or motion and who controls the time for debate thereon."

Clearly, the vote on the previous question on a rule does have substantive policy implications. It is one of the only available tools for those who oppose the Republican majority's agenda and allows those with alternative views the opportunity to offer an alternative plan.

Mr. BYRNE. Mr. Speaker, I yield back the balance of my time, and I move the previous question on the resolution.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The question is on ordering the previous question.

The question was taken; and the Speaker pro tempore announced that the ayes appeared to have it.

Ms. SLAUGHTER. Mr. Speaker, on that I demand the yeas and nays.

The yeas and nays were ordered.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 8 of rule XX, further proceedings on this question will be postponed.

RECESS

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 12(a) of rule I, the Chair declares the House in recess subject to the call of the Chair.

Accordingly (at 1 o'clock and 13 minutes p.m.), the House stood in recess.

□ 1402

AFTER RECESS

The recess having expired, the House was called to order by the Speaker protempore (Mr. HOLDING) at 2 p.m.

ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SPEAKER PRO TEMPORE

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 8 of rule XX, proceedings will resume on questions previously postponed. Votes will be taken in the following order:

Ordering the previous question on House Resolution 783;

Adopting House Resolution 783, if ordered

The first electronic vote will be conducted as a 15-minute vote. The second electronic vote will be conducted as a 5-minute vote.

PROVIDING FOR FURTHER CONSIDERATION OF H.R. 5293, DEPARTMENT OF DEFENSE APPROPRIATIONS ACT, 2017

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The unfinished business is the vote on ordering the previous question on the resolution (H. Res. 783) providing for further consideration of the bill (H.R. 5293) making appropriations for the Department of Defense for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2017, and for other purposes, on which the yeas and nays were ordered.

The Clerk read the title of the resolution.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The question is on ordering the previous question.

The vote was taken by electronic device, and there were—yeas 239, nays 183, not voting 12, as follows:

[Roll No. 304]

YEAS-239

Abraham Graves (MO) Palazzo Aderholt Griffith Palmer Allen Grothman Paulsen Amash Guinta Perry Peterson Amodei Guthrie Hanna Pittenger Babin Barletta Hardy Pitts Poe (TX) Barr Harper Poliquin Barton Harris Benishek Hartzler Pompeo Heck (NV) Bilirakis Posey Price, Tom Bishop (MI) Hensarling Bishop (UT) Hice, Jody B. Ratcliffe Black Hill Reed Blackburn Holding Reichert Rl11m Hudson Renacci Huelskamp Ribble Bost Boustany Huizenga (MI) Rice (SC) Brady (TX) Hultgren Rigell. Bridenstine Hunter Roby Hurd (TX) Roe (TN) Brooks (AL) Brooks (IN) Hurt (VA) Rogers (AL) Rogers (KY) Buchanan Issa Jenkins (KS) Rohrabacher Buck Bucshon Jenkins (WV) Rokita Johnson (OH) Rooney (FL) Burgess Johnson, Sam Ros-Lehtinen Byrne Calvert Jolly Roskam Carter (GA) Jones Ross Rothfus Carter (TX) Jordan Chabot Jovce Rouzer Chaffetz Katko Royce Clawson (FL) Kelly (MS) Russell Coffman Kelly (PA) Salmon Cole King (IA) Sanford Collins (GA) King (NY) Scalise Kinzinger (IL) Schweikert Collins (NY) Scott, Austin Comstock Kline Conaway Knight Sensenbrenner Cook Labrador Sessions Costello (PA) LaHood Shimkus Cramer LaMalfa. Shuster Crawford Lamborn Simpson Smith (MO) Crenshaw Lance Culberson Latta Smith (NE) Curbelo (FL) LoBiondo Smith (NJ) Long Loudermilk Davidson Smith (TX) Davis, Rodney Stefanik Denham Stewart Lucas Dent Luetkemeyer Stivers DeSantis Lummis Stutzman MacArthur Thompson (PA) DesJarlais Diaz-Balart Marchant Thornberry Dold Marino Tiberi Donovan Massie Tipton McCarthy Duffy Trott Duncan (SC) Turner McCaul Duncan (TN) McClintock Upton Ellmers (NC) ${\bf McHenry}$ Valadao Emmer (MN) McKinley Wagner Farenthold McMorris Walberg Fincher Rodgers Walden Fitzpatrick McSally Walker Fleischmann Meadows Walorski Walters, Mimi Fleming Meehan Weber (TX) Flores Messer Mica Fortenberry Webster (FL) Miller (FL) Foxx Wenstrup Franks (AZ) Miller (MI) Westerman Williams Wilson (SC) Frelinghuysen Moolenaar Mooney (WV) Garrett Mullin Wittman Gibson Mulvanev Womack Murphy (PA) Gohmert Woodall Goodlatte Neugebauer Yoder Gosar Newhouse Yoho Young (AK) Gowdy Noem Granger Nugent Young (IA) Graves (GA) Nunes Zeldin Graves (LA) Olson Zinke

