on Rules] opens the resolution to amendment and further debate." (Chapter 21, section 21.2) Section 21.3 continues: "Upon rejection of the motion for the previous question on a resolution reported from the Committee on Rules, control shifts to the Member leading the opposition to the previous question, who may offer a proper amendment or motion and who controls the time for debate thereon."

Clearly, the vote on the previous question on a rule does have substantive policy implications. It is one of the only available tools for those who oppose the Republican majority's agenda and allows those with alternative views the opportunity to offer an alternative plan.

Mr. STIVERS. Mr. Speaker, I yield back the balance of my time, and I move the previous question on the resolution.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The question is on ordering the previous question.

The question was taken; and the Speaker pro tempore announced that

the ayes appeared to have it. Mr. HASTINGS. Mr. Speaker, on that

The yeas and nays were ordered.

demand the yeas and nays.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 8 of rule XX, further proceedings on this question will be postponed.

RECESS

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 12(a) of rule I, the Chair declares the House in recess until approximately 1:30 p.m. today.

Accordingly (at 1 o'clock and 10 minutes p.m.), the House stood in recess.

□ 1330

AFTER RECESS

The recess having expired, the House was called to order by the Speaker pro tempore (Mr. Huizenga of Michigan) at 1 o'clock and 30 minutes p.m.

ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SPEAKER PRO TEMPORE

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 8 of rule XX, proceedings will resume on questions previously postponed.

Votes will be taken in the following order:

Ordering the previous question on House Resolution 672;

Adopting House Resolution 672, if ordered:

Ordering the previous question on House Resolution 671; and

Adopting House Resolution 671, if or-

The first electronic vote will be conducted as a 15-minute vote. Remaining electronic votes will be conducted as 5minute votes.

PROVIDING FOR CONSIDERATION OF H.R. 2666, NO RATE REGULA-TION OF BROADBAND INTERNET ACCESS ACT

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The unfinished business is the vote on order-

Goodlatte

ing the previous question on the resolution (H. Res. 672) providing for consideration of the bill (H.R. 2666) to prohibit the Federal Communications Commission from regulating the rates charged for broadband Internet access service, on which the yeas and nays were ordered.

The Clerk read the title of the resolu-

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The question is on ordering the previous question.

The vote was taken by electronic device, and there were—yeas 243, nays 182, not voting 8, as follows:

[Roll No. 141]

YEAS-243

Miller (MI) Abraham Gosar Aderholt Moolenaar Mooney (WV) Gowdy Allen Granger Graves (GA) Amash Mullin Graves (LA) Graves (MO) Amodei Mulvaney Neugebauer Babin Griffith Newhouse Barletta Grothman Noem Barr Barton Nugent Guinta Guthrie Nunes Benishek Bilirakis Hanna Olson Bishop (MI) Hardy Palazzo Bishop (UT) Palmer Harper Black Harris Paulsen Blackburn Hartzler Pearce Heck (NV) Perry Blum Bost Hensarling Pittenger Boustany Herrera Beutler Pitts Poe (TX) Brady (TX) Hice, Jody B. Brat Hill Poliquin Brooks (AL) Holding Pompeo Brooks (IN) Hudson Posey Price, Tom Huelskamp Buchanan Huizenga (MI) Ratcliffe Buck Bucshon Hultgren Reed Reichert Burgess Hunter Hurd (TX) Byrne Renacci Calvert Hurt (VA) Ribble Rice (SC) Carter (GA) Issa Jenkins (KS) Carter (TX) Rigell Chabot Jenkins (WV) Roby Roe (TN) Johnson (OH) Chaffetz Clawson (FL) Johnson, Sam Rogers (AL) Coffman Jolly Rogers (KY) Rohrabacher Cole Jones Rokita Collins (GA) Jordan Rooney (FL) Collins (NY) Joyce Katko Ros-Lehtinen Comstock Kelly (MS) Roskam Conaway Cook Kelly (PA) Ross Costello (PA) King (IA) Rothfus Cramer King (NY) Rouzer Crawford Kinzinger (IL) Rovce Crenshaw Kline Russell Culberson Knight Salmon Curbelo (FL) Labrador Sanford Davis, Rodney LaHood Scalise Denham LaMalfa Schweikert Dent Scott, Austin Lamborn Sensenbrenner DeSantis Lance DesJarlais Latta Sessions LoBiondo Diaz-Balart Shimkus Dold Long Shuster Loudermilk Donovan Simpson Duffy Smith (MO) Love Duncan (SC) Lucas Smith (NE) Duncan (TN) Luetkemever Smith (NJ) Ellmers (NC) Smith (TX) Lummis Emmer (MN) MacArthur Stefanik Farenthold Marchant Stewart Fincher Marino Stivers Fitzpatrick Massie Stutzman McCarthy Thompson (PA) Fleischmann Fleming McCaul Thornberry Tiberi Flores McClintock Tipton Forbes McHenry Fortenberry McKinley Trott McMorris Turner Foxx Franks (AZ) Rodgers Upton Frelinghuvsen McSallv Valadao Garrett Meadows Wagner Gibbs Meehan Walberg Walden Gibson Messer Mica Gohmert Walker

