for his hard work on this issue, and I appreciate the staff's dedication to getting this to the floor today. This is a thoughtful, bipartisan piece of legislation that will help move the IRS forward and refocus the agency on the taxpayer experience, and I urge all Members to support this legislation.

Mr. Speaker, I yield back the balance of my time.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. All time for debate has expired.

Pursuant to House Resolution 831, the previous question is ordered on the bill, as amended.

The question is on the engrossment and third reading of the bill.

The bill was ordered to be engrossed and read a third time, and was read the third time.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The question is on the passage of the bill.

The question was taken; and the Speaker pro tempore announced that the ayes appeared to have it.

Ms. JENKINS of Kansas. Mr. Speaker, on that I demand the yeas and nays. The yeas and nays were ordered.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 8 of rule XX, further proceedings on this question will be postponed.

RECESS

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 12(a) of rule I, the Chair declares the House in recess until approximately 5:15 p.m. today.

Accordingly (at 2 o'clock and 59 minutes p.m.), the House stood in recess.

□ 1730

AFTER RECESS

The recess having expired, the House was called to order by the Speaker pro tempore (Mr. POE of Texas) at 5 o'clock and 30 minutes p.m.

COMMUNICATION FROM THE CLERK OF THE HOUSE

The SPEAKER pro tempore laid before the House the following communication from the Clerk of the House of Representatives:

> OFFICE OF THE CLERK. HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

Washington, DC, April 18, 2018.

Hon. PAUL D. RYAN, The Speaker, House of Representatives.

Washington, DC.

DEAR MR. SPEAKER: Pursuant to the permission granted in Clause 2(h) of Rule II of the Rules of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Clerk received the following message from the Secretary of the Senate on April 18, 2018, at 5:06 p.m.:

That the Senate agreed to S.J. Res. 57. With best wishes, I am,

Sincerely.

KAREN L. HAAS.

ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SPEAKER PRO TEMPORE

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 8 of rule XX, proceedings

will resume on questions previously postponed.

Votes will be taken in the following order:

Passage of H.R. 5445;

Passage of H.R. 5444; and

The motion to suspend the rules and pass H.R. 2905.

The first electronic vote will be conducted as a 15-minute vote. Remaining electronic votes will be conducted as 5minute votes.

21ST CENTURY IRS ACT

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The unfinished business is the vote on passage of the bill (H.R. 5445) to amend the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 to improve cybersecurity and taxpayer identity protection, and modernize the information technology of the Internal Revenue Service, and for other purposes, on which the yeas and nays were ordered.

The Clerk read the title of the bill.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The question is on the passage of the bill.

The vote was taken by electronic device, and there were—yeas 414, nays 3, not voting 12, as follows:

[Roll No. 145]

YEAS-414

Abraham Chenev Chu, Judy Adams Aderholt Cicilline Aguilar Clark (MA) Allen Clarke (NY) Arrington Clay Cleaver Babin Clyburn Bacon Banks (IN) Coffman Cohen Barletta Barr Cole Collins (GA) Barragán Barton Collins (NY) Bass Comer Beatty Conaway Bera Connolly Bergman Cook Bever Cooper Biggs Correa Bilirakis Costa Costello (PA) Bishop (GA) Bishop (MI) Courtney Bishop (UT) Cramer Crawford Blackburn Blum Crist Blumenauer Crowley Blunt Rochester Cuellar Bonamici Culberson Bost Cummings Curbelo (FL) Boyle, Brendan Curtis Brady (PA) Davidson Brady (TX) Davis (CA) Brat Davis, Danny Brooks (AL) Davis, Rodney Brooks (IN) DeFazio Brown (MD) DeGette Brownley (CA) Delanev DelBene Buchanan Buck Demings Bucshon Denham Budd Dent DeSantis Burgess Bustos DeSaulnier Butterfield DesJarlais Byrne Deutch Diaz-Balart Calvert Capuano Dingell Doggett Carbajal Cárdenas Donovan Carson (IN) Doyle, Michael Carter (GA) F Duffy Carter (TX) Duncan (SC) Castor (FL) Castro (TX) Duncan (TN) Chabot Dunn

F.