NAYS—183

Adams

Aguilar

Ashford

Reatty

Becerra

Bass

Bera Boyle, Brendan
Beyer F.
Bishop (GA) Brady (PA)
Blumenauer Brown (FL)
Bonamici Brownley (CA)
Bustos

Hastings Butterfield Heck (WA) Capps Capuano Higgins Cárdenas Himes Carney Hinojosa Carson (IN) Honda. Cartwright Hover Huffman Castor (FL) Castro (TX) Israel Jackson Lee Chu. Judy Cicilline Jeffries Clark (MA) Clarke (NY) Clay Kaptur Cleaver Keating Clyburn Kelly (IL) Cohen Kennedy Connolly Kildee Convers Kilmer Cooper Kind Kirknatrick Costa. Courtney Kuster Crowley Langevin Larsen (WA) Cuellar Cummings Larson (CT) Davis (CA) Lawrence Davis, Danny Lee DeFazio Levin Lewis Lieu, Ted DeGette Delanev DeLauro Lipinski DelBene Loebsack DeSaulnier Lofgren Deutch Lowenthal Dingell Lowey Doggett Doyle, Michael (NM) Duckworth (NM) Edwards Lynch Ellison Maloney. Engel Carolyn Eshoo Estv Matsui McCollum Farr Foster McDermott Frankel (FL) McGovern Fudge McNerney Gabbard Meeks Gallego Meng Garamendi Moore Graham Moulton Gravson Green, Al Nadler Green, Gene Napolitano

O'Rourke Pallone Pascrell Pavne Pelosi Perlmutter Peters Pingree Pocan Polis Price (NC) Johnson (GA) Quigley Johnson, E. B. Rangel Richmond Rovbal-Allard Ruiz Ruppersberger Rush Ryan (OH) Sánchez, Linda Sanchez Loretta Sarbanes Schakowsky Schiff Schrader Scott (VA) Scott, David Serrano Sewell (AL) Sherman Sinema. Sires Slaughter Lujan Grisham Smith (WA) Speier Swalwell (CA) Luján, Ben Ray Takano Thompson (CA) Thompson (MS) Titus Tonko Maloney, Sean Torres Tsongas Van Hollen Vargas Veasey Vela. Velázquez Visclosky Walz Murphy (FL) Wasserman Schultz

NOT VOTING-12

Waters, Maxine

Yarmuth

Watson Coleman

Brat Love Westmoreland Fattah Pearce Whitfield Forbes Rice (NY) Wilson (FL) Herrera Beutler Takai Young (IN)

Neal

Nolan

Norcross

Grijalva

Hahn

Gutiérrez

□ 1420

Mr. BRENDAN F. BOYLE of Pennsylvania changed his vote from "yea" to "nay."

Messrs. BOUSTANY and McHENRY changed their vote from "nay" to "vea."

So the previous question was ordered. The result of the vote was announced as above recorded.

(By unanimous consent, Ms. Wasserman Schultz was allowed to speak out of order.)

CONGRESSIONAL WOMEN'S SOFTBALL GAME

Ms. WASSERMAN SCHULTZ. Mr. Speaker, colleagues, we stand before you as the congressional women's softball team. Our bipartisan team, which we are very proud of, has won the Congressional Women's Softball Game for the last 2 years in a row, and we are looking to three-peat against the Bad News Babes press team tonight.

So we encourage all of you to come out tonight. Tell your staffs and anyone that is interested in helping to raise money to beat cancer to join us