forward to having the Senate move similar bipartisan legislation so we can get the job done. That is what it is all

So I want to thank the gentleman for his tireless commitment to getting this issue done.

Mr. Speaker, I urge my colleagues to support this bill again.

I yield back the balance of my time. Mr. GENE GREEN of Texas. Mr. Speaker, I rise today in support of H.R. 338, to Promote a 21st Century Energy and Manufacturing Workforce Future Act.

For years, many of the industries I represent have complained of workforce shortages.

In East Houston and Harris County, if we were able to recruit every union electrician in the country, we would still have a shortage.

The same is probably true for pipefitters, welders, etc.

The economy in our part of the country is rapidly expanding thanks to the development of the Eagleford shale and the Permian Basin.

We must ensure that this economic prosperity is shared across all of our community. In Texas, workforce diversity has to be a reality.

I am pleased that Representative RUSH has crafted this legislation and I am proud to be an original co-sponsor.

I am also proud to support workforce development opportunities for Hispanics, African-Americans, and women in the energy field.

The industry needs skilled workers and we need to create opportunity for everyone, including many of those I represent in and around the area.

The bill will encourage the Department of Energy to conduct outreach to these communities to ensure they have access to the knowledge, skills and abilities required to fill high paying jobs in the energy field.

Thanks to efforts by ExxonMobil and the Texas Gulf Coast Community College Consortium, we are already addressing the workforce needs of our industries but more needs to be done and this bill will help us achieve these goals.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The question is on the motion offered by the gentleman from Michigan (Mr. UPTON) that the House suspend the rules and pass the bill, H.R. 338.

The question was taken; and (twothirds being in the affirmative) the rules were suspended and the bill was passed.

A motion to reconsider was laid on the table.

RECESS

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 12(a) of rule I, the Chair declares the House in recess until approximately 6:30 p.m. today.

Accordingly (at 4 o'clock and 45 minutes p.m.), the House stood in recess.

□ 1830

AFTER RECESS

The recess having expired, the House was called to order by the Speaker pro tempore (Mr. WOMACK) at 6 o'clock and 30 minutes p.m.

ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SPEAKER PRO TEMPORE

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 8 of rule XX, proceedings will resume on motions to suspend the rules previously postponed.

Votes will be taken in the following

H.R. 2292, by the yeas and nays; H.R. 2457, by the yeas and nays.

The first electronic vote will be conducted as a 15-minute vote. The second electronic vote will be conducted as a 5-minute vote.

EXTENDING A PROJECT INVOLV-ING THE CANNONSVILLE DAM

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The unfinished business is the vote on the motion to suspend the rules and pass the bill (H.R. 2292) to extend a project of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission involving the Cannonsville Dam, on which the yeas and nays were ordered.

The Clerk read the title of the bill.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The question is on the motion offered by the gentleman from Michigan (Mr. UPTON) that the House suspend the rules and pass the bill.

The vote was taken by electronic device, and there were—yeas 400, nays 1, not voting 29, as follows:

[Roll No. 300]

YEAS-400

Abraham Carson (IN) DesJarlais Carter (GA) Deutch Aderholt Cartwright Diaz-Balart Castor (FL) Dingell Aguilar Castro (TX) Doggett Amodei Chabot Donovan Chaffetz Arrington Duffy Babin Cheney Chu. Judy Duncan (SC) Bacon Duncan (TN) Banks (IN) Cicilline Dunn Clark (MA) Barletta Ellison Barr Clarke (NY) Emmer Barragán Eshoo Clay Cleaver Espaillat Barton Bass Clyburn Estes (KS) Beatty Coffman Esty (CT) Bera Cohen Evans Farenthold Bergman Cole Beyer Collins (GA) Faso Biggs Collins (NY) Ferguson Bilirakis Fitzpatrick Comer Comstock Bishop (GA) Fleischmann Bishop (MI) Conaway Flores Connolly Fortenberry Black Blackburn Conyers Foster Blumenauer Cook Foxx Blunt Rochester Frankel (FL) Cooper Bonamici Correa Franks (AZ) Bost Costa. Frelinghuysen Costello (PA) Boyle, Brendan Fudge Courtney Gabbard Brady (PA) Cramer Gaetz Gallagher Brady (TX) Crawford Crist Gallego Brat Garamendi Bridenstine Crowley Brooks (IN) Cuellar Garrett Brown (MD) Gibbs Culberson Brownley (CA) Gohmert Davidson Gonzalez (TX) Buchanan Davis (CA) Buck Davis, Danny Goodlatte Bucshon Davis, Rodney Gosar Gottheimer Budd DeFazio Gowdy Graves (GA) Burgess DeGette Bustos Delaney Butterfield DeLauro Graves (LA) Byrne DelBene Graves (MO) Calvert Demings Green, Al Green, Gene Capuano Denham Carbajal Dent Griffith DeSaulnier