Ellison Emmer Engel Eshoo Espaillat Estes (KS) Esty (CT) Evans Faso Ferguson Fitzpatrick Fleischmann Flores Fortenberry Foster Foxx Frankel (FL) Frelinghuysen Fudge Gabbard Gaetz Gallagher Gallego Garrett Gianforte Gibbs Gohmert Gomez Gonzalez (TX) Goodlatte GosarGottheimer Gowdy Granger Graves (GA) Graves (LA) Graves (MO) Green, Al Green, Gene Griffith Grijalva Grothman Guthrie Gutiérrez Hanabusa Handel Harper Harris Hartzler Hastings Heck Hensarling Herrera Beutler Hice, Jody B.

Higgins (LA)

Higgins (NY)

Himes Holding Hollingsworth Hoyer Hudson Huffman Huizenga Hultgren Hunter Hurd Issa. Jackson Lee Jayapal Jeffries Jenkins (KS) Jenkins (WV) Johnson (GA) Johnson (LA) Johnson (OH) Johnson E B Johnson, Sam Jones Jordan Joyce (OH) Kaptur Katko Kelly (IL) Kelly (MS) Kellv (PA) Kennedy Khanna Kihuen Kildee Kilmer Kind King (IA) King (NY) Kinzinger Knight Krishnamoorthi Kuster (NH) Kustoff (TN) Labrador LaHood LaMalfa Lamb Lamborn Lance Langevin Larsen (WA) Larson (CT) Latta Lawrence Lawson (FL) Lee Levin Lewis (GA) Lewis (MN) Lieu. Ted Lipinski LoBiondo Loebsack Lofgren Long Loudermilk Love Lowenthal Lowey Lucas Luetkemeyer Lujan Grisham, M. Luján, Ben Ray Lynch MacArthur Maloney, Carolvn B. Maloney, Sean Marchant Marino Marshall Mast Matsui Amash Amodei Black Bridenstine Cartwright

April 18, 2018

McCarthy

McCollum

McEachin

McGovern

McHenry

McKinley

McMorris

McNerney

McSally.

Meadows

Meehan

Meeks

Meng

Messer

Moore

Mullin

Nadler

Neal

Noem

Nolan

Norcross

Norman

O'Halleran

O'Rourke

Olson

Palazzo

Pallone

Palmer

Panetta

Pascrell

Paulsen

Payne

Pearce

Pelosi

Perry

Peters

Peterson

Pittenger

Poe (TX)

Poliquin

Price (NC)

Pingree

Pocan

Polis

Posey

Quiglev

Raskin

Reed

Ratcliffe

Reichert

Renacci

Rice (NY)

Rice (SC)

Richmond

Roby Roe (TN)

Rokita

Rosen

Ross

Ruiz

Rush

Russell

Massie

DeLauro

Keating

Nunes

Comstock

Garamendi

Roskam

Rothfus

Rouzer

Newhouse

Moulton

Mitchell

Moolenaar

Rodgers

McCaul

Hill

Rutherford Ryan (OH) McClintock Sánchez Sarbanes Schakowsky Schiff Schneider Schrader Schweikert Scott (VA) Scott, Austin Scott. David Sensenbrenner Serrano Sessions Sewell (AL) Shea-Porter Sherman Shimkus Mooney (WV) Shuster Sinema Sires Smith (MO) Murphy (FL) Smith (NE) Smith (NJ) Napolitano Smith (TX) Smith (WA) Smucker Soto Speier Stefanik Stewart Stivers Suozzi Swalwell (CA) Takano Taylor Tenney Thompson (CA) Thompson (MS) Thompson (PA) Thornberry Tipton Titus Perlmutter Tonko Torres Trott Tsongas Turner Upton Valadao Vargas Veasey Vela Velázquez Visclosky Wagner Walberg Walden Walker Walorski Walters, Mimi Walz Wasserman Schultz Waters, Maxine Watson Coleman Weber (TX) Rogers (AL) Rogers (KY) Webster (FL) Rohrabacher Welch Wenstrup Rooney, Francis Westerman Ros-Lehtinen Williams Wilson (FL) Wilson (SC) Wittman Womack Woodall Roybal-Allard Yarmuth Royce (CA) Yoder Yoho Ruppersberger Young (AK) Young (IA) Zeldin NAYS-3 Sanford NOT VOTING-12 Rooney, Thomas J. Scalise Simpson

\Box 1753

Mr. AMASH changed his vote from "yea" to "nay."