cause.

Through the years, the people who built this community demonstrated the qualities that make freedom possible—determination, energy, and self-reliance. They harnessed the waters of Sandy Stream to power mills for grain, lumber, and textiles. They turned the untilled soil into productive farms. In 1836, they established Freedom Academy, the first secondary school in their region and a milestone in the history of public education in Maine.

The energy that so many have devoted to this year's exciting bicentennial celebration is but one example of the spirit that has been nurtured there for two centuries. The restoration of such landmarks as the Stephen Smith gravesite and the Mill at Freedom Falls, and the dedication of the gazebo at Freedom Academy all demonstrate widespread commitment by the people of Freedom.

Thanks to those who came before, Freedom has a wonderful history. Thanks to those who are there today, it has a bright future.

ADDITIONAL STATEMENTS

RECOGNIZING THE WESTERN RESEARCH INSTITUTE

• Mr. ENZI. Mr. President, today I wish to offer my sincere congratulations to the Western Research Institute in Laramie, WY. On July 15 to 17, 2013, the Western Research Institute will be hosting the 50th Annual Petersen Asphalt Research Conference. This highly acclaimed international forum promotes understanding of how asphalt chemistry, physical properties and interactions affect the performance of asphalt applications throughout their life cycle.

In 1963, Dr. J. Claine Petersen organized the first asphalt research conference, emphasizing how the chemical and physical properties of asphalt affect its performance as pavement over time. In 1990, the name of the con-

ference was changed to honor Dr. Petersen's efforts. Dr. Petersen remains an active and vital participant in this event each year.

Partnering with a pavement performance prediction—P3—Symposium has enhanced the ability of the conference to "dive deep" on key topics. This year, the topic for the symposium is "Innovations and Issues in Pavement Preservation and Durability." The symposium links researchers, highway officials, producers, and others with a need to understand how asphalts may perform in a given application over time.

The Federal Government typically provides between 75 and 90 percent of the costs of federally supported highway projects. Federally supported asphalt research has been proven to yield substantial cost savings and return on investment. The Petersen Asphalt Research Conference continues to enhance this Federal investment by advancing the understanding and production of state-of-the-art materials, which improve pavement performance, durability, and safety.

The Western Research Institute is a nationally recognized research center for transportation and energy projects. The annual Petersen Asphalt Research Conference is one more example of the institute's leadership in transportation and energy research. Congratulations, again, Western Research Institute, and Wyoming is looking forward to hosting many more in the years to come.

CONGRATULATING CLARK HIGH SCHOOL SCIENCE OLYMPIAD TEAM

• Mr. HELLER. Mr. President, today I wish to recognize Las Vegas' Ed W. Clark High School Science Olympiad Team. This group of outstanding high school students from my home State of Nevada recently accomplished something truly extraordinary in the area of environmental science by earning a first-place gold medal in the Science Olympiad National Tournament.

The National Science Olympiad Tournament brings together students from all over the country to test their skills in a variety of scientific disciplines. This year, the competition included nearly 6.000 top science students from across the United States, including 42 students from Clark High School in Las Vegas. Clark High School's Science Olympiad Team, led by students Michael Zhou and Zachary Shattler, and coaches Sidney Lupu, James Miller and Jeffrey Viggato, took first place in the water quality event of the competition, marking the first time any Nevada team has won a gold medal at this national event. It is especially noteworthy that this award was given in an area of science that is of particular interest to my home State of Nevada, namely water quality.

Without a doubt, this scholastic achievement was earned through significant effort and teamwork on the part of these exceptional students and

educators, and they have made the State of Nevada immensely proud. I congratulate Clark High School's Science Olympiad Team, and Principal Jillyn Pendleton and Assistant Principal Joseph Winfield, on earning this well-deserved recognition.

TRIBUTE TO BOB BOWLES

• Mr. KAINE. Mr. President, today I wish to commend a distinguished Virginian, Bob Bowles, for his extensive contributions to the success of the Senate Productivity and Quality Award, SPQA, Program and many Virginia governmental, business, and nonprofit organizations.

In 1982, the Senate passed resolution 502 to promote the creation of Statesponsored programs to improve quality in industry. As part of an effort to fulfill resolution 502's vision, the U.S. Senate Productivity and Quality Award Program, or SPQA, was established to promote quality in Virginia organizations. SPQA is an all-volunteer organization with a mission to promote and recognize high-performance organizations in Virginia. Since its founding 30 years ago, SPQA has recognized more than 200 Virginia city and county organizations, businesses, and nonprofits for their pursuit of organizational excellence. Today, SPQA continues to provide training and an award challenge to thousands of individuals and organizations in the Commonwealth. I am proud to say it is the oldest continuously operating productivity and quality awards program in the United States.

Bob Bowles has served as director and executive director of SPQA since 1994. He has devoted thousands of volunteer hours to SPQA, and his leadership has paved the way for SPQA to continue accomplishing its mission for Virginia into the future. On behalf of the Senate and the people of Virginia, I thank Bob for his invaluable service to SPQA and the Commonwealth.

CLAIRE CITY, SOUTH DAKOTA

• Mr. JOHNSON of South Dakota. Mr. President, today I wish to pay tribute to the 100th anniversary of the founding of Claire City, SD. The charming town of Claire City can be found in the northeastern corner of South Dakota, in Roberts County.

In 1913, a group of local farmers donated their land to establish the town site of Claire City. The town was named for one of the early organizer's wives, Edith Claire Feeney.

Before construction of the railroad, farmers in the area had to haul their grain greater distances, to Sisseton or Ligerwood. The railroad in Claire City became essential to the growth of the town. Securing the funding and the labor necessary to complete the railroad was a true collective effort. Much of the money came from local farmers and businessmen who bought stock. Early residents labored tirelessly with