CONGRESSIONAL RECORD — SENATE [Rollcall Vote No. 63 Ex.]

YEAS-55

Mr. KAINE. Madam President, I ask unanimous consent that the order for the quorum call be rescinded.

The PRESIDING OFFICER (Ms. HIRONO). Without objection, it is so ordered.

CONCLUSION OF MORNING BUSINESS

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Morning business is closed.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

CLOTURE MOTION

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Under the previous order, the Senate will proceed to executive session.

Under the previous order, there is now 2 minutes of debate equally divided prior to a cloture vote on the Leitman nomination.

Who yields time?

Mr. DURBIN. Madam President. I ask unanimous consent to yield back the time.

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Without objection, it is so ordered.

All time is yielded back.

The cloture motion having been presented under rule XXII. the Chair directs the clerk to read the motion.

The assistant legislative clerk read as follows:

CLOTURE MOTION

We, the undersigned Senators, in accordance with the provisions of rule XXII of the Standing Rules of the Senate, hereby move to bring to a close debate on the nomination of Matthew Frederick Leitman, of Michigan, to be United States District Judge for the Eastern District of Michigan.

Harry Reid, Patrick J. Leahy, Carl Levin, Richard J. Durbin, Barbara Boxer, Debbie Stabenow, Charles E. Schumer, Patty Murray, Jeanne Shaheen, Amy Klobuchar, Tom Udall, Sheldon Whitehouse, Mazie K. Hirono, Joe Donnelly, Jack Reed, Brian Schatz, Tom Harkin.

The PRESIDING OFFICER. By unanimous consent, the mandatory quorum call has been waived.

The question is, Is it the sense of the Senate that debate on the nomination of Matthew Frederick Leitman, of Michigan, to be United States District Judge for the Eastern District of Michigan shall be brought to a close? The yeas and nays are mandatory under the rule.

The clerk will call the roll.

The assistant legislative clerk called the roll.

Mr. DURBIN, I announce that the Senator from Missouri (Mrs. McCas-KILL) and the Senator from West Virginia (Mr. ROCKEFELLER) are necessarily absent.

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Are there any other Senators in the Chamber desiring to vote?

The yeas and nays resulted—yeas 55, nays 43, as follows:

Baldwin Begich Bennet Blumenthal Booker Brown Cantwell Cardin Carper Casey Collins Coons Donnelly Durbin Feinstein Franken Gillibrand Hagan	Harkin Heinrich Heitkamp Hirono Johnson (SD) Kaine King Klobuchar Landrieu Leahy Levin Manchin Markey Menendez Merkley Mikulski Murkowski Murkowski	Nelson Pryor Reed Reid Sanders Schatz Schumer Shaheen Stabenow Tester Udall (CO) Udall (NM) Walsh Warner Warren Whitehouse Wyden
	NAYS—43	
Alexander Ayotte Barrasso Blunt Boornan Burr Chambliss Coats Cochran Cochran Corker Cornyn Crapo Cruz Enzi	Fischer Flake Graham Grassley Hatch Heller Hoeven Inhofe Isakson Johanns Johnson (WI) Kirk Lee McCain McConnell	Moran Paul Portman Risch Roberts Rubio Scott Sessions Shelby Thune Toomey Vitter Wicker
	NOT VOTING-	-2
McCaskill	Rockefeller	

McCaskill Rockefeller

The PRESIDING OFFICER. On this vote the yeas are 55, the navs are 43.

The motion to invoke cloture is agreed to.

CLOTURE MOTION

The PRESIDING OFFICER (Ms. HEITKAMP). Under the previous order, there will be 2 minutes of debate equally divided prior to a cloture vote on the Levy nomination.

The Senator from Michigan.

Mr. LEVIN. Madam President. I want to assure our colleagues that these nominees from Michigan have been selected—obviously by us—following a very thorough screening committee with its broadly based recommendations. All four of these nominees are highly qualified, have judicial temperament, and Senator STABENOW and I can recommend them highly to the Senate.

I thank my colleagues who are voting for cloture and then hope that the next vote after cloture we will see them confirmed.

Again, we want to provide that assurance to our colleagues that this is a broadly based screening committee that we appoint which has recommended these nominees.

I ask that all time be yielded back. The PRESIDING OFFICER. All time has been yielded back.

Pursuant to rule XXII, the Chair lays before the Senate the pending cloture motion, which the clerk will state:

The assistant legislative clerk read as follows:

CLOTURE MOTION

We, the undersigned Senators, in accordance with the provisions of rule XXII of the Standing Rules of the Senate, hereby move to bring to a close debate on the nomination

of Judith Ellen Levy, of Michigan, to be United States District Judge for the Eastern District of Michigan.

Harry Reid, Patrick J. Leahy, Carl Levin, Richard J. Durbin, Barbara Boxer, Debbie Stabenow, Charles E. Schumer, Patty Murray, Jeanne Shaheen, Amy Klobuchar, Tom Udall, Sheldon Whitehouse, Mazie K. Hirono, Joe Donnelly, Jack Reed, Brian Schatz, Tom Harkin.

The PRESIDING OFFICER. By unanimous consent, the mandatory quorum call has been waived.

The question is, Is it the sense of the Senate that debate on the nomination of Judith Ellen Levy, of Michigan, to be United States District Judge for the Eastern District of Michigan, shall be brought to a close?

The yeas and nays are mandatory under the rules.

The clerk will call the roll.

The assistant bill clerk called the roll.

Mr. DURBIN. I announce that the Senator from West Virginia (Mr. ROCKEFELLER) is necessarily absent.

Mr. CORNYN. The following Senator is necessarily absent: the Senator from Wisconsin, (Mr. JOHNSON).

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Are there any other Senators in the Chamber desiring to vote?

The yeas and nays resulted—yeas 56, nays 42, as follows:

[Rollcall Vote No. 64 Ex.]

Crapo

Cruz

	YEAS-56		
Baldwin Begich Bennet Blumenthal Booker Boxer Brown Cantwell Cardin Cardin Carper Casey Collins Coons Donnelly Durbin Feinstein Franken Gillibrand Hagan	Harkin Heinrich Heitkamp Hirono Johnson (SD) Kaine Kinbuchar Landrieu Leahy Levin Manchin Markey McCaskill Menendez Merkley Mikulski Murkowski Murkowski	Murray Nelson Pryor Reed Sanders Schatz Schatz Schumer Stabenow Tester Udall (CO) Udall (NM) Walsh Warner Warren Whitehouse Wyden	
NAYS—42			
Alexander Ayotte Barrasso Blunt Boozman Burr Chambliss Coats Coburn Cochran Cochran Corker	Enzi Fischer Flake Graham Grassley Hatch Heller Hoeven Inhofe Isakson Johanns	McConnell Moran Paul Portman Risch Roberts Rubio Scott Sessions Shelby Thune	
Cornyn	Kirk	Toomey	

NOT VOTING-2 Johnson (WI) Rockefeller

Lee

McCain

The PRESIDING OFFICER. On this vote the yeas are 56, the nays are 42. The motion is agreed to.

Vitter

Wicker

CLOTURE MOTION

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Under the previous order, there will now be 2 minutes of debate equally divided in the usual form prior to a vote on the