Cárdenas

Hice, Jody B. Higgins (LA) Higgins (NY) Hill Himes Holding Hollingsworth Hudson Huffman Huizenga Hultgren Hunter Hurd Issa. Jackson Lee Jayapal Jeffries Jenkins (KS) Jenkins (WV) Johnson (GA) Johnson (LA) Johnson (OH) Johnson, E. B. Jones Jordan Joyce (OH) Kaptur Katko Keating Kelly (IL) Kelly (MS) Kelly (PA) Kennedy Khanna Kihuen Kildee Kilmer Kind King (IA) King (NY) Kinzinger Knight Krishnamoorthi Kuster (NH) Kustoff (TN) Labrador LaHood LaMalfa Lamborn Lance Langevin Larsen (WA) Larson (CT) Latta Lawrence Lee Levin Lewis (MN) LoBiondo Loebsack Long Loudermilk Love Lowenthal Lowey Lucas Luetkemeyer Lujan Grisham, M. Luján, Ben Ray Lvnch MacArthur Maloney, Sean Marchant Marino

Grothman

Hanabusa

Harper

Hartzler

Hastings

Hensarling

Herrera Beutler

Heck

Mast. Matsui McCarthy McCaul McClintock McCollum McGovern McHenry McKinley McMorris Rodgers McNerney McSally Meadows Meehan Meeks Messer Mitchell Moolenaar Mooney (WV) Moore Moulton Mullin Murphy (FL) Murphy (PA) Nadler Neal Newhouse Nolan Norcross Nunes O'Halleran O'Rourke Olson Palazzo Pallone Palmer Panetta Pascrel1 Paulsen Payne Pearce Pelosi Perlmutter Perry Peters Peterson Pittenger Pocan Poliquin Posev Price (NC) Quigley Raskin Ratcliffe Reed Reichert Rice (NY) Rice (SC) Richmond Roby Roe (TN) Rogers (AL) Rogers (KY) Rokita Rooney, Francis Rooney, Thomas J. Ros-Lehtinen Rosen Roskam Ross Rothfus Rouzer Roybal-Allard Royce (CA) Ruiz Ruppersberger Rush Russell Rutherford Rvan (OH) Sánchez

Marshall Sanford Massie Sarbanes Scalise Schakowsky Schiff Schneider Schrader Schweikert Scott (VA) Scott, Austin Scott, David Sensenbrenner Serrano Sessions Sewell (AL) Shea-Porter Sherman Shimkus Shuster Simpson Sinema Sires Slaughter Smith (MO) Smith (NE) Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Smith (WA) Smucker Soto Speier Stefanik Stewart Stivers Suozzi Swalwell (CA) Takano Taylor Tennev Thompson (CA) Thompson (MS) Thompson (PA) Thornberry Tipton Titus Tonko Torres Trott Tsongas Turner Upton Valadao Vargas Veasey Vela Velázquez Visclosky Wagner Walberg Walden Walker Walorski Walters, Mimi Walz Wasserman Schultz Waters, Maxine Watson Coleman Weber (TX) Webster (FL) Welch Wenstrup Westerman Williams Wilson (FL) Wilson (SC) Wittman Womack Woodall Yarmuth Yoder Yoho Young (AK) Young (IA)

NAYS-1 Amash

NOT VOTING-29

Bishop (UT) Blum Brooks (AL) Carter (TX) Cummings Curbelo (FL) DeSantis Doyle, Michael F.

Grijalva

Engel Lofgren Granger Maloney, Gutiérrez Carolyn B. Harris McEachin Johnson, Sam Meng Lawson (FL) Napolitano Lewis (GA) Noem Lieu, Ted Lipinski

Zeldin