Roberts

Rubio

Scott

Shelby

Vitter

\_4

NOMINATION OF JAMES ALAN SOTO TO BE UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE FOR THE DIS-TRICT OF ARIZONA

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Cloture having been invoked, the clerk will report the nomination.

The assistant bill clerk read the nomination of James Alan Soto, of Arizona, to be United States District Judge for the District of Arizona.

NOMINATION OF LESLIE RAGON CALDWELL TO BE AN ASSISTANT ATTORNEY GENERAL

NOMINATION OF HELEN MEAGHER LA LIME TO BE AMBASSADOR EXTRAORDINARY AND PLENI-POTENTIARY OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA TO THE REPUBLIC OF ANGOLA

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Under the previous order, the Senate will proceed to the consideration of the following nominations, which the clerk will report.

The assistant bill clerk read the nominations of Leslie Ragon Caldwell, of New York, to be an Assistant Attorney General and Helen Meagher La Lime, of the District of Columbia, a Career Member of the Senior Foreign Service, Class of Minister-Counselor, to be Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the United States of America to the Republic of Angola.

The PRESIDING OFFICER. The Senator from Washington.

Mrs. MURRAY. Mr. President, I ask unanimous consent that all time be yielded back on both nominations.

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Without objection, it is so ordered.

VOTE ON CALDWELL NOMINATION

Under the previous order, the question is, Will the Senate advise and consent to the nomination of Leslie Ragon Caldwell, of New York, to be an Assistant Attorney General?

The nomination was confirmed.

VOTE ON LA LIME NOMINATION

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Under the previous order, the question is, Will the Senate advise and consent to the nomination of Helen Meagher La Lime, of the District of Columbia, a Career Member of the Senior Foreign Service, Class of Minister-Counselor, to be Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the United States of America to the Republic of Angola? The nomination was confirmed.

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Under the previous order, the motions to reconsider are considered made and laid upon the table, and the President will be immediately notified of the Senate's actions.

## RECESS

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Under the previous order, the Senate stands in recess until 1:45 p.m.

Thereupon, the Senate, at 12:36 p.m., recessed until 1:45 p.m. and reassem-Bar bled when called to order by the Presiding Officer (Mrs. McCaskill).

NOMINATION OF ROSEMARY BE то MARQUEZ UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE FOR THE DISTRICT OF ARIZONA-Continued

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Under the previous order, there will be 2 minutes of debate prior to the vote on the Marguez nomination.

Neither side yielding the time, the time will be equally divided.

The PRESIDING OFFICER. The Senator from Hawaii.

Ms. HIRONO. Madam President, I ask unanimous consent that all time be vielded back.

Mrs. McCASKILL. Without objection, all time is yielded back.

The question is, Will the Senate advise and consent to the nomination of Rosemary Marquez, of Arizona, to be United States District Judge for the District of Arizona?

Ms. HIRONO. I ask for the yeas and navs.

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Is there a sufficient second?

There appears to be a sufficient second.

The clerk will call the roll.

The assistant legislative clerk called the roll.

Mr. DURBIN. I announce that the Senator from West Virginia (Mr. MANCHIN) and the Senator from West Virginia (Mr. ROCKEFELLER) are necessarily absent.

Mr. CORNYN. The following Senators are necessarily absent: the Senator from Arkansas (Mr. BOOZMAN) and the Senator from Georgia (Mr. ISAKSON).

The PRESIDING OFFICER (Ms. HIRONO). Are there any other Senators in the Chamber desiring to vote?

The result was announced—yeas 81, nays 15, as follows:

[Rollcall Vote No. 153 Ex.]

	YEAS-81	
Alexander	Gillibrand	Mikulski
Ayotte	Graham	Murkowski
Baldwin	Grassley	Murphy
Begich	Hagan	Murray
Bennet	Harkin	Nelson
Blumenthal	Hatch	Paul
Blunt	Heinrich	Portman
Booker	Heitkamp	Pryor
Boxer	Heller	Reed
Brown	Hirono	Reid
Cantwell	Hoeven	Sanders
Cardin	Johanns	Schatz
Carper	Johnson (SD)	Schumer
Casey	Johnson (WI)	Sessions
Chambliss	Kaine	Shaheen
Coats	King	Stabenow
Cochran	Kirk	Tester
Collins	Klobuchar	Thune
Coons	Landrieu	Toomey
Corker	Leahy	Udall (CO)
Cornyn	Levin	Udall (NM)
Donnelly	Markey	Walsh
Durbin	McCain	Warner
Feinstein	McCaskill	Warren
Fischer	McConnell	Whitehouse
Flake	Menendez	Wicker
Franken	Merkley	Wyden

	NAYS—15 <sub>Enzi</sub>	
Barrasso		
Burr	Inhofe	
Coburn	Lee	
Crapo	Moran	
Cruz	Risch	
	NOT VOTING-	

Boozman Manchin Isakson Rockefeller

The nomination was confirmed.

NOMINATION  $\mathbf{OF}$ DOUGLAS L. RAYES TO BE UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE FOR THE DIS-TRICT OF ARIZONA—Continued

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Under the previous order, there will be 2 minutes of debate prior to a vote on the Rayes nomination.

Who yields time?

Mr. PORTMAN. Madam President, we vield back all time.

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Without objection, all time is yielded back.

The question occurs on the nomination.

Mr. PORTMAN. I ask for the yeas and nays.

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Is there a sufficient second? There appears to be a sufficient second. There is a sufficient second.

The question is, Will the Senate advise and consent to the nomination of Douglas L. Rayes, of Arizona, to be United States District Judge for the District of Arizona?

The clerk will call the roll.

The assistant bill clerk called the roll.

Mr. DURBIN. I announce that the Senator from West Virginia (Mr. MANCHIN) and the Senator from West Virginia (Mr. ROCKEFELLER) are necessarily absent.

Mr. CORNYN. The following Senators are necessarily absent: the Senator from Arkansas (Mr. BOOZMAN) and the Senator from Georgia (Mr. ISAKSON).

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Are there any other Senators in the Chamber desiring to vote?

The result was announced—yeas 77, navs 19. as follows:

[Rollcall Vote No. 154 Ex.]

YEAS-77

Alexander Ayotte Baldwin Begich Bennet Blunt Booker Booker Booker Booker Booker Cantwell Cardin Carper Casey Chambliss Coats Cochran Collins	Fischer Flake Franken Gillibrand Graham Grassley Hagan Harkin Hatch Harkin Hatch Heinrich Heitkamp Heller Hirono Hoeven Johnson (SD) Kaine King Kirk	McCaskill McConnell Menclez Merkley Mikulski Murkowski Murray Nelson Paul Pryor Reed Reid Sanders Schatz Schumer Sessions
Cochran	King	Sessions
Coons	Klobuchar	Shaheen
Corker	Landrieu	Stabenow
Cornyn	Leahy	Tester
Donnelly	Levin	Toomey
Durbin	Markey	Udall (CO)
Feinstein	McCain	Udall (NM)