CORRECTION

□ 1419

Mr. DUNCAN of South Carolina changed his vote from "present" "yea."

So (two-thirds being in the affirmative) the rules were suspended and the bill was passed.

The result of the vote was announced as above recorded.

A motion to reconsider was laid on the table.

THE JOURNAL

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The unfinished business is the question on agreeing to the Speaker's approval of the Journal, which the Chair will put de novo.

The question is on the Speaker's approval of the Journal.

The question was taken; and the Speaker pro tempore announced that the ayes appeared to have it.

Mr. WOODALL. Mr. Speaker, on that I demand the yeas and nays.

The yeas and nays were ordered.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. This is a 5-minute vote.

The vote was taken by electronic device, and there were—yeas 225, nays 187, answered "present" 1, not voting 18, as follows:

[Roll No. 707] YEAS-225

Abraham Dent Kelly (PA) Kildee King (IA) Aderholt DeSaulnier Des Jarlais Allen Amodei King (NY) Dingell Krishnamoorthi Arrington Doggett Kuster (NH) Babin Donovan Banks (IN) Kustoff (TN) Duffy Duncan (SC) Barletta Labrador LaMalfa Barr Duncan (TN) Bergman Dunn Lamborn **Bilirakis** Ellison Latta Lewis (MN) Bishop (UT) Eshoo Estes (KS) Lipinski Black Blackburn Farenthold Long Loudermilk Blumenauer Ferguson Blunt Rochester Fleischmann Lowey Brady (TX) Fortenberry Lucas Brat Frankel (FL) Luetkemeyer Brooks (IN) Frelinghuysen Lujan Grisham, Brown (MD) Gabbard M. Marchant Buchanan Gaetz Marino Marshall Bucshon Garrett Gianforte Budd Bustos Gibbs Massie Butterfield Goodlatte McCarthy Carter (TX) Gowdy McCaul McClintock Graves (LA) Cartwright Castro (TX) Griffith McCollum McEachin Chabot Grothman McHenry Cheney Guthrie Chu, Judy Handel McMorris Clav Rodgers Harper Harris McNerney Collins (GA) Hartzler McSally Collins (NY) Heck Meadows Comstock Hensarling Meeks Hice, Jody B. Cook Meng Cooper Higgins (LA) Messer Cramer Hill Mitchell Crawford Himes Moolenaar Hollingsworth Mooney (WV) Crist Moore Cuellar Huffman Culberson Moulton Huizenga Cummings Hultgren Mullin Curbelo (FL) Hunter Murphy (FL) Curtis Hurd Nadler Davidson Issa Newhouse Davis (CA) Johnson (GA) Noem Davis, Danny Johnson (LA) Norman Johnson, Sam Davis, Rodney Nunes DeLauro Joyce (OH) O'Rourke Demings Kaptur Palazzo

Pascrell Pelosi Perlmutter Perry Peters Pingree Posev Quigley Reed Reichert Rice (SC) Roby Roe (TN) Rogers (KY) Rohrabacher Rokita Rooney, Francis Ros-Lehtinen Ross Rothfus Royce (CA) Ruppersberger

Rutherford

Adams

Aguilar

Barragán

Amash

Barton

Beatty

Bass

Bera

Bever

Biggs

Blum

Bost

Buck

Burgess

Capuano

Carbajal

Cárdenas Carson (IN)

Carter (GA)

Castor (FL)

Clark (MA)

Clarke (NY)

Cicilline

Cleaver

Clyburn

Coffman

Conaway

Connolly

Courtney

Crowley

DeFazio

DeGette

Delanev

DelBene

Denham

DeSantis

Diaz-Balart

Deutch

Emmer

Espaillat

Esty (CT)

Fitzpatrick

Engel

Evans

Flores

Foxx

Fudge

Gallagher

Costello (PA)

Correa

Costa

Cohen

Comer

Byrne

Bishop (GA)

Bishop (MI)

Bonamici

Brady (PA)

Tiberi Sanford Scalise Trott Schneider Tsongas Schweikert Turner Scott (VA) Wagner Scott, David Walherg Sensenbrenner Walden Walorski Serrano Sessions Walters, Mimi Walz Sherman Wasserman Shimkus Shuster Schultz Waters, Maxine Simpson Smith (MO) Weber (TX) Smith (NE) Webster (FL) Smith (NJ) Welch Smith (WA) Wenstrup Speier Westerman Stefanik Williams Stewart Wilson (SC) Takano Womack Taylor Yarmuth Young (IA) Tenney Thornberry Zeldin

