Marshall

McCarthy

McClintock

McHenry

McKinley

McMorris

McSally

Meadows

Meehan

Mitchell

Moolenaar

Newhouse

Mooney (WV)

Messer

Mullin

Noem

Nunes

Olson

Palazzo

Palmer

Paulsen

Pearce

Peterson

Pittenger

Poe (TX)

Poliquin

Posey Ratcliffe

Reichert

Renacci

Roby Roe (TN)

Rokita

J.

Ross

Roskam

Rothfus

Rouzer

Reed

Perry

Norman

Rodgers

McCaul

Mast

declares the House in recess subject to the call of the Chair.

Accordingly (at 4 o'clock and 42 minutes p.m.), the House stood in recess.

□ 1700

AFTER RECESS

The recess having expired, the House was called to order by the Speaker pro tempore (Mr. HULTGREN) at 5 p.m.

ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SPEAKER PRO TEMPORE

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 8 of rule XX, proceedings will resume on questions previously postponed.

Votes will be taken in the following order:

Suspending the rules and passing H.J. Res. 2; and

Agreeing to the Speaker's approval of the Journal, if ordered.

The first electronic vote will be conducted as a 15-minute vote. The second electronic vote will be conducted as a 5-minute vote.

PROPOSING A BALANCED BUDGET AMENDMENT TO THE CONSTITU-

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The unfinished business is the vote on the motion to suspend the rules and pass the joint resolution (H.J. Res. 2) proposing a balanced budget amendment to the Constitution of the United States, on which the yeas and navs were ordered.

The Clerk read the title of the joint resolution.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The question is on the motion offered by the gentleman from Virginia (Mr. GOODLATTE) that the House suspend the rules and pass the joint resolution.

The vote was taken by electronic device, and there were—yeas 233, nays 184, not voting 11, as follows:

[Roll No. 138]

YEAS-233

Abraham Calvert Duffy Aderholt Carter (GA) Duncan (SC) Allen Carter (TX) Duncan (TN) Amodei Chabot Dunn Arrington Cheney Emmer Estes (KS) Coffman Babin Bacon Cole Faso Banks (IN) Collins (GA) Ferguson Barletta Collins (NY) Fitzpatrick Comer Fleischmann Barton Comstock Flores Fortenberry Bergman Conaway Bilirakis Cook Frelinghuysen Bishop (MI) Cooper Bishop (UT) Costa Gaetz Black Blackburn Costello (PA) Gallagher Cramer Garrett Gianforte Blum Crawford Gibbs Goodlatte Bost Cuellar Brady (TX) Culberson Brat Curtis Gottheimer Bridenstine Gowdy Granger Davidson Davis, Rodney Brooks (AL) Brooks (IN) Denham Graves (GA) Buchanan Dent DeSantis Graves (LA) Graves (MO) Bucshon DesJarlais Griffith Budd Burgess Diaz-Balart Grothman Guthrie Byrne Donovan

Harper Harris Hartzler Hensarling Herrera Beutler Hice Jody B Higgins (LA) Hill Holding Hollingsworth Hudson Huizenga Hultgren Hunter Hurd Issa Jenkins (KS) Jenkins (WV) Johnson (LA) Johnson (OH) Johnson, Sam Jordan Joyce (OH) Katko Kelly (MS) Kelly (PA) Kind King (IA) King (NY) Kinzinger Knight Kustoff (TN) Labrador LaHood LaMalfa Lamborn Lance Latta Lewis (MN) LoBiondo Long Loudermilk Love Lucas Luetkemeyer MacArthur Marchant Marino

Adams

Aguilar

Amash

Beatty

Bera

Beyer

Riggs

Blumenauer

Bonamici

Brady (PA)

Brown (MD)

Butterfield

Bustos

Capuano

Carbajal

Cárdenas

Carson (IN)

Cartwright

Castor (FL)

Castro (TX)

Chu, Judy

Clark (MA)

Clarke (NY)

Cicilline

Clay

Cleaver

Clyburn

Connolly

Courtney

Crowley

DeFazio

DeGette

Delanev

DeLauro DelBene

Curbelo (FL)

Davis, Danny

Davis (CA)

Cohen

Correa

Crist

Brownley (CA)