Miller (FL)

Walorski

Walters, Mimi Weber (TX) Webster (FL) Wenstrup Westerman Westmoreland Whitfield

Williams Wilson (SC) Wittman Womack Woodall Yoder Yoho

Young (AK) Young (IA) Young (IN) Zeldin Zinke

Nea1

NAYS-182

Adams Fudge Gabbard Aguilar Nolan Ashford Gallego Norcross Bass Garamendi O'Rourke Beatty Graham Pallone Becerra Grayson Pascrell Bera. Green, Al Payne Green, Gene Pelosi Bever Bishop (GA) Grijalva Perlmutter Blumenauer Gutiérrez Peters Bonamici Hahn Peterson Hastings Boyle, Brendan Pingree Heck (WA) Pocan Brady (PA) Polis Higgins Brown (FL) Price (NC) Himes Brownley (CA) Hinoiosa Quigley Bustos Honda Rangel Butterfield Hoyer Rice (NY) Capps Huffman Richmond Capuano Roybal-Allard Israel Jeffries Cárdenas Ruiz Johnson (GA) Ruppersberger Carney Carson (IN) Johnson, E. B. Rush Ryan (OH) Cartwright Kaptur Sanchez, Linda Castor (FL) Keating Kelly (IL) Castro (TX) Chu, Judy Kennedy Sanchez, Loretta Cicilline Kildee Sarbanes Clark (MA) Kilmer Schakowsky Clarke (NY) Kind Schiff Kirkpatrick Clay Schrader Cleaver Scott (VA) Kuster Clyburn Langevin Scott, David Larsen (WA) Cohen Serrano Connolly Sewell (AL) Larson (CT) Convers Lawrence Sherman Levin Sinema Cooper Costa Sires Lewis Courtney Lipinski Slaughter Crowley Loebsack Smith (WA) Cuellar Lofgren Speier Cummings Lowenthal Swalwell (CA) Takai Davis (CA) Lowey Davis, Danny Lujan Grisham Takano Thompson (CA) DeFazio (NM) DeGette Luján, Ben Ray Thompson (MS) Delanev (NM) Titus DeLauro Lynch Tonko DelBene Torres Maloney, DeSaulnier Carolyn Tsongas Maloney, Sean Deutch Vargas Dingell Matsui Veasey Doggett McCollum Vela. Doyle, Michael McDermott Velázquez McGovern Visclosky Duckworth McNernev Walz Edwards Meeks Wasserman Ellison Meng Schultz Waters Maxine Eshoo Moore Watson Coleman Moulton Esty Welch Murphy (FL) Farr Wilson (FL) Foster Nadler Frankel (FL) Napolitano Yarmuth NOT VOTING-8

Jackson Lee Murphy (PA) Bridenstine Engel Lee Van Hollen Fattah Lieu, Ted

ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SPEAKER PRO TEMPORE The SPEAKER pro tempore (during the vote). There are 2 minutes remaining.

\sqcap 1352

Ms. MICHELLE LUJAN GRISHAM of New Mexico, Messrs. ASHFORD, AL GREEN of Texas, SCHIFF, and Ms. BONAMICI changed their vote from "yea" to "nay."

So the previous question was ordered. The result of the vote was announced as above recorded.

The SPEAKER pro tempore (Mr. HULTGREN). The question is on the resolution.