Ryan (OH)

for his hard work on this issue, and I appreciate the staff's dedication to getting this to the floor today. This is a thoughtful, bipartisan piece of legislation that will help move the IRS forward and refocus the agency on the taxpayer experience, and I urge all Members to support this legislation.

Mr. Speaker, I yield back the balance of my time.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. All time for debate has expired.

Pursuant to House Resolution 831, the previous question is ordered on the bill, as amended.

The question is on the engrossment and third reading of the bill.

The bill was ordered to be engrossed and read a third time, and was read the third time.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The question is on the passage of the bill.

The question was taken; and the Speaker pro tempore announced that the ayes appeared to have it.

Ms. JENKINS of Kansas. Mr. Speaker, on that I demand the yeas and nays. The yeas and nays were ordered.

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 8 of rule XX, further proceedings on this question will be postponed.

RECESS

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 12(a) of rule I, the Chair declares the House in recess until approximately 5:15 p.m. today.

Accordingly (at 2 o'clock and 59 minutes p.m.), the House stood in recess.

□ 1730

AFTER RECESS

The recess having expired, the House was called to order by the Speaker pro tempore (Mr. Poe of Texas) at 5 o'clock and 30 minutes p.m.

COMMUNICATION FROM THE CLERK OF THE HOUSE

The SPEAKER pro tempore laid before the House the following communication from the Clerk of the House of Representatives:

> OFFICE OF THE CLERK. HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES. Washington, DC, April 18, 2018.

Hon. PAUL D. RYAN,

The Speaker, House of Representatives. Washington, DC.

DEAR MR. SPEAKER: Pursuant to the permission granted in Clause 2(h) of Rule II of the Rules of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Clerk received the following message from the Secretary of the Senate on April 18, 2018, at 5:06 p.m.:

That the Senate agreed to S.J. Res. 57. With best wishes, I am, Sincerely.

KAREN L. HAAS.

ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SPEAKER PRO TEMPORE

The SPEAKER pro tempore. Pursuant to clause 8 of rule XX, proceedings will resume on questions previously postponed.

Votes will be taken in the following order:

Passage of H.R. 5445;

Passage of H.R. 5444; and

The motion to suspend the rules and pass H.R. 2905.

The first electronic vote will be conducted as a 15-minute vote. Remaining electronic votes will be conducted as 5minute votes.

21ST CENTURY IRS ACT

The SPEAKER pro tempore. The unfinished business is the vote on passage of the bill (H.R. 5445) to amend the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 to improve cybersecurity and taxpayer identity protection, and modernize the information technology of the Internal Revenue Service, and for other purposes, on which the yeas and nays were ordered.

The Clerk read the title of the bill. The SPEAKER pro tempore. The question is on the passage of the bill.

The vote was taken by electronic device, and there were—yeas 414, nays 3, not voting 12, as follows:

[Roll No. 145]

Chenev

Abraham

YEAS-414

Ellison

Chu, Judy Adams Emmer Aderholt Cicilline Engel Aguilar Clark (MA) Eshoo Espaillat Allen Clarke (NY) Arrington Clay Estes (KS) Cleaver Esty (CT) Babin Clyburn Bacon Evans Banks (IN) Coffman Faso Cohen Ferguson Barletta. Fitzpatrick Barr Cole Collins (GA) Barragán Fleischmann Barton Collins (NY) Flores Bass Comer Fortenberry Beatty Conaway Foster Bera Connolly Foxx Bergman Frankel (FL) Cook Rever Cooper Frelinghuysen Biggs Fudge Correa Bilirakis Costa Costello (PA) Gabbard Bishop (GA) Gaetz Gallagher Bishop (MI) Courtney Bishop (UT) Cramer Gallego Crawford Blackburn Garrett Blum Crist Gianforte Blumenauer Crowley Gibbs Gohmert Blunt Rochester Cuellar Bonamici Culberson Gomez Bost Cummings Gonzalez (TX) Curbelo (FL) Boyle, Brendan Goodlatte Curtis Gosar Brady (PA) Gottheimer Davidson Brady (TX) Davis (CA) Gowdy Brat Davis, Danny Granger Graves (GA) Brooks (AL) Davis, Rodney Brooks (IN) DeFazio Graves (LA) Brown (MD) DeGette Graves (MO) Brownley (CA) Delanev Green, A1 Green, Gene DelBene Buchanan Griffith Buck Demings Bucshon Denham Grijalya. Grothman Budd Dent DeSantis Burgess Guthrie Bustos DeSaulnier Gutiérrez Butterfield DesJarlais Hanabusa Byrne Deutch Handel Diaz-Balart Calvert Harper Capuano Dingell Harris Doggett Carbajal Hartzler Cárdenas Donovan Hastings Carson (IN) Doyle, Michael Heck Carter (GA) Hensarling Duffy Herrera Beutler Carter (TX) Hice, Jody B. Duncan (SC) Castor (FL) Castro (TX) Duncan (TN) Higgins (LA) Chabot Higgins (NY) Dunn

