McConnell

motion to invoke cloture on Michelson nomination.

March 11, 2014

The Senator from Michigan.

Mr. LEVIN. Madam President. I ask unanimous consent all time be yielded back.

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Is there objection?

Without objection, it is so ordered. CLOTURE MOTION

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Under the previous order, and pursuant to rule XXII, the Chair lays before the Senate the pending cloture motion, which the clerk will state.

The assistant bill clerk read as follows:

CLOTURE MOTION

We, the undersigned Senators, in accordance with the provisions of rule XXII of the Standing Rules of the Senate, hereby move to bring to a close debate on the nomination of Laurie J. Michelson, of Michigan, to be United States District Judge for the Eastern District of Michigan.

Harry Reid, Patrick J. Leahy, Carl Levin, Richard J. Durbin, Barbara Boxer, Debbie Stabenow, Charles E. Schumer, Patty Murray, Jeanne Shaheen, Amy Klobuchar, Tom Udall, Sheldon Whitehouse, Mazie K. Hirono, Joe Donnelly, Jack Reed, Brian Schatz, Tom Harkin.

The PRESIDING OFFICER. By unanimous consent, the mandatory quorum call has been waived.

The question is, Is it the sense of the Senate that debate on the nomination of Laurie J. Michelson, of Michigan, to be United States District Court Judge, shall be brought to a close?

The yeas and nays are mandatory under the rule. The clerk will call the roll.

The assistant legislative clerk called the roll.

Mr. DURBIN. I announce that the Senator from West Virginia (Mr. ROCKEFELLER) is necessarily absent.

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Are there any other Senators in the Chamber desiring to vote?

The yeas and nays resulted—yeas 56, nays 43, as follows:

[Rollcall Vote No. 65 Ex.]

1 EAS-30	
Harkin Heinrich Heitkamp Hirono Johnson (SD) Kaine King Klobuchar Landrieu Leahy Levin Manchin Markey McCaskill Menendez Merkley Mikulski Murkowski Murkowski	Murray Nelson Pryor Reed Reid Sanders Schatz Schatz Schumer Shaheen Stabenow Tester Udall (CO) Udall (CO) Udall (CO) Udall (CO) Udall (CO) Udall (CO) Walsh Warren Whitehouse Wyden
NAYS-43	
Coats Coburn Cochran Corker Cornyn Crapo Cruz	Enzi Fischer Flake Graham Grassley Hatch Heller
	Heinrich Heitkamp Hirono Johnson (SD) Kaine King Klobuchar Landrieu Leahy Levin Manchin Markey McCaskill Menendez Merkley Mikulski Murkowski Murkowski Murkowski Murkowski Murkowski Murkowski Murkowski Murkowski Murkowski Coats Coats Coburn Cochran Corker Cornyn

e	Hoeven Inhofe
	Isakson
	Johanns
5	Johnson (WI)
1	Kirk
L	Lee
	McCain

the

	IV
	F
	F
(WI)	F
	F
	F
	S

Scott NOT VOTING-1

Sessions

Baldwin

Begich

Bennet.

Booker

Boxer

Brown

Cardin

Carper

Casey

Collins

Coons

Donnelly

Franken

Hagan

Gillibrand

Alexander

Avotte

Blunt

Burr

Coats

Coburn

Corker

Cornvn

Crapo

Cruz

Cochran

Barrasso

Boozman

Chambliss

Durbin Feinstein

Cantwell

Blumenthal

Shelby

Toomey

Vitter

Wicker

Thune

Rockefeller

The PRESIDING OFFICER. On this vote, the yeas are 56 and the nays are 43.

The motion is agreed to.

ORDER OF PROCEDURE

Mr. REID. Madam President, I ask unanimous consent that at 2:15 today the Senate proceed to morning business until 6 p.m. tonight. Senators may speak for up to 10 minutes each.

CLOTURE MOTION

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Under the previous order, there will be 2 minutes of debate equally divided in the usual form prior to the cloture vote.

