an agreed-upon list of amendments, narrowly related to the bill that the Finance Committee did in its consideration of the bill in the committee.

The PRESIDING OFFICER. The Republican leader.

Mr. McCONNELL. Mr. President, I certainly want to thank my good friend, the chairman of the Finance Committee, for his observation. He is moving in the right direction. As everyone is clearly aware, the issue of not allowing amendments is a highly sensitive matter. The Senate has been changed dramatically in recent years.

The time to have a negotiation over amendments is before cloture is invoked, not after. If there is an indication on the other side that we are willing to have that negotiation, the time to do it is now because our experience postcloture with the ability to offer amendments has not been good, to put it mildly.

So I think the chairman of the Finance Committee is headed in the right direction. The timing is a little off. We would like to have this negotiation over amendments before cloture is invoked on the bill.

CLOTURE MOTION

The PRESIDING OFFICER. The cloture motion having been presented under rule XXII, the Chair directs the clerk to read the motion.

The assistant legislative clerk read as follows:

CLOTURE MOTION

We, the undersigned Senators, in accordance with the provisions of rule XXII of the Standing Rules of the Senate, hereby move to bring to a close debate on the nomination of Douglas L. Rayes, of Arizona, to be United States District Judge for the District of Arizona.

Harry Reid, Patrick J. Leahy, Robert Menendez, Christopher Murphy, Elizabeth Warren, Christopher A. Coons, Angus s. King, Jr., Richard Blumenthal, Jeff Merkley, Amy Klobuchar, Dianne Feinstein, Richard J. Durbin, Cory A. Booker , Tom Udall, Sheldon Whitehouse, Charles E. Schumer, Edward J. Markey.

The PRESIDING OFFICER. By unanimous consent, the mandatory quorum call has been waived.

The question is, Is it the sense of the Senate that debate on the nomination of Douglas L. Rayes, of Arizona, to be United States District Judge for the District of Arizona shall be brought to a close?

The yeas and nays are mandatory under the rule.

The clerk will call the roll.

The assistant legislative clerk called the roll.

Mr. DURBIN. I announce that the Senator from Colorado (Mr. BENNET), the Senator from West Virginia (Mr. MANCHIN), the Senator from West Virginia (Mr. ROCKEFELLER), and the Senator from Vermont (Mr. SANDERS) are necessarily absent.

Mr. CORNYN. The following Senators are necessarily absent: the Senator

from Arkansas (Mr. BOOZMAN) and the Senator from North Carolina (Mr. BURR).

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Are there any other Senators in the Chamber desiring to vote?

The yeas and nays resulted—yeas 59, nays 35, as follows:

[Rollcall V	ote	No.	151	Ex.]
375	1.4.0	50		

YEAS-59						
Ayotte Baldwin Begich Blumenthal Booker Boxer Boxer Cantwell Cartwell Cartwell Cartwell Carger Casey Chambliss Collins Coons Donnelly Durbin Fieinstein Fiake Franken Gillibrand	Graham Hagan Harkin Heinrich Heitkamp Hirono Isakson Johnson (SD) Kaine King Klobuchar Landrieu Leahy Leahy Levin Markey McCain McCaskill Menendez Merkley Mikulski	Murkowski Murphy Murray Nelson Pryor Reed Reid Schatz Schumer Shaheen Stabenow Tester Udall (CO) Udall (NM) Walsh Warner Warren Whitehouse Wyden				
NAYS-35						
Alexander Barrasso Blunt Coats Coburn Cochran Corker Cornyn Crapo Cruz Enzi Fischer	Grassley Hatch Heller Hoeven Inhofe Johanns Johnson (WI) Kirk Lee McConnell Moran Paul	Portman Risch Roberts Rubio Scott Sessions Shelby Thune Toomey Vitter Wicker				

NOT VOTING--6

Rockefeller

Ay

Ba

Ba Be

Re

Bl

Bo

Bo

Br

Ca

Ca

Ca

Ca

Ch

Co

Do

Du

Fε

F1

 \mathbf{Fr}

Boozman

Manchin

Sanders

Bennet Burr Manchin Boozman

The PRESIDING OFFICER. On this vote the ayes are 59, the nays are 35. The motion is agreed to.

NOMINATION OF DOUGLAS L. RAYES TO BE UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE FOR THE DIS-TRICT OF ARIZONA

The PRESIDING OFFICER. The clerk will report the nomination.

The assistant legislative clerk read the nomination of Douglas L. Rayes, of Arizona, to be United States District Judge for the District of Arizona.

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Under the previous order, there will now be 2 minutes of debate equally divided.

Mr. McCAIN. I yield back the remainder of my time.

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Without objection, all time is yielded back.

CLOTURE MOTION

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Pursuant to rule XXII, the Chair lays before the Senate the pending cloture motion, which the clerk will state.

The assistant legislative clerk read as follows:

CLOTURE MOTION

We, the undersigned Senators, in accordance with the provisions of rule XXII of the Standing Rules of the Senate, hereby move to bring to a close debate on the nomination of James Alan Soto, of Arizona, to be United States District Judge for the District of Arizona.

Harry Reid, Patrick J. Leahy, Robert Menendez, Christopher Murphy, Elizabeth Warren, Christopher A. Coons, Angus s. King, Jr., Richard Blumenthal, Jeff Merkley, Amy Klobuchar, Dianne Feinstein, Richard J. Durbin, Tom Udall, Sheldon Whitehouse, Charles E. Schumer, Edward J. Markey, Cory A. Booker.

The PRESIDING OFFICER. By unanimous consent, the mandatory quorum call has been waived.

The question is, Is it the sense of the Senate that debate on the nomination of James Alan Soto, of Arizona, to be United States District Judge for the District of Arizona, shall be brought to a close?

The yeas and nays are mandatory under the rule.

The clerk will call the roll.

The assistant bill clerk called the roll.

Mr. DURBIN. I announce that the Senator from West Virginia (Mr. MANCHIN), the Senator from West Virginia (Mr. ROCKEFELLER), and the Senator from Vermont (Mr. SANDERS) are necessarily absent.

Mr. CORNYN. The following Senator is necessarily absent: the Senator from Arkansas (Mr. BOOZMAN).

The PRESIDING OFFICER. (Mr. KING). Are there any other Senators in the Chamber desiring to vote?

The yeas and nays resulted—yeas 61, nays 35, as follows:

[Rollcall Vote No. 152 Ex.]

VEAS 61

	IEAS-01	
yotte uldwin urrasso grich mnet umenthal ooker oxer own untwell urdin urper usey uambliss ollins oons onnelly irbin instein ake	Gillibrand Graham Hagan Harkin Heinrich Heitkamp Hirono Isakson Johnson (SD) Kaine King Klobuchar Landrieu Leahy Levin Markey McCain McCaskill Menendez Merkley	Murkowski Murphy Murray Nelson Pryor Reed Reid Schatz Schumer Shaheen Stabenow Tester Udall (CO) Udall (NM) Walsh Warner Warren Whitehouse Wyden
anken	Mikulski	wyuen

NAYS-35

Rockefeller Sanders

The PRESIDING OFFICER. On this vote the yeas are 61, the nays are 35. The motion is agreed to.