NAYS-187

Gallego Nolan Garamendi Norcross Gomez O'Halleran Gonzalez (TX) Gottheimer Palmer Graves (GA) Panetta Graves (MO) Paulsen Green, Al Pavne Green, Gene Pearce Grijalva Peterson Gutiérrez Pittenger Hanabusa Poe (TX) Hastings Poliquin Herrera Beutler Polis Higgins (NY) Price (NC) Boyle, Brendan Holding Raskin Hover Ratcliffe Hudson Rice (NY) Brownley (CA) Jackson Lee Richmond Javanal Rogers (AL) Jeffries Rosen Jenkins (KS) Roskam Jenkins (WV) Johnson (OH) Rouzer Roybal-Allard Johnson, E. B. Ruiz Jordan Katko Rush Keating Ryan (OH) Kelly (IL) Sánchez Kelly (MS) Sarbanes Khanna Schakowsky Kihuen Schiff Kilmer Schrader Kind Scott, Austin Kinzinger Sewell (AL) Knight Shea-Porter LaHood Sinema Lance Sires Langevin Slaughter Larsen (WA) Smucker Larson (CT) Soto Lawrence Stivers Lawson (FL) Swalwell (CA) Lee Thompson (CA) Levin Thompson (MS) Lewis (GA) Thompson (PA) Lieu, Ted Tipton LoBiondo Titus Loebsack Torres Lofgren Upton Love Valadao Lowenthal Doyle, Michael Vargas Luján, Ben Ray Veasey Lynch Vela. MacArthur Velázquez Maloney, Visclosky Carolyn B Walker Maloney, Sean Watson Coleman Mast Wilson (FL) Matsui Woodall McGovern McKinley Yoder Meehan Yoho Neal Young (AK)

ANSWERED "PRESENT"-1

Tonko

NOT VOTING-18

Bacon Foster Jones Bridenstine Kennedy Gohmert Brooks (AL) Gosar Napolitano Olson Calvert Granger

Renacci

Rooney, Thomas Smith (TX)

Suozzi Wittman

 \Box 1426

So the Journal was approved. The result of the vote was announced as above recorded.

PERSONAL EXPLANATION

Mr. SUOZZI. Mr. Speaker, I was unable to be present today, December 21, 2017. Had I been present, I would have voted "Yes" on rollcall votes No. 706 and No. 707, and "No" on rollcall votes No. 704 and No. 705.

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

A message in writing from the President of the United States was communicated to the House by Ms. Mariel Ridgway, one of his secretaries.

APPOINTMENTS то FREDERICK DOUGLASS BICENTENNIAL COM-MISSION

The SPEAKER pro tempore (Mr. BOST). The Chair announces the Speaker's appointment, pursuant to section 5 of the Frederick Douglass Bicentennial Commission Act (Pub. L. 115-77), and the order of the House of January 3, 2017, of the following Member on the part of the House to the Frederick Douglass Bicentennial Commission:

Mr. HARRIS, Maryland

And from private life:

Ms. Sylvia Quinton, Mardela Springs, Maryland

Dr. C. James Trotman, West Chester, Pennsylvania

AUTHORIZING THE USE OF THE ROTUNDA OF THE CAPITOL FOR A CEREMONY TO AWARD THE CONGRESSIONAL GOLD MEDAL TO BOB DOLE

Mr. HARPER, Mr. Speaker, I ask unanimous consent to take from the Speaker's table the concurrent resolution (S. Con. Res. 31) authorizing the use of the rotunda of the Capitol for a ceremony to award the Congressional Gold Medal to Bob Dole, and ask for its immediate consideration in the House.

The Clerk read the title of the concurrent resolution.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Is there objection to the request of the gentleman from Mississippi?

There was no objection.

The text of the concurrent resolution is as follows:

S. CON. RES. 31

Resolved by the Senate (the House of Representatives concurring),

SECTION 1. USE OF THE ROTUNDA OF THE CAPITOL FOR CEREMONY TO AWARD THE CONGRESSIONAL GOLD MEDAL TO BOB DOLE.

(a) AUTHORIZATION.—The rotunda of the Capitol is authorized to be used on January 17, 2018, for a ceremony to award the Congressional Gold Medal to Bob Dole.

(b) PREPARATIONS.—Physical preparations for the conduct of the ceremony described in subsection (a) shall be carried out in accordance with such conditions as may be prescribed by the Architect of the Capitol.