Mr. REID. Madam President, I yield back any time on the subsequent nomination on which we are about to proceed.

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Without objection, the time is yielded back.

Under the previous order and pursuant to rule XXII, the clerk will report the motion to invoke cloture.

The assistant legislative clerk read as follows:

CLOTURE MOTION

We, the undersigned Senators, in accordance with the provisions of rule XXII of the Standing Rules of the Senate, hereby move to bring to a close debate on the nomination of Linda Vivienne Parker, of Michigan, to be United States District Judge for the Eastern District of Michigan.

Harry Reid, Patrick J. Leahy, Carl Levin, Richard J. Durbin, Barbara Boxer, Debbie Stabenow, Charles E. Schumer, Patty Murray, Jeanne Sha-heen, Amy Klobuchar, Tom Udall, Sheldon Whitehouse, Mazie K. Hirono, Joe Donnelly, Jack Reed, Brian Schatz, Tom Harkin

The PRESIDING OFFICER. By unanimous consent, the mandatory quorum call has been waived.

The question is, Is it the sense of the Senate that debate on the nomination of Linda Vivienne Parker, of Michigan, to be United States District Judge for the Eastern District of Michigan, shall be brought to a close?

The yeas and nays are mandatory under the rule.

The clerk will call the roll.

The assistant legislative clerk called the roll.

Mr. DURBIN. I announce that the Senator from West Virginia (Mr. ROCKEFELLER) is necessarily absent.

Mr. CORNYN. The following Senator is necessarily absent: the Senator from Alabama (Mr. SESSIONS).

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Are there any other Senators in the Chamber desiring to vote?

The yeas and nays resulted—yeas 56, nays 42, as follows:

Harkin Heinrich Heitkamp Hirono Johnson (SD) Kaine King Klobuchar Landrieu Leahy Levin Manchin Markey McCaskill Menendez Merkley Mikulski Murkowski	Murray Nelson Pryor Reed Sanders Schatz Schumer Shaheen Stabenow Tester Udall (CO) Udall (NM) Walsh Warner Warren Whitehouse Wyden
NAYS-42	
Enzi Fischer Flake Graham Grassley Hatch Heller Hoeven Inhofe	McCain McConnell Moran Paul Portman Risch Roberts Rubio Scott

in nnell nan tsScott Shelby Isakson Johanns Thune Johnson (WI) Toomev Vitter Kirk Wicker

NOT VOTING-2

Rockefeller Sessions

The PRESIDING OFFICER. On this vote the yeas are 56, the nays are 42.

The motion is agreed to.

Lee

The Senator from Alaska.

Ms. MURKOWSKI. Madam President, I request permission to speak as if in morning business.

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Without objection, it is so ordered.

FORTY-SECOND IDITAROD

Ms. MURKOWSKI. Madam President, I am happy to be on the floor this afternoon to give the announcement and the update about the running of the 42nd Iditarod in my State of Alaska. It is an extraordinarily famous and fabulous sporting event where man and dog test the elements of a course of almost 1,100 miles beginning in Willow, AK, and going all the way to Nome.

This year there were 69 teams that started out, and the first team crossed the finish line at 4 a.m. Alaska standard time this morning. It was one of those races that truly came down to almost a photo finish, with the leaders trading off literally in the last several hours. This was a situation we honestly have not seen in quite some time with the Iditarod.

With that buildup. I am pleased to announce that this year Dallas Seavey has become the winner of the 42nd running of the Iditarod, beating out Aliy Zirkle by 2 minutes 22 seconds. He and Aliy Zirkle battled it out in the last hour of the race not even understanding that the frontrunner, who had been in place of Aliy and in place of Dallas, Jeff King, had to scratch be-cause of a ground blizzard that forced him off the trail, losing his sled and effectively having to call and ask for assistance. It was a very dramatic ending to a pretty fascinating race.

[Rollcall Vote No. 66 Ex.] YEAS-56

Ioran aul ortman lisch oberts Rubio