Blunt Rochester

Boyle, Brendan

Barragán

Handel

Stivers Taylor Tenney Trott Turner Unton Walker Rogers (AL) Rogers (KY) Rohrabacher Wilson (SC) Rooney, Francis Wittman Womack Rooney, Thomas Woodall Ros-Lehtinen Yoder Yoho Young (AK) Young (IA) Zeldin

NAYS-184

Kuster (NH) Demings Langevin Larsen (WA) DeSaulnier Deutch Larson (CT) Dingell Doggett Lawrence Lawson (FL) Dovle, Michael Lee Ellison Levin Lewis (GA) Engel Lieu, Ted Eshoo Espaillat Lipinski Esty (CT) Loebsack Evans Lofgren Foster Lowenthal Fudge Lowey Lujan Grisham, Gabbard Gallego M. Luján, Ben Ray Garamendi Gohmert Lynch Gomez Maloney. Gonzalez (TX) Carolyn B. GosarMaloney, Sean Green, Al Massie Green, Gene Matsui Grijalva McCollum Gutiérrez McEachin Hanabusa McGovern Hastings McNerney Heck Meeks Higgins (NY) Meng Moulton Himes Murphy (FL) Hover Huffman Nadler Jackson Lee Napolitano Javanal Nea1 Jeffries Nolan Johnson (GA) Norcross O'Halleran Johnson, E. B. Kaptur O'Rourke Keating Kelly (IL) Pallone Panetta Kennedy Pascrell Khanna Payne Pelosi Kihuen Kildee Perlmutter Kilmer Peters Krishnamoorthi Pingree

Royce (CA) Polis Russell Rutherford Sanford Raskin Scalige Schweikert Scott, Austin Rosen Sensenbrenner Sessions Ruiz Shimkus Shuster Rush Sinema Smith (MO) Smith (NE) Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Smucker Stefanik Stewart Buck Thompson (PA) Thornberry Valadao Wagner Walberg Walden Walorski Walters, Mimi Weber (TX) Webster (FL) Wenstrup Westerman Williams

Price (NC) Quigley Rice (NY) Richmond Roybal-Allard Ruppersberger Ryan (OH) Sánchez Sarbanes Schakowsky

Schiff Schneider Schrader Scott (VA) Serrano Sewell (AL) Sherman Sires Smith (WA) Soto Speier Suozzi Swalwell (CA) Takano Thompson (CA) Thompson (MS)

Titus Tonko Torres Tsongas Vargas Veasey Vela. Velázquez Visclosky Wasserman Schultz Waters, Maxine Watson Coleman Welch Wilson (FL) Yarmuth

NOT VOTING-11

Bishop (GA) Moore Simpson Rice (SC) Tipton Cummings Scott, David Walz Frankel (FL) Shea-Porter

□ 1729

Mr. BROWN of Maryland changed his vote from "yea" to "nay."

Mrs. BLACK changed her vote from "nay" to "yea."

So (two-thirds not being in the affirmative) the motion was rejected.

The result of the vote was announced as above recorded.

COMMUNICATION FROM THE CLERK OF THE HOUSE

The SPEAKER laid before the House the following communication from the Clerk of the House of Representatives:

> OFFICE OF THE CLERK, House of Representatives, Washington, DC, April 6, 2018.

Hon. PAUL D. RYAN,

The Speaker, House of Representatives, Washington, DC.

DEAR MR. SPEAKER: I have the honor to transmit herewith a copy of the Certificate of Election received from the Honorable Tom Wolf, the Governor of Pennsylvania and the Honorable Robert Torres, the Acting Secretary of the Commonwealth, indicating that, at the Special Election held on March 13, 2018, the Honorable Conor Lamb was duly elected Representative in Congress for the 18th Congressional District, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.

With best wishes, I am Sincerely.

> KAREN L. HAAS, Clerk.

Enclosure.

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA Governor's Office

I, Tom Wolf, Governor of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, do hereby certify that at the Special Election held on the thirteenth day of March, 2018 Conor Lamb having received One hundred fourteen thousand one hundred two votes was duly elected to the office of Representative in Congress in the Eighteenth Congressional District of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.

Given under my hand and the Great Seal of the State, at the City of Harrisburg, this fourth day of April in the year of our Lord two thousand and eighteen and of the Commonwealth the two hundred and forty-sec-

> TOM WOLF, Governor.ROBERT TORRES, Acting Secretary of the Commonwealth.

[State Seal Affixed]