Scott, Austin

how the Republicans describe the previous question vote in their own manual: "Although it is generally not possible to amend the rule because the majority Member controlling the time will not yield for the purpose of offering an amendment, the same result may be achieved by voting down the previous question on the rule . . When the motion for the previous question is defeated, control of the time passes to the Member who led the opposition to ordering the previous question. That Member, because he then controls the time, may offer an amendment to the rule, or yield for the purpose of amendment."

In Deschler's Procedure in the U.S. House of Representatives, the subchapter titled "Amending Special Rules" states: "a refusal to order the previous question on such a rule [a special rule reported from the Committee on Rules] opens the resolution to amendment and further debate." (Chapter 21, section 21.2) Section 21.3 continues: "Upon rejection of the motion for the previous question on a resolution reported from the Committee on Rules, control shifts to the Member leading the opposition to the previous question, who may offer a proper amendment or motion and who controls the time for debate thereon."

Clearly, the vote on the previous question on a rule does have substantive policy implications. It is one of the only available tools for those who oppose the Republican majority's agenda and allows those with alternative views the opportunity to offer an alternative plan.

Mr. BURGESS. Mr. Speaker, I yield back the balance of my time, and I move the previous question on the resolution.

The SPEAKER pro tempore (Mr. BACON). The question is on ordering the previous question.

The question was taken; and the Speaker pro tempore announced that the ayes appeared to have it.

Mr. HASTINGS. Mr. Speaker, on that I demand the yeas and nays.

The yeas and nays were ordered.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 8 of rule XX, further proceedings on this question will be postponed.

RECESS

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 12(a) of rule I, the Chair declares the House in recess subject to the call of the Chair.

Accordingly (at 1 o'clock and 4 minutes p.m.), the House stood in recess.

□ 1340

AFTER RECESS

The recess having expired, the House was called to order by the Speaker pro tempore (Mr. Jody B. Hice of Georgia) at 1 o'clock and 40 minutes p.m.

ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SPEAKER PRO TEMPORE

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 8 of rule XX, proceedings will resume on questions previously postponed.

Votes will be taken in the following order:

Ordering the previous question on House Resolution 787; and

Adoption of House Resolution 787, if ordered.

The first electronic vote will be conducted as a 15-minute vote. The second electronic vote will be conducted as a 5-minute vote.

PROVIDING FORCONSIDERATION OF H.R. 4566. ALLEVIATING STRESS TEST BURDENS TO HELP INVESTORS ACT; PROVIDING FOR CONSIDERATION OF5247 H.R. TRICKETT WENDLER, FRANK MONGIELLO. JORDAN McLINN. AND MATTHEW BELLINA RIGHT TO TRY ACT OF 2018; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The unfinished business is the vote on ordering the previous question on the resolution (H. Res. 787) providing for consideration of the bill (H.R. 4566) to amend the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act to provide relief to nonbanks from certain stress test requirements under such Act; providing for consideration of the bill (H.R. 5247) to authorize the use of eligible investigational drugs by eligible patients who have been diagnosed with a stage of a disease or condition in which there is reasonable likelihood that death will occur within a matter of months, or with another eligible illness, and for other purposes; and for other purposes, on which the yeas and nays were ordered.

The Clerk read the title of the resolution.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The question is on ordering the previous question.

The vote was taken by electronic device, and there were—yeas 233, nays 181, not voting 15, as follows:

[Roll No. 117]

YEAS—233

Abraham Cheney Flores Aderholt Coffman Fortenberry Allen Cole Foxx Amash Collins (GA) Frelinghuysen Amodei Collins (NY) Gaetz Gallagher Arrington Comer Babin Comstock Garrett Gianforte Bacon Conaway Banks (IN) Cook Gibbs Costello (PA) Barr Gohmert Barton Cramer Goodlatte Bergman Crawford Gosar Biggs Culberson Gowdy Bilirakis Curbelo (FL) Granger Bishop (MI) Graves (GA) Bishop (UT) Davidson Graves (LA) Davis, Rodney Graves (MO) Blackburn Denham Griffith Bost. Dent Grothman Brady (TX) DeSantis Guthrie Brat DesJarlais Handel Bridenstine Diaz-Balart Harper Brooks (AL) Donovan Harris Brooks (IN) Duffy Hartzler Duncan (SC) Hensarling Buchanan Herrera Beutler Buck Duncan (TN) Bucshon Hice, Jody B. Dunn Budd Emmer Higgins (LA) Burgess Estes (KS) Hill Farenthold Holding Byrne Hollingsworth Calvert Faso Carter (GA) Hudson Ferguson Carter (TX) Fitzpatrick Huizenga Fleischmann Hultgren Chabot

