

For Immediate Release March 4, 2015

Media Contacts: Zachary Kurz, Laura Crist (202) 225-6371

Statement of Chairman Lamar Smith (R-Texas)

Full Committee Markup – Consideration of Five Bipartisan Bills

Chairman Smith: Today we will consider five bipartisan bills.

The first bill is H.R. 1119, the Research and Development Efficiency Act. This bill requires the Director of the Office of Science and Technology Policy to establish a working group to review and make recommendations on how to streamline and minimize the regulatory burden on scientists, research institutions and universities. I thank the Chair of the Research and Technology Subcommittee, Ms. Comstock, and the bipartisan cosponsors – Ranking Member Johnson and Research and Technology Subcommittee Ranking Member Lipinski for their work on this bill.

For several years, the research community has expressed concern that time spent on administrative and reporting requirements for federal research seriously cuts into lab time and therefore negatively affects the science conducted under those grants. This bill is a step toward addressing these concerns. It directs the Administration to take steps to cut through administrative red tape to ensure our nation's research investments are efficient and effective. H.R. 1119 is good research regulatory reform.

The next bill is H.R. 1156, the International Science and Technology Cooperation Act, which directs the Office of Science and Technology Policy to establish an entity to identify and coordinate international science and technology efforts to strengthen the U.S. research enterprise. I thank the Ranking Member of the Research and Technology Subcommittee, Mr. Lipinski, for introducing this bill. I also thank the Subcommittee's Vice Chair, Mr. Moolenaar, the Ranking Member of the Full Committee, Ms. Johnson, as well as our colleagues Mr. Hultgren, Ms. Esty and Mr. Swalwell for being bipartisan cosponsors. Coordinated international collaboration on scientific issues, which H.R. 1156 ensures, will improve economic and national security and support U.S. foreign policy goals.

H.R. 1162, the Science Prize Competitions Act, is our third bill from the Research and Technology Subcommittee for consideration today. As with the previous two bills, this bill was included as a provision in last year's Frontiers in Innovation, Research, Science, and Technology or FIRST Act. I thank the Ranking Member of the Oversight Subcommittee, Mr. Beyer, for introducing this legislation. Bipartisan cosponsors include the Vice Chair of the Oversight Subcommittee, Bill Johnson, as well as Full Committee Ranking Member Eddie Bernice Johnson.

This bill amends the prize competitions section of the Stevenson-Wydler Technology Innovation Act of 1980. It increases transparency by requiring that the notification of prize competitions must be on a publicly accessible government website. It also clarifies that the head of an agency may enter into an agreement with a private sector for-profit or nonprofit entity to administer the prize competition. Prize competitions have an established record of spurring innovation. H.R. 1162 promotes increased utilization of these competitions within the federal government.

Our fourth bill is H.R. 1158, the Department of Energy Laboratory Modernization and Technology Transfer Act of 2015. Mr. Hultgren has taken the lead on this issue and cosponsors include Mr. Perlmutter, Ranking Member Johnson and a number of other Science Committee Members, including the Energy Subcommittee Chairman Weber, Subcommittee Vice Chairman Newhouse, and Representatives Rohrabacher, Neugebauer, Swalwell and Lipinski.

This bill is the product of bipartisan negotiations and demonstrates that we can work together when it comes to updating the operations of the Department of Energy national laboratory complex. It also shows this Committee stands together in wanting to further open up the capabilities and talents of the DOE to private sector innovators.

I look forward to a continuation of this effort in the Senate as a result of the good work that Senator Rubio and Senator Coons have put into a very similar version of this bill in the last Congress.

Our final bill is H.R. 874, the American Super Computing Leadership Act. Again, I thank Mr. Hultgren for his work on this bill along with Mr. Swalwell. This legislation calls on DOE to develop a pathway towards the next generation of supercomputing systems, also known as exascale systems. This area of research was also the subject of the Energy Subcommittee's first hearing this year and one of the most promising areas of research within DOE's portfolio.

These are all good bipartisan bills and I urge my colleagues to support them.

^{###}