Hultgren

to rescind that regulation. But if there is something that should have been done in year one, two, three, four, five, or six. I would ask why it wasn't done then.

Having said that, it is unfortunate that this motion to recommit was written in a way that would send it back to committee and, thus, cause a substantial delay.

I would caution my colleagues that, at least from this Member, if you have a motion to recommit and you want the amendment itself considered, make it one that is immediate and not back to committee. The difference, I think, important. The Parliamentarian simply can advise on how to write one that would prevent it having to get, if you will, another delay of days or weeks.

I urge opposition to the motion to recommit.

I yield back the balance of my time. The SPEAKER pro tempore. Without objection, the previous question is ordered on the motion to recommit.

There was no objection.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The question is on the motion to recommit.

The question was taken; and the Speaker pro tempore announced that the noes appeared to have it.

Ms. CASTOR of Florida. Mr. Speaker, on that I demand the yeas and nays. The yeas and nays were ordered.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 8 of rule XX, further proceedings on this question will be postponed.

## RECESS

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 12(a) of rule I, the Chair declares the House in recess subject to the call of the Chair.

Accordingly (at 2 o'clock and 53 minutes p.m.), the House stood in recess.

# □ 1615

# AFTER RECESS

The recess having expired, the House was called to order by the Speaker pro tempore (Mr. HULTGREN) at 4 o'clock and 15 minutes p.m.

## ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SPEAKER PRO TEMPORE

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 8 of rule XX, proceedings will resume on questions previously postponed.

Votes will be taken in the following order:

The motion to recommit on H.R. 21: and passage of H.R. 21, if ordered.

The first electronic vote will be conducted as a 15-minute vote. The remaining electronic vote will be conducted as a 5-minute vote.

### MIDNIGHT RULES RELIEF ACT OF 2017

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The unfinished business is the vote on the mo-

tion to recommit on the bill (H.R. 21) to amend chapter 8 of title 5, United States Code, to provide for en bloc consideration in resolutions of disapproval for midnight rules, and for other purposes, offered by the gentlewoman from Florida (Ms. CASTOR), on which the yeas and nays were ordered.

The Clerk will redesignate the mo-

The Clerk redesignated the motion.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The question is on the motion to recommit.

The vote was taken by electronic device, and there were—yeas 183, nays 236, not voting 14, as follows:

# [Roll No. 7]

#### VEAS-183

Adams Fudge Neal Aguilar Gabbard Nolan Barragán Garamendi Norcross Bass Gottheimer O'Halleran Beatty Green, Al O'Rourke Green, Gene Bera Pallone Bishop (GA) Grijalva Panetta Blumenauer Gutiérrez Pascrell Blunt Rochester Hanabusa. Payne Bonamici Hastings Pelosi Boyle, Brendan Heck Perlmutter Higgins (NY) Peters Brady (PA) Himes Peterson Brown (MD) Hoyer Pingree Brownley (CA) Huffman Pocan Bustos Jackson Lee Polis Butterfield Jayapal Price (NC) Capuano Jeffries Quigley Johnson (GA) Carbajal Raskin Cárdenas Johnson, E. B. Rice (NY) Carson (IN) Kaptur Rosen Cartwright Keating Roybal-Allard Castor (FL) Kelly (IL) Ruiz Castro (TX) Kennedy Ruppersberger Chu, Judy Khanna Rvan (OH) Cicilline Kildee Sánchez Clark (MA) Kilmer Sarbanes Clarke (NY) Kind Schakowsky Krishnamoorthi Clay Schiff Kuster (NH) Cleaver Schneider Clyburn Langevin Scott (VA) Larsen (WA) Cohen Scott, David Connolly Larson (CT) Serrano Convers Lawrence Lawson (FL) Sewell (AL) Cooper Shea-Porter Correa Lee Sherman Courtney Levin Sires Crist Lewis (GA) Slaughter Crowley Lieu, Ted Smith (WA) Cuellar Lipinski Soto Cummings Loebsack Davis (CA) Lofgren Speier Suozzi Lowenthal Davis, Danny Swalwell (CA) DeFazio Lowey Lujan Grisham, DeGette Takano Thompson (CA) Delanev M. Luján, Ben Ray Thompson (MS) DeLauro Titus DelBene Lynch Tonko Demings Maloney, Torres DeSaulnier Carolyn B. Tsongas Deutch Maloney, Sean Vargas Dingell Matsui McCollum Veasey Doggett McEachin Vela. Doyle, Michael Velázquez McGovern Ellison Visclosky McNernev Walz Engel Meeks Wasserman Eshoo Meng Espaillat Moore Schultz Esty Moulton Watson Coleman Evans Murphy (FL) Welch Wilson (FL)