McCarthy McCaul Holding McClintock Hollingsworth McCollum McEachin Hoyer Hudson McGovern Huffman McHenry Huizenga McKinley Hultgren McMorris Hunter Rodgers McNerney Tssa. McSally Jackson Lee Meadows Jayapal Meehan Jeffries. Meeks Jenkins (KS) Meng Jenkins (WV) Messer Johnson (GA) Mitchell Johnson (LA) Moolenaar Johnson (OH) Mooney (WV) Johnson E B Moore Moulton Johnson, Sam Mullin Murphy (FL) Jordan. Joyce (OH) Nadler Kaptur Napolitano Katko Neal Kelly (IL) Newhouse Noem Kelly (MS) Kelly (PA) Nolan Kennedy Norcross Khanna Norman Kihuen O'Halleran Kildee O'Rourke Olson Kilmer Kind Palazzo King (IA) Pallone King (NY) Palmer Panetta Kinzinger Knight Pascrell Krishnamoorthi Paulsen Kuster (NH) Payne Kustoff (TN) Pearce Labrador Pelosi LaHood Perlmutter LaMalfa Perry Lamb Peters Lamborn Peterson Lance Pingree Langevin Pittenger Larsen (WA) Pocan Larson (CT) Poe (TX) Latta Poliquin Lawrence Polis Lawson (FL) Posey Price (NC) Lee Levin Quigley Lewis (GA) Raskin Ratcliffe Lewis (MN) Lieu, Ted Reed Lipinski Reichert LoBiondo Renacci Loebsack Rice (NY) Lofgren Rice (SC) Long Richmond Roby Roe (TN) Loudermilk Love Lowenthal Rogers (AL) Lowey Rogers (KY) Lucas Rohrabacher Luetkemeyer Rokita Lujan Grisham, Rooney, Francis M. Ros-Lehtinen Luján, Ben Ray Rosen Lynch Roskam MacArthur Ross Maloney, Rothfus Carolyn B. Rouzer Roybal-Allard Maloney, Sean Marchant Royce (CA) Marino Ruiz Marshall Ruppersberger Matsui Russell

Sánchez Sarbanes Schakowsky Schiff Schneider Schrader Schweikert Scott (VA) Scott, Austin Scott, David Sensenbrenner Serrano Sessions Sewell (AL) Shea-Porter Sherman Shimkus Shuster Sinema. Sires Smith (MO) Smith (NE) Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Smith (WA) Smucker Soto Speier Stefanik Stewart Stivers Suozzi Swalwell (CA) Takano Taylor Tenney Thompson (CA) Thompson (MS) Thompson (PA) Thornberry Tipton Titus Tonko Torres Trott Tsongas Turner Unton Valadao Vargas Veasey Vela Velázquez Visclosky Wagner Walberg Walden Walker Walorski Walters, Mimi Walz Wasserman Schultz Waters, Maxine Watson Coleman Weber (TX) Webster (FL) Welch Wenstrup Westerman Williams Wilson (FL) Wilson (SC) Wittman Womack Woodall Yarmuth Yoder Yoho Young (AK) Young (IA) Zeldin NAYS-3

Amash Massie Sanford

NOT VOTING-12

DeLauro Rooney, Thomas Amodei Black Garamendi Bridenstine Scalise Keating Cartwright Nunes Simpson Comstock

□ 1753

Mr. AMASH changed his vote from "yea" to "nay."