CONGRESSIONAL RECORD—HOUSE

forward to having the Senate move similar bipartisan legislation so we can get the job done. That is what it is all about.

So I want to thank the gentleman for his tireless commitment to getting this issue done.

Mr. Speaker, I urge my colleagues to support this bill again.

I yield back the balance of my time. Mr. GENE GREEN of Texas. Mr. Speaker, I rise today in support of H.R. 338, to Promote a 21st Century Energy and Manufacturing Workforce Future Act.

For years, many of the industries I represent have complained of workforce shortages.

In East Houston and Harris County, if we were able to recruit every union electrician in the country, we would still have a shortage.

The same is probably true for pipefitters, welders. etc.

The economy in our part of the country is rapidly expanding thanks to the development of the Eagleford shale and the Permian Basin.

We must ensure that this economic prosperity is shared across all of our community. In Texas, workforce diversity has to be a re-

ality. I am pleased that Representative RUSH has

crafted this legislation and I am proud to be an original co-sponsor.

I am also proud to support workforce development opportunities for Hispanics, African-Americans, and women in the energy field.

The industry needs skilled workers and we need to create opportunity for everyone, including many of those I represent in and around the area.

The bill will encourage the Department of Energy to conduct outreach to these communities to ensure they have access to the knowledge, skills and abilities required to fill high paying jobs in the energy field.

Thanks to efforts by ExxonMobil and the Texas Gulf Coast Community College Consortium, we are already addressing the workforce needs of our industries but more needs to be done and this bill will help us achieve these goals.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The question is on the motion offered by the gentleman from Michigan (Mr. UPTON) that the House suspend the rules and pass the bill, H.R. 338.

The question was taken; and (twothirds being in the affirmative) the rules were suspended and the bill was passed.

A motion to reconsider was laid on the table.

RECESS

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 12(a) of rule I, the Chair declares the House in recess until approximately 6:30 p.m. today.

Accordingly (at 4 o'clock and 45 minutes p.m.), the House stood in recess.

\Box 1830

AFTER RECESS

The recess having expired, the House was called to order by the Speaker pro tempore (Mr. WOMACK) at 6 o'clock and 30 minutes p.m.

ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SPEAKER Grothman PRO TEMPORE

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 8 of rule XX, proceedings will resume on motions to suspend the rules previously postponed.

Votes will be taken in the following order:

H.R. 2292, by the yeas and nays;

H.R. 2457, by the yeas and nays.

The first electronic vote will be conducted as a 15-minute vote. The second electronic vote will be conducted as a 5-minute vote.

EXTENDING A PROJECT INVOLV-ING THE CANNONSVILLE DAM

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The unfinished business is the vote on the motion to suspend the rules and pass the bill (H.R. 2292) to extend a project of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission involving the Cannonsville Dam, on which the yeas and nays were ordered.

The Clerk read the title of the bill.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The question is on the motion offered by the gentleman from Michigan (Mr. UPTON) that the House suspend the rules and pass the bill.

The vote was taken by electronic device, and there were—yeas 400, nays 1, not voting 29, as follows:

[Roll No. 300] YEAS-400

Abraham Carson (IN) Carter (GA) Adams Aderholt Cartwright Castor (FL) Aguilar Castro (TX) Allen Amodei Chabot Chaffetz Arrington Babin Cheney Chu. Judy Bacon Banks (IN) Cicilline Clark (MA) Barletta Barr Clarke (NY) Barragán Clay Cleaver Barton Bass Clvburn Beatty Coffman Bera Cohen Bergman Cole Beyer Collins (GA) Biggs Collins (NY) Bilirakis Comer Comstock Bishop (GA) Bishop (MI) Conaway Connolly Black Blackburn Conyers Blumenauer Cook Blunt Rochester Cooper Bonamici Correa Bost Costa Costello (PA) Boyle, Brendan F Courtney Brady (PA) Cramer Brady (TX) Crawford Crist Brat Bridenstine Crowlev Brooks (IN) Cuellar Brown (MD) Culberson Brownley (CA) Davidson Buchanan Davis (CA) Buck Davis, Danny Bucshon Davis, Rodney Budd DeFazio Burgess DeGette Bustos Delaney Butterfield DeLauro Byrne DelBene Calvert Demings Capuano Denham Carbajal Dent DeSaulnier Cárdenas

