CONGRESSIONAL RECORD—HOUSE

McClintock

Green, Al

Carbajal

Cárdenas

RECESS

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 12(a) of rule I, the Chair declares the House in recess until approximately 6:30 p.m. today.

Accordingly (at 5 o'clock and 29 minutes p.m.), the House stood in recess.

\Box 1830

AFTER RECESS

The recess having expired, the House was called to order by the Speaker pro tempore (Mr. CARTER of Georgia) at 6 o'clock and 30 minutes p.m.

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

A message in writing from the President of the United States was communicated to the House by Ms. Mariel Ridgway, one of his secretaries.

ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SPEAKER PRO TEMPORE

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 8 of rule XX, proceedings will resume on motions to suspend the rules previously postponed.

Votes will be taken in the following order:

H.R. 1397, by the yeas and nays;

H.R. 1719, by the yeas and nays.

The first electronic vote will be conducted as a 15-minute vote. The remaining electronic vote will be conducted as a 5-minute vote.

INTERAGENCY OF TRANSFER LAND ALONG GEORGE WASH-INGTON MEMORIAL PARKWAY

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The unfinished business is the vote on the motion to suspend the rules and pass the bill (H.R. 1397) to authorize, direct, facilitate, and expedite the transfer of administrative jurisdiction of certain Federal land, and for other purposes, on which the yeas and nays were ordered.

The Clerk read the title of the bill.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The question is on the motion offered by the gentleman from Illinois (Mr. LAHOOD) that the House suspend the rules and pass the bill.

The vote was taken by electronic device, and there were—yeas 406, nays 0, not voting 26, as follows:

	[Roll No. 345] YEAS—406	
Abraham	Bera	Drodry (DA)
		Brady (PA)
Adams	Bergman	Brady (TX)
Aderholt	Beyer	Brat
Aguilar	Biggs	Bridenstine
Allen	Bilirakis	Brooks (AL)
Amash	Bishop (GA)	Brooks (IN)
Amodei	Bishop (MI)	Brown (MD)
Arrington	Bishop (UT)	Brownley (CA)
Babin	Black	Buchanan
Bacon	Blackburn	Buck
Banks (IN)	Blum	Bucshon
Barletta	Blumenauer	Budd
Barr	Blunt Rochester	Burgess
Barragán	Bonamici	Bustos
Barton	Bost	Byrne
Bass	Boyle, Brendan	Calvert
Beatty	F.	Capuano

Carson (IN) Carter (GA) Carter (TX) Cartwright Castor (FL) Castro (TX) Chabot Cheney Chu. Judy Cicilline Clark (MA) Clarke (NY) Clay Clyburn Coffman Cohen Cole Collins (NY) Comer Comstock Conaway Connolly Convers Cook Cooper Correa Costa Costello (PA) Courtney Cramer Crawford Crist Crowley Cuellar Culberson Curbelo (FL) Davidson Davis (CA) Davis, Danny Davis, Rodney DeFazio DeGette Delaney DeLauro DelBene Demings Denham Dent DeSantis DeSaulnier Des Jarlais Deutch Diaz-Balart Dingell Doggett Donovan Doyle, Michael Duffy Duncan (SC) Dunn Ellison Emmer Engel Eshoo Espaillat Estes (KS) Estv (CT) Evans Farenthold Faso Ferguson Fitzpatrick Fleischmann Flores Fortenberry Foster Foxx Frankel (FL) Franks (AZ) Frelinghuysen Fudge Gabbard Gallagher Gallego Garamendi Gianforte Gibbs Gohmert Gonzalez (TX) Goodlatte Gottheimer Gowdy Granger Graves (GA) Graves (LA) Graves (MO)

Green, Gene Griffith Grothman Guthrie Hanabusa Handel Harper Harris Hartzler Hastings Heck Hensarling Herrera Beutler Hice, Jody B. Higgins (LA) Higgins (NY) Hill Himes Holding Hollingsworth Hudson Huffman Huizenga Hultgren Hunter Issa. Jackson Lee Jayapal **J**effries Jenkins (KS) Jenkins (WV) Johnson (GA) Johnson (LA) Johnson (OH) Johnson, E. B. Jones Jordan Joyce (OH) Kaptur Katko Keating Kelly (IL) Kelly (MS) Kelly (PA) Kennedy Khanna Kihuen Kildee Kilmer Kind King (IA) King (NY) Kinzinger Knight Krishnamoorthi Kuster (NH) Kustoff (TN) Labrador LaHood LaMalfa Lamborn Lance Langevin Larsen (WA) Latta Lawrence Lawson (FL) Lee Levin Lewis (GA) Lewis (MN) Lipinski LoBiondo Loebsack Lofgren Long Loudermilk Love Lowenthal Lowey Lucas Luetkemeyer Lujan Grisham, Ň. Luján, Ben Ray Lynch MacArthur Maloney, Carolyn B. Maloney, Sean Marchant Marino Marshall Massie Mast Matsui McCarthy McCaul Simpson