# Napolitano NAYS-236

Nadler

Foster

Frankel (FL)

Abraham

Aderholt

Allen

Amash

Amodei

Babin

Bacon

Arrington

Banks (IN)

Barletta

Barr Barton Bergman Beutler Biggs Bilirakis Bishop (MI) Bishop (UT) Black Blackburn

Blum Bost Brady (TX) Brat Bridenstine Brooks (AL) Brooks (IN) Buchanan Buck Bucshon

Yarmuth

Burgess Hunter Byrne Hurd Calvert Issa. Jenkins (KS) Carter (GA) Carter (TX) Jenkins (WV) Chabot Johnson (LA) Johnson (OH) Chaffetz Cheney Johnson, Sam Coffman Jones Jordan Joyce (OH) Collins (GA) Comer Katko Kelly (MS) Comstock Conaway Kelly (PA) King (IA) Cook Costello (PA) King (NY) Cramer Kinzinger Crawford Knight Culberson Kustoff (TN) Curbelo (FL) Labrador Davidson LaHood Davis, Rodney LaMalfa Denham Lamborn Dent Lance DeSantis Latta Lewis (MN) DesJarlais Diaz-Balart LoBiondo Donovan Long Loudermilk Duffv Duncan (SC) Love Duncan (TN) Lucas Luetkemever Dunn Emmer MacArthur Farenthold Marchant Faso Marino Marshall Ferguson Fitzpatrick Massie Fleischmann Mast Flores McCarthy Fortenberry McCaul Foxx McClintock Franks (AZ) McHenry Frelinghuysen McKinley Gaetz McMorris Gallagher Rodgers Garrett McSally Gibbs Meadows Gohmert Meehan Goodlatte Messer Mitchell Gosar Gowdy Moolenaar Mooney (WV) Granger Graves (GA) Mullin Graves (LA) Murphy (PA) Graves (MO) Newhouse Griffith Noem Grothman Nunes Olson Guthrie Harper Palazzo Harris Palmer Hartzler Paulsen Hensarling Pearce Hice, Jody B. Perry Pittenger Higgins (LA) Hill Poliquin Holding Posey Ratcliffe Hollingsworth Hudson Reed

Rice (SC) Roby Roe (TN) Rogers (AL) Rogers (KY) Rohrabacher Rokita Rooney, Francis Rooney, Thomas Ros-Lehtinen Roskam Ross Rothfus Rouzer Rovce (CA) Russell Rutherford Sanford Scalise Schweikert Scott, Austin Sensenbrenner Sessions Shimkus Shuster Simpson Sinema Smith (MO) Smith (NE) Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Smucker Stefanik Stewart Stivers Taylor Tenney Thompson (PA) Thornberry Tiberi Tipton Trott Turner Upton Valadao Wagner Walberg Walden Walker Walorski Walters, Mimi Weber (TX) Webster (FL) Wenstrup Westerman Williams Wilson (SC) Wittman Womack Woodall Yoder Yoho

## NOT VOTING-

Reichert

Becerra Bever Collins (NY) Gallego

Huizenga

Gonzalez (TX) Kihuen Mulvaney Poe (TX) Pompeo

Price, Tom (GA) Richmond Rush Waters, Maxine

Young (AK)

Young (IA)

Zeldin

Zinke

# □ 1638

WEBSTER Messrs. of Florida. RENACCI, JENKINS of West Virginia, Mmes. HARTZLER, McMORRIS ROD-GERS, Messrs. STEWART, THOMAS J. ROONEY of Florida, STIVERS, BRADY of Texas, and BERGMAN changed their vote from "yea" to "nay."

Messrs. KILDEE, BLUMENAUER, RUPPERSBERGER, O'ROURKE, Ms. JUDY CHU of California, Mr. JALVA, Ms. SCHAKOWSKY, and Mr. DANNY K. DAVIS of Illinois changed their vote from "nay" to "yea."

So the motion to recommit was reiected.