Hunter Hurd Issa Jenkins (KS) Jenkins (WV) Johnson (LA) Johnson (OH) Johnson, Sam Jordan Jovce (OH) Katko Kelly (MS) Kelly (PA) King (IA) King (NY) Kinzinger Knight Kustoff (TN) Labrador LaMalfa Lamborn Latta Lewis (MN) LoBiondo Long Loudermilk Lucas Luetkemever MacArthur Marchant Marino Marshall Massie Mast McCarthy McCaul McClintock McHenry McKinley McMorris Rodgers McSally

Adams

Bass

Bera.

Bever

Bishop (GA)

Blumenauer

Bonamici

Brady (PA)

Brown (MD)

Butterfield

Capuano

Carbajal

Cárdenas

Carson (IN)

Cartwright

Castor (FL)

Castro (TX)

Clark (MA)

Clarke (NY)

Cicilline

Clay

Cleaver

Clyburn

Connolly

Cohen

Cooper

Correa

Courtney

Crowley

Cuellar

DeFazio

DeGette

Delanev

DeLauro

DelBene

Demines

Deutch

Dingell

Doggett

DeSaulnier

Davis (CA)

Costa

Crist

Brownley (CA)

Ē

Bustos

Blunt Rochester

Boyle, Brendan

Beatty

Aguilar

Barragán

Meadows Meehan Messer Mitchell Moolenaar Mullin Newhouse Noem Norman Nunes Olson Palazzo Palmer. Paulsen Pearce Perrv Pittenger Poe (TX) Poliquin Posey Ratcliffe Reed Reichert Renacci Rice (SC) Roby Roe (TN) Rogers (AL) Rogers (KY) Rohrabacher Rokita Rooney, Francis Rooney, Thomas Ros-Lehtinen Roskam Ross Rothfus Rouzer Royce (CA) Russell Rutherford Sanford Scalise Schweikert

Sensenbrenner Sessions Shimkus Shuster Simpson Smith (MO) Smith (NE) Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Smucker Stefanik Stewart Stivers Taylor Tenney Thompson (PA) Thornberry Tipton Trott Turner Upton Valadao Wagner Walberg Walden Walker Walorski Walters, Mimi Weber (TX) Webster (FL) Wenstrup Westerman Williams Wilson (SC) Wittman Womack Woodall Yoder Yoho Young (AK) Young (IA) Zeldin

Lowenthal

Lujan Grisham.

Lowey

NAYS-181

Doyle, Michael Ellison Engel Eshoo Espaillat Esty (CT) Evans Foster Frankel (FL) Fudge Gabbard Gallego Garamendi Gomez Gonzalez (TX) Gottheimer Green, Al Green, Gene Grijalva Gutiérrez Hanabusa Hastings Heck Higgins (NY) Himes Huffman Jackson Lee Javapal Jeffries Johnson (GA) Kaptur Keating Kennedy Khanna Kihuen Kildee Kilmer Kind Krishnamoorthi Kuster (NH) Langevin Larsen (WA) Larson (CT Lawrence Lawson (FL) Lee Levin Lewis (GA) Lieu, Ted Loebsack

Lofgren

Luján, Ben Ray Lynch Maloney, Carolyn B. Maloney, Sean Matsui McCollum McEachin McGovern McNerney Meeks Meng Moore Moulton Murphy (FL) Nadler Napolitano Neal Nolan Norcross O'Halleran O'Rourke Pallone Panetta Pascrell Payne Pelosi Perlmutter Peters Peterson Pocan Polis Price (NC) Quigley Raskin Rice (NY) Richmond Rosen Roybal-Allard Ruiz Ruppersberger Ryan (OH) Sánchez Sarbanes Schakowsky Schiff Schneider

Schrader