McCollum McEachin McGovern McHenry McKinley McMorris Rodgers McNerney McSally Meadows Meehan Meeks Meng Messer Mitchell Moolenaar Mooney (WV) Moulton Mullin Murphy (FL) Murphy (PA) Nadler Neal Newhouse Noem Nolan Norcross Norman Nunes O'Halleran O'Rourke Olson Palazzo Pallone Palmer Panetta Pascrell Paulsen Pavne Pelosi Perry Peters Peterson Pingree Pittenger Pocan Poe (TX) Poliguin Polis Posey Price (NC) Quiglev Ratcliffe Reed Reichert Renacci Rice (NY) Rice (SC) Richmond Roby Roe (TN) Rogers (AL) Rogers (KY) Rokita Rooney, Francis Ros-Lehtinen Rosen Roskam Ross Rothfus Rouzer Roybal-Allard Royce (CA) Ruiz Ruppersberger Rush Russell Rutherford Ryan (OH) Sánchez Sanford Sarbanes Schakowsky Schiff Schneider Schrader Scott (VA) Scott, Austin Scott, David Sensenbrenner Serrano Sessions Sewell (AL) Shea-Porter Sherman Shimkus Shuster

Sinema Sires Slaughter Smith (MO) Smith (NE) Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Smith (WA) Soto Speier Stefanik Stewart Stivers Suozzi Swalwell (CA) Takano Taylor Tennev Thompson (CA) Thompson (MS) Thompson (PA) Thornberry Butterfield Cleaver Collins (GA) Cummings Duncan (TN) Gaetz Garrett Gosar Grijalva the table.

Tiberi Tipton Tonko Torres Trott Tsongas Turner Upton Valadao Vargas Veasey Vela Velázouez Visclosky Wagner Walberg Walden Walker Walorski Walters, Mimi Walz

Watson Coleman Weber (TX) Webster (FL) Welch Wenstrup Westerman Williams Wilson (FL) Wilson (SC) Wittman Womack Woodall Yarmuth Yoder Yoho Young (AK) Young (IA) Zeldin

NOT VOTING-26

Gutiérrez Hoyer Hurd Johnson, Sam Lieu, Ted Moore Napolitano Pearce

Perlmutter Raskin Rohrabacher Rooney, Thomas J. Scalise Schweikert Smucker Titus

□ 1853

Larson (CT)

Mr. WENSTRUP changed his vote from "nay" to "yea."

So (two-thirds being in the affirmative) the rules were suspended and the bill was passed.

The result of the vote was announced as above recorded.

A motion to reconsider was laid on

COMMUNICATION FROM THE CLERK OF THE HOUSE

The SPEAKER laid before the House the following communication from the Clerk of the House of Representatives:

OFFICE OF THE CLERK,

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES,

Washington, DC, June 20, 2017.

Hon. PAUL D. RYAN, The Speaker, House of Representatives,

Washington, DC.

DEAR MR. SPEAKER: I have the honor to transmit herewith a copy of the Certificate of Election received from the Honorable Alex Padilla, California Secretary of State, indicating that, at the Special Election held on June 6, 2017, the Honorable Jimmy Gomez was duly elected Representative in Congress for the 34th Congressional District, State of California.

With best wishes, I am, Sincerely.

KAREN L. HAAS.

Clerk.

Enclosure.

STATE OF CALIFORNIA

CERTIFICATE OF ELECTION

I, Alex Padilla, Secretary of State of the State of California, hereby certify that according to information concerning the statement of the results of the Special General Election held on the 6th day of June, 2017, on file in my office, Jimmy Gomez was elected to the office of United States Representative District 34.

In witness whereof, I hereunto set my hand and affix the Great Seal of the State of California, at Sacramento, this 19th day of June, 2017.

ALEX PADILLA, Secretary of State.

[State Seal Affixed]

Wasserman

Schultz

Waters, Maxine