

of America

Congressional Record

PROCEEDINGS AND DEBATES OF THE 115^{th} congress, first session

Vol. 163

WASHINGTON, WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 3, 2018

No. 216

Senate

The Senate was not in session today. Its next meeting will be held on Wednesday, January 3, 2018, at 12 p.m.

House of Representatives

WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 3, 2018

The House met at 11 a.m. and was called to order by the Speaker pro tempore (Mr. McHenry).

DESIGNATION OF THE SPEAKER PRO TEMPORE

The SPEAKER pro tempore laid before the House the following communication from the Speaker:

> WASHINGTON, DC, January 3, 2018.

I hereby appoint the Honorable PATRICK T. MCHENRY to act as Speaker pro tempore on

> PAUL D. RYAN, Speaker of the House of Representatives.

PRAYER

The Chaplain, the Reverend Patrick J. Conroy, offered the following prayer: God of the universe, we give You thanks for giving us another day.

In the final hour of the First Session of the 115th Congress, we give You thanks for Your faithfulness to our Nation. There have been many struggles, many sorrows, and yet we are still here and able to give You thanks that millions of our citizens live free.

May the work of the second session issue forth with legislation to the benefit of our Nation and its citizens, and where the efforts of this Congress have fallen short, we ask Your forgiveness and the forgiveness of all Americans.

May all that is done this day be for Your greater honor and glory.

Amen.

THE JOURNAL

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to section 3(a) of House Resolution 670, the Journal of the last day's proceedings is approved.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The Chair will lead the House in the Pledge of Allegiance.

The SPEAKER pro tempore led the Pledge of Allegiance as follows:

I pledge allegiance to the Flag of the United States of America, and to the Republic for which it stands, one nation under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all.

ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SPEAKER PRO TEMPORE

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 4 of rule I, the following enrolled bill was signed by Speaker pro tempore Comstock on Wednesday, January 3, 2018:

S. 2273, to extend the period during which vessels that are shorter than 79 feet in length and fishing vessels are not required to have a permit for discharges incidental to the normal operation of the vessel.

RECESS

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 12(a) of rule I, the Chair declares the House in recess subject to the call of the Chair.

Accordingly (at 11 o'clock and 2 minutes a.m.), the House stood in recess.

□ 1155

AFTER RECESS

The recess having expired, the House was called to order by the Speaker pro tempore (Mr. MCHENRY) at 11 o'clock and 55 minutes a.m.

SENATE ENROLLED BILL SIGNED

The Speaker pro tempore, Mrs. Com-STOCK, announced her signature to an enrolled bill of the Senate of the following title:

S. 2273. An act to extend the period during which vessels that are shorter than 79 feet in length and fishing vessels are not required to have a permit for discharges incidental to the normal operation of the vessel.

SINE DIE ADJOURNMENT

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to the 20th Amendment to the Constitution of the United States, the Chair declares the First Session of the 115th Congress adjourned sine die.

Thereupon (at 11 o'clock and 55 minutes a.m.), the House adjourned.

EXECUTIVE COMMUNICATIONS,

Under clause 2 of rule XIV,

3578. A letter from the Director, Regulatory Management Division, Environmental Protection Agency, transmitting the Agency's withdrawal of direct final rule — Voluntary Consensus Standards Update; Formaldehyde Emission Standards for Composite Wood Products [EPA-HQ-OPPT-2017-0245; FRL-9971-38] (RIN: 2070-AK36) received December 8, 2017, pursuant to 5 U.S.C.

☐ This symbol represents the time of day during the House proceedings, e.g., ☐ 1407 is 2:07 p.m.

Matter set in this typeface indicates words inserted or appended, rather than spoken, by a Member of the House on the floor.



801(a)(1)(A); Public Law 104-121, Sec. 251; (110 Stat. 868), was taken from the Speaker's table, referred to the Committee on Energy and Commerce.

PUBLIC BILLS AND RESOLUTIONS

Under clause 2 of rule XII, public bills and resolutions of the following titles were introduced and severally referred, as follows:

By Mr. PEARCE:

H.R. 4735. A bill to provide compensation to persons injured by the Gold King Mine spill and fund certain long-term water quality monitoring programs, and for other purposes; to the Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure, and in addition to the Committees on the Judiciary, Energy and Commerce, and Agriculture, for a period to be subsequently determined by the Speaker, in each case for consideration of such provisions as fall within the jurisdiction of the committee concerned.

By Mr. SMITH of Missouri (for himself, Mr. KING of Iowa, and Mrs. HANDEL): H.R. 4736. A bill to amend the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 to allow section 529 edu-

cation accounts to be homeschooling expenses; to the Committee on Ways and Means.

CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORITY STATEMENT

Pursuant to clause 7 of rule XII of the Rules of the House of Representatives, the following statements are submitted regarding the specific powers granted to Congress in the Constitution to enact the accompanying bill or joint resolution.

By Mr. PEARCE:

H.R. 4735.

Congress has the power to enact this legislation pursuant to the following:

Article I, Section 8, clause 18 of the United States Constitution.

By Mr. SMITH of Missouri:

H.R. 4736.

Congress has the power to enact this legislation pursuant to the following:

Article I. Section 8. Clause 1 of the Constitution of the United States.

ADDITIONAL SPONSORS

Under clause 7 of rule XII, sponsors were added to public bills and resolutions, as follows:

H.R. 850: Mr. LAHOOD, Mr. GARRETT, Mr. GRAVES of Louisiana, Mr. KING of Iowa, and Mr. Burgess.

H.R. 1078: Mrs. Lowey.

H.R. 1206: Mr. CARTWRIGHT.

H.B. 1456: Mr. PALLONE

H.R. 2451: Mr. CAPUANO.

H.R. 2460: Mr. CALVERT. H.R. 2589: Mr. COFFMAN.

H.R. 3835: Mr. Messer.

H.R. 4240: Mr. PANETTA.

H.R. 4392: Mr. HIMES and Mr. ADERHOLT.

H.R. 4481: Ms. Rosen.

H.R. 4547: Mr. Tonko, Mr. DeSaulnier, Ms. DELBENE, and Mr. THOMPSON of California.

H.R. 4633: Mr. HULTGREN.

H.R. 4712: Mr. KING of Iowa.

H. Con. Res. 59: Mr. DELANEY.

H. Con. Res. 63: Mr. SWALWELL of California, Mr. Langevin, Mr. Butterfield, Mr. CLEAVER, and Mr. VELA.

H. Con. Res. 72: Mr. SMITH of Texas, Mr. FARENTHOLD, Ms. BASS, and Mr. POLIS.