DesJarlais Deutch Diaz-Balart Dingell Doggett Donovan Duffy Duncan (SC) Duncan (TN) Dunn Ellison Emmer Eshoo Espaillat Estes (KS) Esty (CT) Evans Farenthold Faso Ferguson Fitzpatrick Fleischmann Flores Fortenberry Foster Foxx Frankel (FL) Franks (AZ) Frelinghuysen Fudge Gabbard Gaetz Gallagher Gallego Garamendi Garrett Gibbs Gohmert Gonzalez (TX) Goodlatte Gosar Gottheimer Gowdy Graves (GA) Graves (LA) Graves (MO) Green, Al Green, Gene Griffith Grijalva

Guthrie Hanabusa Harper Hartzler Hastings Heck Hensarling Herrera Beutler Hice, Jody B. Higgins (LA) Higgins (NY) Hill Himes Holding Hollingsworth Hoyer Hudson Huffman Huizenga Hultgren Hunter Hurd Issa. Jackson Lee Jayapal Jeffries Jenkins (KS) Jenkins (WV) Johnson (GA) Johnson (LA) Johnson (OH) Johnson, E. B. Jones Jordan Joyce (OH) Kaptur Katko Keating Kelly (IL) Kelly (MS) Kelly (PA) Kennedy Khanna Kihuen Kildee Kilmer Kind King (IA) King (NY) Kinzinger Knight Krishnamoorthi Kuster (NH) Kustoff (TN) Labrador LaHood LaMalfa Lamborn Lance Langevin Larsen (WA) Larson (CT) Latta Lawrence Lee Levin Lewis (MN) LoBiondo Loebsack Long Loudermilk Love Lowenthal Lowey Lucas Luetkemeyer Lujan Grisham, M. Luján, Ben Ray Lvnch MacArthur Maloney, Sean Marchant Marino

June 12, 2017

Mast

Meeks

Moore

Neal

Nolan

Nunes

Olson

Payne

Pearce

Pelosi

Perrv

Peters

Pocan

Posev

Reed

J.

Rosen

Ross

Ruiz

Rush

Marshall Sanford Massie Sarbanes Scalise Matsui Schakowsky McCarthy Schiff McCaul Schneider McClintock Schrader McCollum Schweikert McGovern Scott (VA) McHenry Scott, Austin McKinley Scott, David McMorris Sensenbrenner Rodgers Serrano McNerney Sessions McSally. Sewell (AL) Meadows Shea-Porter Meehan Sherman Shimkus Messer Shuster Mitchell Simpson Moolenaar Sinema Mooney (WV) Sires Slaughter Moulton Smith (MO) Mullin Smith (NE) Murphy (FL) Smith (NJ) Murphy (PA) Smith (TX) Nadler Smith (WA) Smucker Newhouse Soto Speier Norcross Stefanik Stewart O'Halleran Stivers O'Rourke Suozzi Swalwell (CA) Palazzo Takano Pallone Tavlor Palmer Tennev Panetta Thompson (CA) Pascrell Thompson (MS) Thompson (PA) Paulsen Thornberry Tipton Titus Perlmutter Tonko Torres Trott Peterson Tsongas Pittenger Turner Upton Poliquin Valadao Vargas Price (NC) Veasey Quigley Vela Raskin Velázquez Ratcliffe Visclosky Wagner Reichert Walberg Rice (NY) Walden Rice (SC) Walker Richmond Walorski Roby Roe (TN) Walters, Mimi Walz Rogers (AL) Wasserman Rogers (KY) Schultz Rokita Waters, Maxine Rooney, Francis Watson Coleman Rooney, Thomas Weber (TX) Webster (FL) Ros-Lehtinen Welch Wenstrup Roskam Westerman Williams Rothfus Wilson (FL) Wilson (SC) Rouzer Roybal-Allard Wittman Royce (CA) Womack Woodall Ruppersberger Yarmuth Yoder Russell Yoho Rutherford Young (AK) Rvan (OH) Young (IA) Zeldin Sánchez NAYS-1 Amash

NOT VOTING-29

Bishop (UT) Engel Blum Brooks (AL) Granger Gutiérrez Carter (TX) Harris Cummings Curbelo (FL) Johnson, Sam Lawson (FL) Lewis (GA) DeSantis Doyle, Michael F. Lieu, Ted Lipinski

Lofgren Maloney, Carolyn B. McEachin Meng Napolitano Noem